Jupiter Jazz :: Beautiful Japan #77

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

Temple bells die out.
The fragrant blossoms remain.
A perfect evening!
—Basho

Jupiter_Jazz_Revisited.jpg

This was taken at the beginning of March; the cherry blossoms (which are what Basho was refering to) hadn't yet bloomed, but the plum blossoms had come and gone, leaving their fragrant scent in the air, so this haiku still works for me.

Rather than temple bells, however, whenever I see a scene like this I want to hear a sax playing something smooth. Perhaps like this song:

Footnotes

†: Translation by Daniel Buchanan. I might do it differently, but I have to have time to think about such things to do it properly, and I haven't had that lately. I will be sure to give my thoughts on this one, however, when I resume my Haiku of Japan series. In the meantime, here is the original if you want to try your hand at it: 鐘きえて花のはつく夕べかな

Don't miss the other great photos in the Beautiful Japan photo series!
Recent Photos
Collections

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77