Food Fridays #20 Izakaya Tengu Sakaba - Since 1969!

in #japan6 years ago

I was going to blog about this amazing trade I made recently, but instead settled on joining the crowd and blogging about another fuckin izakaya in Japan....

Tengu Sakaba is an izakaya in Hachioji, actually, it's a chain, but the one I went to is in Hachioji. My wife likes to go here drinking with her friends so she decided to take me yesterday for an early dinner.

Tengu Sakaba is centrally located in between the JR & Keio lines, about a 5 min walk from either station. 

Some of the attractions of Tengu Sakuba are, it opens early for lunch and it offers inexpensive yakitori. A negima, chicken and negi, is only $0.80ea! You can also do an all you can drink for $15.00 for 2hrs!

We started with potato wedges and yakitori. The wedges had a pleasant twist to them, a creamy, garlic butter that you topped them with when they arrived. A simple garnish that turned something ordinary into something gourmet. The butter was fantastic and I could imagine putting it on a piece of steak, some hot rice, or any other number of hot dishes that could use some seasoning.

Then came my wife's recommendation, the soy sauce marinated cream cheese. Like a foolish American, I stuffed a whole slice in my mouth and chewed. Of course, it was too rich and not quite appealing at first. Then she showed me to cut the slice into 1/4's and pair it with beer. Holy shit! Absolute sophistication! The pairing and smaller portions made all the difference. My wife was a bit upset as the cheese disappeared so quickly.

Finally the yakitori, garlic fried rice, and sesame oiled cabbage came out. The yakitori we ordered was negima, steak, pork wrapped mochi and some odd chicken parts my wife liked that I always steer clear of.

The negima was great for the price. Honestly, you could eat these all night and not get bored. The sauce was not too strong, the meat flavorful and just the right amount of negi.

The steak we ordered as an afterthought. Often times steak like this​ honestly is not that good so we only ordered one.​ This, however, was not the case. The sauce they concocted was amazing! That's the thing about eating in Japan, the sauces are absolutely amazing. I have no idea what the actual flavor was, but it made that piece of steak taste a lot more expensive than it actually was. The meat was good as well, not too chewy, not too fatty, and not overcooked. I will be going back to Tengu Sakaba in the future just for these two yakitori. But, we weren't finished yet.

The bacon wrapped mochi is always a staple for my wife and I. I liked it better when izakaya's used to add cheese, but mochi & bacon works too. The bacon was delicious, even though it's not "bacon", but more like seasoned ham. Regardless, it was delicious with the mochi. Again, cooked just right, the right cut and the right amount of salt & pepper as a light seasoning.

By now I was totally satisfied with our selections so I dug into the cabbage. The sesame oil cabbage is a fairly common dish at isakaya's. I have to say though, I prefer shredded cabbage to these larger, oiled leaves. They went down ok​ but weren't my favorite.

Lastly we had garlic fried rice. I'm on a Keto diet so I was staying away from​ the rice​​​ until my wife told me to try it. Big mistake! It tasted too good and I, unfortunately,​ broke my diet. That's ok though because I am back on it! That is until I drink beer tonight during dinner. Life is hard.

I'm stoked to have found a new, cheap izakaya that actually tastes good. This city is filled with so many places to eat, more per capita than any other city in the world, that it's great to have a go to place when you are overwhelmed with choices. If you are visiting Tokyo and looking for a good, cheap izakaya, keep a lookout for Tengu Sakaba.

Thanks for reading!

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 35.657494 lat 139.341293 long Food Fridays #20 Izakaya Tengu Sakaba - Since 1969! d3scr)

I am part of the @Steemit-jp Japan & @SoCalSteemit communities. Please consider supporting them with delegations and upvotes for unique & interesting content!

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rt395
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=food-fridays-20-izakaya-tengu-sakaba-since-1969


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a tasty and beautiful pic. great post.

Thanks, ​dude. The food was great!

I upvote and follow you please upvote my new two post also.

Everything looks so good, now you are making me hungry!

Lucky for you and I we can go to a local izakaya!

So, now will you spill the beans about your great trade?

It was a trade between my wife and me​ of which the details will remain a secret.

The speculation that one could do;-) Whatever it was, I’m glad it works out well for you.

I always say listen to the locals when you're looking for some place to eat when travelling. Look like you still have a lot to learn from your wife ^_^

True, but in our town,​ I am just as much a local as she is. Her friends on the other hand...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89