見コアラ、言わコアラ、聞かコアラ ~ Three wise monkeys, Australia 🙈🙉🙊

in #japanese6 years ago (edited)

皆さん、こんにちは。先日、メルボルン郊外のカフェに行きました。カフェの隣にはギフトショップが併設してあり、コアラやカンガルーのぬいぐるみ、Tシャツなどが売っていました。
そのギフトショップに、とても目が惹かれる置物がありました。最初に私の娘たちが見つけて、「わ~、これ可愛い!この猿バージョンを日本で見たことあるよ。」と私に言いました。

20181008_103230.jpg
言わコアラ、見コアラ、聞かコアラ : Speak no evil, see no evil, hear no evil.

それはなんと、あの有名な日光東照宮の三猿 (さんざる) 「見ざる、言わざる、聞かざる」のコアラバージョンでした。
さしずめ「見コアラ、言わコアラ、聞かコアラ」でしょうか? 舌をかみそうで、早口言葉だと絶対言えない自信があります。

その時ふと、「見ざる、言わざる、聞かざる」は英語でなんて言うのだろう?と思いました。「No looking, no speaking, no listening. 」なんだろうか?それではただ英語に直訳しただけです。
家に帰ってさっそく調べてみると、「See no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil.」と英語で言うのだそう。

そもそも「見ざる、言わざる、聞かざる」の本来の意味は「自分の都合の悪いこと、人の欠点や過ちなどは見ない、言わない、聞かない方が良い」です。

20181010_135706.png
Photo ctedit 日光東照宮 三猿

更に調べると、三匹の猿を用いて「見ない、言わない、聞かない」を表現するモチーフは世界中にあり、古代エジプトやアンコールワットの壁画にも見られるということです。

インドのマハトマ・ガンディーは常に3匹の猿の像を身につけ「悪を見るな、悪を聞くな、悪を言うな」と教えたとされており、まさしく「See no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil」の和訳に当てはまります。
また欧米諸国では 「Three wise monkeys (3匹の賢い猿) 」 として知られています。

なお、オーストラリアには猿は生息していません。なので猿ではなく、豪州にのみ生息する人気者のコアラがモチーフになったのでしょう。そして、単にお土産として販売するためにこの置物を作ったんでしょうね。
まさしくオーストラリアらしいお土産だと思いました。🙈🙉🙊

読んでいただきありがとうございました。

飾り線12.gif

My daughters found an eye-catching ornament at a souvenir shop. They called me, " Mum! This Koala ornament really looks like the trio of monkeys we happened to see in Japan!"

There is a proverb that says ''see no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil '' in Japan.
It is known as ''Mizaru, Kikazaru, Iwazaru." in Japanese.

I'm not sure which country it's originally come from. It is said that it was taught with an example of "Three wise monkeys," who hold a pose like not seeing, not hearing, and not speaking. " by covering ears, eyes and mouth of their own.

Three wise monkey is very well-known as a carving of Nikko Toshogu shrine in Japan, has been placed above the door of the shrine for more than 300 years.
However there are so many kind of monkey's ornaments all over the world.

Those monkeys poses show a meaning of proverb, "Ignore any evil that there is around you, do not think of human faults and mistakes, do not tell anyone, keep them secret."

Actually, monkeys are not found in Australia. I guess that they have replaced Koalas and are sold at a souvenir shop.
I wondered that it would be a perfect gift for my friends when I go back to Japan for a holiday.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

This post has been revived by steem-forever and will get extra rewards. This happens when a post is upvoted on steem-bounty.com after the 7 day post life.

Users can simple upvote via steem-bounty.com continously, so posts can live and earn rewards forever.
Authors can share their steem-bounty.com links and get upvoted forever.

We hope this will allow everyone to earn more meaningful rewards over longer timeframes than before.

三猿って日本独自のものだと思ってました〜世界中にあるとは驚きです🧐

Posted using Partiko Android

私もこの記事を書くまで、世界中の色々な国に三猿があるなんて知りませんでした。それも古代エジプト時代にもあったなんて!! 😅

世界でも通じることだったんですね😲

私は、なかなか直毛になら猿ですw

Posted using Partiko Android

この記事を書きながらosarusanのことを思い出しましたよ~。髪が伸びると固焼きそばみたいな髪型になり猿ですよね! (´▽`*)

コアラバージョンかわいいですね〜このポーズに見覚えのある日本人がつい買ってしまいそうですww

このコアラの三猿、可愛いですよね。私も日本に帰省する時にお土産に買って帰ろうかなと思っています (^^)

三猿のコアラバージョン。日本人からしたら、少し斬新に感じられます^^それにしても、オーストラリアに猿は生息していないんですね!
猿ってどこにでもいてそうな動物だと思ってました!笑

コアラバージョン、とても斬新なアイデアですよね。オーストラリアに猿が生息していないのは意外ですよね。猿は寒冷地には適さないそうですが、この国は赤道に近い地域はとても暖かいんですけどね~ ^^;

コアラ🐨可愛い💕
日本人用のお土産にぴったり😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

この置物は、日本人へのお土産にすると喜ばれそうですよね!(^^*)

Hi @sallyfun!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.367 which ranks you at #17796 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 38 places in the last three days (old rank 17834).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 285 contributions, your post is ranked at #191.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

見ざる聞かざる言わざる、「知らんぷりをする」みたいなイメージだったけど、正しい意味を知れて良かったです。猿よりコアラの方が可愛いですね!

Posted using Partiko Android

私もコアラバージョンの方が可愛いと思います。私も記事を書くまでは、「嫌なことや自分に不都合なことを知らないふりをする」という意味だと思ってましたよ (^^)

日本だけじゃないのね。@sallyfun先生ありがとう。最初は、日本人観光客向け?って思ったけどメルボルンは、道頓堀みたく海外観光客に躍起になるイメージないものね。

道頓堀って「ここ、どこ?」っていうくらい訪日観光客だらけだよね。どこのお店も観光客相手だから、強気の商売だし。
メルボルンも土産物屋や観光客が訪れる場所では、けっこう強気の商売してるよ。でも道頓堀の方がすごいかも⋯ ( ̄▽ ̄;)

見コアラ、言ワコアラ、聞カコワラ
語呂悪すぎるwwww

Posted using Partiko Android

@kinakomochiさん、そこに触れてくださってありがとうございます。語呂が悪すぎるし、文字だけ見ると一瞬、何のことだろう?と思いますよねww

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94