Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #6: Learning Songs by Ear

in #jazz6 years ago (edited)

One of the most important things I learned earlier this year was from Mike Moreno at the Thailand International Jazz Conference 2018. He taught us that we should learn songs by ear. Even jazz, which is viewed to be highly complex - could be learned just like any other contemporary/folk/pop style - by ear!

Since then, I've made it a point to learn new songs by ear. This is one of the pieces that I recently learn was When The Saints Go Marching In, specifically a Louis Armstrong version I found on YouTube. This is the exact video:

Basic chord changes that I transcribed:

Ab / Db/Ab / | Ab / / / | Ab / Db/Ab / | Ab / / / |
Ab / / / | Fm / / / | Bbmin7 / / / | Eb7 / / / |
Ab / / / | Ab7 / / / | Db / / / | Dbmin / / / |
Ab / Fmin / | Ebsus/Bb / Eb7 / | | Ab (Ab/C Db Ddim7 Eb7?) | Eb7 / / / |

NOTE: These might be incorrect or missing chords! But the point is that I learned it by ear and that allow me to have a chance to use my ears to learn details directly from the musicians who played the piece.

The main thing I noticed was different from lead sheet versions was the Ab to Db/Ab, a I IV that happens during the melody sections and happened even more during solo sections. Also just listening to how the pianist played the chords dynamically and rhythmically was a great lesson for me.

For the last two bars, I'm not too sure of the exact passing chords leading to the V7 chord but what I heard is notated above.

[Exercise]

  1. Pick a song you like and learn the melody and the chords by ear.
  2. Don't worry whether you get it 100% accurate for now but try your best to do it completely by ear
  3. Memorise it and be able to play at least one version of
    a) the chords to accompany the melody
    b) the melody
    c) a chord melody or solo guitar version of the piece (rubato if needed but preferably in time according to the feel of the song)

In the process of doing this, you will learn a lot about how songs work, how melodies are constructed and how harmonies move. This is something that you can learn via a lead sheet but not as in depth and connected if you do it by ear.

Good luck!

=====

If you're interested to learn more in depth on this topic or level up your guitar playing ,music theory or songwriting or composing skills. get in touch with me for private lessons in Kuala Lumpur or worldwide via Skype/Zoom/Facetime etc.

Contact me here: http://www.azsamad.com/contact

=====

My new e-book, Jazz Guitar Licks and Etudes is now available:
http://www.azsamad.com/book2

My first e-book, Jazz Improvisation Uncovered is here:
http://www.azsamad.com/book

[Az Jazz Guitar Lessons]
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #1: The importance of listening
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #2: Learning the 5 Essential Jazz Chords
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #3: Seven Guitarists to Check Out
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #4: Enjoying the Process & Your Present State
Az Jazz Guitar Lessons #5: The Importance of Rhythm

[Performances]
Zee Avi & Az Samad - Cry Me A River
Chendering (Malaysian jazz song) with Roby Lakatos, Denis Chang, Az Samad and Zulhilmy Zulkifli

[Music Education]
How to spot a good music teacher
How to write a song in 6 steps
How to learn music
If we have the Internet, why do people even need guitar lessons?

[Music Career]
I wanna be a full-time musician... should I?
When are you ready to perform for that big gig?

Sort:  

Hey bro, good to see you on the blockchain! Only noticed when you cross posted on FB group. Welcome!

Thank you! I'm super new to this so slowly learning the terminology and all that. Digging the community so far. Thanks for reading!

Awesome community here and a great platform to showcase your stuffs. Steemit rocks, man!

Yeah man, I'm slowly finding the folks to follow in terms of the topics I dig, very cool. Thanks again for the first upvote on the post and for taking time to comment. :)

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Thank you again! Proud to be part of TeamMalaysia!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11