A Poste-Post Reverse Collaborational Post with @enternamehere ~ An Urban Tessellation (Wannabe) Find ~ Original Artwork by @enternamehere ( and unknown street artist) ~ Original Photography and Short Discussion by @ddschteinn ~

in #iwannabeatessellationist6 years ago (edited)

P1510711-2 254kb FINAL FINAL.jpg





My Inspiration

Recently, @enternamehere put out separate posts with two art pieces she created called tessellations. They really piqued my interest and artistic fwaallaah for some reason or another. The two images she created, and discussion about them can be viewed in her posts presented here: [Original Poem] and [Happy-Sad Dog Tessellation+Process]. Both wonderfully creative images are on display below as well. I will not attempt to explain this art form, but will let @enternamehere do so in her two posts, as well as her summary from 'within-post', as demonstrated in the following quote:

What is appealing to me about tessellations is their marriage of rigid form and organic flow. To make a tessellation properly, the rules of symmetry must be followed. To make a tessellation special, some artistic flavor belongs in there too. - @enternamehere



~ Drum Roll, Please ~

steemit-enternamehere-archetypal-tessellation-poetry-fodder-crayon 843kb.jpg

Original 'Poetry Fodder' and Tessellation Image No. I - By @enternamehere





steemit-enternamehere-tessellation-dog-orange-blue-crayon-complete 385kb.jpg

Original Tessellation Image No. II ~ "Happy-Sad Dog" - By @enternamehere



Onward Into The Night

Last night I was riding my bike in the dusking light, when I happened upon a street sign that really twoggled something in my mind. I stopped in the waning sunlight, stared at it for some time, and then took a few photos of the sign. (To be fair and accurate, it was the BACK of the sign.) After finishing up the photo session, and while pedaling home, I realized what it was that so piqued my interest in this heavily 'decorated' sign. It had certain artistic qualities that reminded me a LOT of @enternamehere's tessellation art forms, that I had seen earlier in the day on Steemit.



~ What I Discovered ~

P1660824-2 198kb-1.jpg

Free-Form Urban Tessellation (Sort Of) Art


I realize 'my' sign is not a TRUE tessellation, though I couldn't even begin to tell you why. As I understand it, there is some math involved, as well as actual artistic ability to create one. But this graffiti artwork sure reminded me of this form of art. I spun my resulting image all around during photo processing, and this is still the direction it needed to 'go'.

I'm also applying a LOT of the last part of her quote above, to stay within bounds and restrictions of my artistic license:

.... "To make a tessellation special, some artistic flavor belongs in there too."

Let's face it, I'm adding a LOT of artistic flavor here. But then, I suppose that IS the beauty of art. It's all in the eye of the beholder. And since I 'be holdin' the camera and taking the photos, I'm sticking with the idea that this sign looks a whole lot like the tessellations in her posts ( :

Now I'm Looking At Every Sign I Pass On My Bike

I hope you enjoy my version of an Urban Tessellation. My evening bike rides are now set for another month or two. I'm on the lookout for more of these types of artworks. We can only hope I find a few more, before the city changes out these signs of art. And back to boring old road-placards in standard, mundane aluminum color once again.

Thanks so much, @enternamehere, for allowing me to use your art work as both an inspiration and visual template for discovering the many artistic forms and images that surround us in the world each day.

Art is everywhere.

As I wrote in my journal, years back in one of many - deep thoughts about life and living within this world- phases of my life: The secret is to truly see, what others only look at. -dds




If you are not familiar with @enternamehere's art and poetry, you really should go check out her blog. She is very talented and a whole lot of fun to interact with.




Thanks for stopping in and viewing some interpretive art from a bike ride. If you have any thoughts about city art, tessellations, @enternamehere's artworks, collaborational projects (even in reverse), or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.






Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.. And please go to @enternamehere's posts as well, and UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 05/31/2018 @ 12:10



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 72

enternamehere tessellations collab -cat claws and elephants FINAL.PNG

Sort:  

I always think of mc escher when I think of artistic tessalations, he seemed to be a savant at them. I like that you are seeing art in the ordinary, as they say. And by the act of capturing the image and dissecting it's meaning for us YOU have made it art, so there you go a wonderful art post.

I think there is also a term for when we view something, it's in our mind, then we see it everywhere, but I forget what that is called, although I do have vast knowledge at my fingertips to merely type in and ask, I just can't be bothered :) I'll blame it on my swollen painful toe.

I feel I am still trying to play catch up with everyone. Simply being absent for two days and how quickly I feel alone on the dock whilst the cheering throng sail away out to a happy sea.

I'm hoping we are going to be seeing more 'schteinn-elations' soon? Be careful biking and looking at signs and not the road, that might be a very different picture if you aren't careful.

I too, am way behind. Trying to finish up Sublime Sunday on a Monday. Sigh. I read about your toe. Sorry to hear about your mishap. What did you do? Those DO hurt so, and not much you can do but suffer and try not to complain and hobble about. Such necessary appendi, but hard to deal with when cracked up. But you SHOULD be able to get some good W.A. sympathy and lot's of 'hand and foot' service for as long as possible. At least till he goes off to work, anyway. Guess that's over about now. Double sigh.
I am on the lookout for more 'Schteinn-elations' [ ( : ] whenever I ride. As you say, looking at the sign might cause me to run INTO the sign. So I am careful, as usual. That and so many nutters on their phones out and about, doing just about everything BUT paying attention to driving the car. Keeps it really challenging at times.

