Top 3 Weird and Wimpy-Sounding Boy’s Names (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–83 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan5 years ago (edited)

Suddenly, her name took on an agreeable ring. And it still sounds wonderful.

All those “U’s”

As with many strange aspects of Japanese life and culture, these kinds of names seemed weird at first. Eventually, however, they came to sound perfectly normal to me. That was true for a few women’s names as well, but it sure took a while to get used to them.    (Image source)

Kazoo, yoh!

Shortly after I arrived in Japan, I recall meeting a woman named Kazuyo. Also, I distinctly recall thinking that her name was just a little bit too unique (well, strange) for my tastes. It sounded like “kazoo,” with a bit of “yo-yo” appended to it.  

A few years later, I met another young woman named Kazuyo, and we hit it off immediately. She was interesting, attractive pleasant, affectionate, ultra-cool, and marvelous company. Suddenly, the name “Kazuyo” took on an agreeable ring, and, in fact, it sounded wonderful. It still does.   

As for those men’s names … they still sound a bit wimpy to me.

But it’s probably just some cultural and linguistic predilection on my part that makes me think that.      (Image source)

   Introduction to – “Notes from Under the Tatami Mats”  (right-click on title)

Top 5 Odd or Interesting Japanese Family Names
Top 3 Ways to See Japan
Top 5 Destinations After Leaving Japan
... and more

Links to my Other Series …

      Introduction – "Intro to Vocab-ability"   (right-click on title)
      Guide – "Guide to Entries"   (right-click on title)
      Index– "Index" to all Chapters and Sections   (right-click on title)

      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"   (right-click on title)
      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"   (right-click on title)

Images sourced from Google Images, unless otherwise indicated or unless my own.

Sort:  

That is unique of different language

Hey, hope you are having a nice day!

We stopped by to invite you to participate in the "B&W Photography contest", "'Dream' -- 100 words free writing contest", and "Food Photography #2 contest", and win prizes worth 18 Steem!

Try 1Ramp Android or Web to easily participate in the contests or host your own.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87