Editors and IDE's For Day 14 Of Javatober

in #java6 years ago

Its Time To Look More At Text Editors and Code IDE's For Our Month Of Java

codegymplugin.PNG
The above pic is a screen shot of the CodeGym plugin for IntelliJ and where I will be doing a lot of my work now.

I have been happy using Vim as my code editor for a long time and prefer not to us an IDE as I like to do everything by hand as I feel it gives me a better understanding of what the code is doing including the underlying directory structure. Unfortunately this was not going to be much use to me as CodeGym have set up a IDE plugin to use with their IDE of choice and for now, that IDE is IntelliJ.

I get the reason why you use an IDE, as to cuts through a lot of the manually work of setting up projects from scratch. The problem I have is that this usually comes with having to purchase an application, or if you are using a community version, the application changes so quickly that the instructions being used by the course can go out of date quickly. I think that is what has happened here with CodeGym.

It has taken me a few hours of trying to work out their instructions on how to install the CodeGym plugin for IntelliJ, but once I finally got it working, it seems to be pretty good.

I'll be posting daily, sharing my experiences on my “1 Month of Java Code” experiences”, my previous post on day 13 can be found below, so feel free to have a look:
https://steemit.com/java/@run.vince.run/java-methods-for-lucky-day-13

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming

Sort:  

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by run.vince.run from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99