Top 5 Ridiculous Comments by Japanese about the Outside World (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–4 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

“Home of koala bears and kangaroos ... Canada?!?”


Just as in another developed country with a major economy, the Japanese population often seems to be pretty clueless about that great big world beyond its borders. In some cases, it’s understandable, since even the most knowledgeable people inevitably remain ignorant of various things that are alien to their culture.

Seriously? Foolishly

But at other times, it’s amazing how foolish some people can be. When the director of the English school where I worked asked me (in Japanese) if I had learned the ABCs in university, I first thought that I had not understood his question.

He could not speak English very well, so the secretary translated his question into English for me. It turned out that I had in fact understood precisely what he had asked me.    (Image source)

Ignorance is excusable

The thing is, the Japanese use 4 scripts (if we include our ABCs) – Chinese kanji characters; hiragana and katakana (which are essentially phonetic supplements to kanji); and romaji (i.e., Roman characters, or the ABCs.) Of course, when studying English, they use romaji (duh!), but they also use the phonetic katakana when attempting to transcribe English into speakable Japanese.    

Apparently the director assumed (logically?) that the ABCs were just another supplement that the Japanese used in order to help them deal with that inscrutable language, English. So his ignorance might be excusable.

Ignorance is good for a laugh

But when anyone asked if we foreigners got stiff shoulders, or when someone expressed shock that I, as a foreigner, could also suffer an outer ear infection, there was really no excuse for such ignorance. But suffice it to say that I did appreciate the humor. 

As for the chef at my neighborhood izakaya (a Japanese-style pub) who believed that Canada was home to koala bears and kangaroos, I could think of no suitable response.

So I just smiled, then ordered a few more sticks of yakitori and another glass of beer.    (Image source)

   Introduction to – “Notes from Under the Tatami Mats”  (right-click on title)

Top 3 Ridiculous Questions by Friends Back Home
Top 3 Exceedingly Overused Japanese Words
Top 5 Myths re Things Japanese
Top 3 Weird Excuses for Japanese Behavior
... and more

Links to my Other Series …

      Introduction – "Intro to Vocab-ability"   (right-click on title)
      Guide – "Guide to Entries"   (right-click on title)
      Index– "Index" to all Chapters and Sections   (right-click on title)

      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"   (right-click on title)
      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"   (right-click on title)

Images sourced from Google Images, unless otherwise indicated or unless my own.

Sort:  

A few days ago when you made the introductory post about Japan, I felt I had misread the part where you stated that someone asked whether the ABCs was learnt in the university. To say that I was shocked would be an understatement. And to even imagine that the questioner was a "director" of English learning is unpardonable and, in fact, justifies your words that:

But the whole English-education system in Japan is quite screwed up, and almost beyond redemption or repair.

I still cannot imagine how you managed to keep your job under such circumstances except perhaps that you were passionate about teaching English.

Lately, I have come to realize, perhaps incorrectly, that the average people in the "developed" world seem to be generally ignorant about the other world. And this stems largely from the fact that they feel they have a superior culture. The exceptions are academics and vast travellers like you.

A westerner once asked me if Africa was a village and whether all black people know each other.

All the same, I have had a nice time reading these new Japanese series. Keep the good work up sir.

After a few years, I got a job as an editor, so I managed to stay out of the educational system for a few years.

But I soon found out that the translation / publishing world in Japan, too, was fraught with weird issues. The writers would want an "EXACT, DIRECT" translation, meaning that the English sounded weird, incomprehensible, and basically wrong.


When I went to university in Michigan, I had a Nigerian acquaintance named Robert. My American roommate seemed unable to acknowledge that Robert was from a specific country in the continent of Africa, and would simply say or ask things about "in Africa."

One day, while sitting at a full table in the dining hall, Robert clarified to my roommate that he was from NIGERIA, not simply AFRICA, and stated that to generalize when speaking about Africa was impolite.

My roommate remained unaware that the various (many various!) people who live throughout Africa were not merely Africans, but Nigerians and Beninese and far beyond. I don't recall if Robert ever spoke to him again ... and I can't blame Robert.

Thanks again sir for yet another great but pathetic story on this subject. We all owe ourselves a duty as humans to learn about the cultures (at least in small bits) of peoples on the other side of the globe. This is why I find your blog posts quite interesting because they always have an ethnographic undertone. I have learnt a lot and still keep learning. I feel privileged to have access to this information firsthand. Thank you.

Thanks again sir for yet another great but pathetic story on this subject. We all owe ourselves a duty as humans to learn about the cultures (at least in small bits) of peoples on the other side of the globe. This is why I find your blog posts quite interesting because they always have an ethnographic undertone. I have learnt a lot and still keep learning. I feel privileged to have access to this information firsthand. Thank you.

I am sure you had a hard time to get over their lack of knowledge of other countries. Koala bears and Kangaroos in Canada ....Lol :) . I wonder what they would think of Australia and India. I am sure they would think India is full of Snake Charmers :) :)

I would really want to know why they dont use the actual Roman characters or alpahbets when learning English, instead of the romaji and katakana.

I believe if you want to learn a language , you woukd have to learn the alphabets , vowels and vocabulary of that particular language, instead of trying to speak/learn a different language from your scripts or methods. I hope you would agree :)

Yes, I agree strongly. But the whole English-education system in Japan is quite screwed up, and almost beyond redemption or repair.

They are different from the world, aren't they?
It was really amusing when I read the English teacher asked you if you learnt your ABC's from a university ...hehehe

I am amazed that the man thought we learned the alphabet in college - what an odd assumption.

Really. And particularly since he was the director of an English school!!!

Coming back on this older post to give you this link. Any help gratefully accepted.

https://steemit.com/cityscapephotography/@sattpaing/myanmar-home-and-their-life

I cannot use chopsticks to save my life. All SE Asians so far find me funny if I try :)

I went to @sattpaing 's post, and was quite impressed. His English needs some major improvement, but for a newbie, his post was well done, with some good content and a major effort at making it a quality post.

I've replied with some advice, and hope he can understand it all and work with it.


It took me a few years in Japan before I became "competent" with chopsticks. Now, for certain foods, I find them indispensable. :-)

Japanese are beautiful

👍👍👍

I dont understand on such like japanese atitude.

informative post. thanks for share this post.

i upvote your post👍
i am new in steemit ✌

please upvote my post👍

https://steemit.com/photography/@imtiaz09/superbiker-685e130ed5035

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78