Jiu-Jitsu Training Journal - 4/8/19

in #jiujitsu5 years ago

bjj.jpg

Today was time to teach Kid's class. The focus of this class was preparing for Belt Testing. I am not a fan of Belt Testing because the kids come out just to cram to get their next stripe or belt.

The reason I don't like it is that they just remember the move for the test. I find that the kids that focus on belt testing end up doing the worse. They get higher belts but the can't let alone remember the moves after a few month or even fight.

It is the policy of the school I teach at because it is a money maker and a way to keep enrollment up.

I prefer to award the kids with belts if they try hard, have a good attitude, and understand and remember the principles of Jiu-Jitsu. Their ability to win tournaments is a plus but not a major factor.

I have some Grey Belt kids who definitely do not deserve that higher belt as they can't even remember how to do a Simple Sweep. They move forward just by remembering a few moves and passing the test.

I have some White Belts whom I would give a Grey Belt and have them skip going through the motions trying to remember the techniques on the test.

This is the problem of the commercialization of Jiu-Jitsu.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83