Mr.D”CBC TV Comedy Show 『ミスターD』CBCテレビ・コメディー番組 Translation 翻訳

in #japanese6 years ago


Image Source: http://www.cbc.ca/mrd/characters/

日本語は下にあります。

CBC Mr.D Season 7 Episode 11 “Gerry’s Insider’s Look”

This was a very good experience for me last winter. I belong to the Association of Translators and Interpreters of Nova Scotia, Canada and I’m also registered as a volunteer translator with the immigration association. This association introduced CBC to me. I was so excited to do this translation work because I love comedy shows. I translated from Japanese to English for the “Mr.D” show, the very last scene.

“Mr.D” is a funny Canadian comedy show starring comedian Gerry Dee. Gerry Duncan, nicknamed Mr. D is a very strange and silly teacher. I translated, where episode 11 of season 7, Mr.D and some Japanese ladies had a funny conversation at the airport. In this scene, these Japanese ladies know him because of an investigative report where a news team sets out to determine the true value of the private school system. They said: “You’re The Nations Worst Teacher!”

My translation work was for the CBC team. They wanted to know exactly the meaning of their conversation. They didn’t put any subtitles for the show except a small part. At that time I couldn’t accept any fee because of my visa situation but we decided to donate my fees to the immigration association. Also, they put my name on the last credit. This was a wonderful opportunity for me in Canada. Life is not always easy and fun but sometimes this kind of nice moment gives us wonderful motivation.

CBCテレビのコメディー番組 『ミスターD』シーズン7・エピソード11

昨年の冬にとても貴重な体験をしました。私はカナダのノバスコシア州の翻訳協会に所属しています。さらに移民の協会にボランティア翻訳者として登録しています。この協会を通じてCBCの翻訳の依頼がきました。コメディー番組が好きなのでとてもワクワクしました。『ミスターD』という番組の最後のシーンの翻訳でした。

『ミスターD』とは、コメディアンのジェリー・ディー主演の面白いカナダのコメディー番組です。ジェリー・ダンカン、人呼んでミスターDは、とてもおかしなおバカな教師です。私が翻訳したシーンは、シーズン7・エピソード11のミスターDが空港で日本人女性たちとおかしな会話を繰り広げるシーンでした。私立学校制度の真の価値を見極めるための調査団として送り込まれたニュースチームの報道番組を見たこの日本人女性たちが、ミスターDのことを知っているというシーンでした。彼女たちは『あなた、国家最悪の教師じゃない!』とミスターDに話しかけたのでした。

この翻訳作業はCBCの方たちへのもので、ミスターDと日本人女性たちの会話の内容を正確に知りたいとの依頼でした。一部の字幕を除いて、このシーンに字幕はつきませんでした。番組最後のエンドロールに私の名前を載せて下さいました。カナダでの大変素晴らしい機会をいただきました。人生は常に容易く楽しいものではありませんが、こうした素敵な瞬間がモチベーションを与えてくれますね。


Image Source: http://www.cbc.ca/mrd/characters/

You can watch the shows there.こちらから番組をご覧になれます。↓
Mr.D Official Website:
http://www.cbc.ca/mrd/m/site/
http://www.cbc.ca/mrd/m/episodes/season-7/gerrys-insiders-look

Source: Wikipedia Mr.D.(4 May 2018). Retrieved from
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mr._D

Sort:  

素晴らしいお仕事をなさったのですね。
文章から充実感が伝わってきます。
ウィキペディアを読みましたが、ミスターD以外の登場人物も、一癖も二癖もある面々ですねw
エンドロールに名前が載るなんてすごいです!

そうですよね^ - ^クセが強い感じのキャストですよね。笑 内容もクセがあって面白かったです(^^)
いただいた機会に感謝の仕事でした。

自分が翻訳が使われる作品なら、思い入れがありますね ^^
エンドロールに名前が出るなんて、憧れます!!

コメントありがとうございます^ - ^ これをきっかけに地元で仕事関係の話がしやすくなった気がします。有り難い依頼でした。

コメディーを翻訳するのはとても難しいと思います。すごいですね♥

コメントありがとうございます。今回は日本語→英語にし、制作チームに内容を説明する役割だったのでそこまで悩まずにできましたが。。。
逆の英語→日本語だったとしたら、おっしゃる通り、悩んで倍の時間がかかってしまうだろうなーと思いました。

うまくいってよかったです🌸

エンドロールに名前が乗るってとっても名誉ある事ですね!
これをきっかけにまた世界が広がるといいですね(´ω`)

ありがとうございます:)これからも、ゆっくりじっくりと進みたいと思います!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85