I've always loved Escher. Just never put 2 and 2 together and realized they were tessellations, when I saw @enternamehere's artworks, and all. I never realized there was so much math involved either. Isn't the world a most amazing place?!
Love your visual of the dock and life heading out to sea. Cracked me up, as usuale'. Well, have a nice, stub-toe free day. Hope you are on the mend. Do you have them taped together? I played a LOT of basketball, and that seemed to be one of the constants. Either toes or fingers taped together to 'help hold one another up'. I shoulda bought stock in the athletic tape industry.
Cheerio(s) (I'm working on a keen salutation these days. Hard to come up with mush of anything interesting).

EDITORS NOTE: Must be hard to spell 'much' as well...really trippin' up on the hard ones there.
(Such a HARSH editor! -dd)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

I have been following @enternamehere for a while and I think she has a lot of potential to growth!!!
How have you been? I open my laptop today after 4 days, it was such a liberation!

Hello. You are truly home now, yes? Hope that is going well. Not opening your laptop is a good sign: messing about with family, old friends, and eating TONS of Italian food. I am jealous. All I would do is eat, nap, drink, then eat again. Add in some ice cream afterwards too. Ah, the life.
I have always greatly enjoyed @enternamehere on the site. One of several of my oldest friends on here. She is always a barrel of fun, and very talented, creatively minded and artistic. I think she should get way more credit for her art and all than she does. Then again, there are many in that boat on Steemit, yourself included. You are always so fun to read and interact with. Keep up the good wor(d)ks. (Wowzer, I just invented that..)
I am well, doing my thing and trying to catch up all the time. Then again, I'm never bored. Have a nice, night, I think? Vino and pasta away.

PASTA TIME NO STOP, I am eating like a pig and I don't feel guilty. FREE PASTA.
Will write more later

Chow down and smile big, guilt free and loving every minute of it..... ( :

Sandrina, you are so kind. Thank you :D

Excellent artworks! I especially like the street art that you took the photo. I totally agree with your deep thought about life and living within this world; “The secret is to truly see, what others only look at”. Enjoy biking and the signs around you! :)

From now on, I’m looking at every sign I pass, too. Thanks for your great inspiration. ;))

Thanks, glad you enjoyed my little romp down art-lane. And watch where you are going while looking for sign art. It's easy to run into the pole or a tree, while looking up. Or riding along. Have a nice day.

You’re welcome! Ha ha! Yes, it’s easy to run into the pole or a tree, while looking up, as you said, indeed. I’ll have to be careful…. Thanks so much for warning me on this. ;D

Have a pleasant day, GFF! ;))

I loved seeing that sign through your eyes and I loved the art work of the cats and dogs. Great stuff!! :D

Thanks, it just caught my eye as a similar sort of artwork. Though there was no math involved, beyond figuring out the cost of a sharpie marker. Of that I'm pretty certain. Glad you enjoyed the look-sorta-alikes.

Oh, its true! I looks like the tessellation thing and its ready to "party"... or at least that what the sticker says...

I'm going with the party theme. More fun. The stickers were for beer and bud, so maybe more will show up in the same theme. I'll keep posting if they do.

I might consider your found piece a broken tessellation. It seems to be breaking down by the law of hexagons.

I must go look up the law of hexagons. But if it is a tessellation, it is a broken one. Compared to the real thing. I was not familiar with those artworks, until @enternamehere brought them up. Have you done them before?

In math class:)

I was probably busy drawing tanks and odd little battle scenes, utilizing my new cartridge pen with my friend Pat in math class, so probably missed that lesson ( :

Not all teachers cover them ... I think:)

The party monster is coming to tessellate us all! I wonder what this sign will look like 6 months or a year from now, the monster may morph into another species entirely.

You've given me smiles and laughs on top of the props, many thanks! Happy cycling :D

Ha haa, that tessellation fiend is a wily one. Hope the sign stays up, and I can continue to monitor it's progress. Seems any sign is ripe for messing with. Glad I made you smile, and thanks for the inspirational art to dovetail off of. Such fun.

I think that on that sign that you found when walking on your bicycle I think I see some equality that the painting of @enternamehere I think I can see those dogs there, what do you say?

The truth is a very different art I like those cats too.

You have to be more aware when you go outside maybe I can see something

I do think that's what drew me to seeing it first. The red and white does look like a dog. And her dogs in the tessellation. Fun to see similar things happening around us. I agree, and I recommend taking the camera with you, and photographing interesting things in nature and the city. The artwork kind of 'springs out' at you when you do. Thanks for the nice comment.

I never heard of a tessellation before and couldn't pronounce it even if I had heard of it lol. Well the sign reminds me of a dog profile facing left with a large open mouth. Hmm if that were an inkblot test I may have just admitted to being a nutter lol.

I hadn't heard of it either, until @enternamehere put out the posts. Then again, I'm not exactly much of an artist. I agree, that's the first thing I thought, about a dog. And in regards to the last line you 'penned', we woudn't have it any other way ( :

There's this Dutchman (of course) who had a go at it once, his name is Maurits Cornelis Escher.

I've heard of THAT fellow. Amazing art. I never knew the word tessellation for those posters and other artworks I've seen. And I was probably majorly schnockered now and then when I used to see them in college, so never made the connection. Ah, the joys of higher education. Thanks for the link. Actually quite interesting reading about the process and mathematics involved. Beyond me, but then that's not a huge surprise. All I know, I like them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33