When Fantasy Meets Reality - A Life Lesson Learned

in #joke5 years ago (edited)

What happens when you get cocky, make a side bet in your fantasy baseball league, LOSE, forget about it, and they remind you about your debt a year later...


Yes, this will be me with a mustache.

As a reference point, Nicolas Cage will look better.

YES, it was my idea to create the damn bet.

@steemmatt

Posting of the punishment picture will cost 200 SBD, non-negotiatble.

Sort:  

I've given up on regrets, they just weren't working for me and the emotional cost was too much. I prefer to put things down to experience now and not feed any energy into them.

Also... wanted to show you this nice guy I met at SteemFest. 100 weighted pull-ups. How's his form? Maybe you guys could have a pull-up-off showdown if you make his acquaintance.

https://steemit.com/dtube/@celestal/44w2odh6

That guy would put me to shame now, I haven't done any pullups for about 8 months when I had my last back injury. I'm keen to get back into it though, I was at the stage where I could do 3 one arm pullups with my right arm and 1 with my left before the injury.

On a different topic, my oldest boy has made the cut for the high school drum corps and he's been selected to play the quads. He's really stoked to get in and be chosen to play them. So I'm thinking of building him a set of midi drums in the same arrangement so he can practice at home and not annoy the neigbours. Do you think it's a worthwhile idea for a beginner drummer & are midi drums good enough to learn & practice on?

Well, if you start easy again with 1,000 KG on your waist, maybe you could gradually get back into it once it's safe.

Congrats on the drummer. Get some good earplugs. As for the quads, those are fun. He's going to need a strong back to support those if he's marching.

I'm not familiar with any official quad or marching drum electronic setups to recommend (or even see them online from my view). You could definitely buy an electronic drum set with a module (brain) and convert it into a quasi-quad setup with 4 toms (or 3 toms and 1 snare pad), but it'd be tough to get them in the same setup.

It'd probably be pretty expensive, but getting 4 Roland mesh head V-drum toms with their own snare drum stand and a simple TD module (used) would be the way I'd go. I have a Roland TD30-KV, but that's a full set. I can say that those drum heads are excellent and feel as realistic as you can get at this stage. If that tier of drum parts are out of the price range, you can do the same type of concept with another type of electronic drum brand. You just need to get 4 "tom or snare" pads, make sure they're quality enough to be sensitive and responsive to whatever sticks he'll be using, get 4 snare stands to bunch together, and then 1 module with 4 cables to connect it all to (with either headphones or a small amp for audio). Definitely buy used. Can get good deals on eBay.

Yeah the kit weighs quite a bit and he said it gets hard to walk around with it after a few minutes.

So the midi drums seem like a viable prospect. I was thinking about a homemade setup where the pads are the same size as the quads and driving it with an arduino or maybe even a raspberry pi zero. It will be a very simple arrangement with just a headphone jack. That way it will be portable and not have the cables or even need a midi module so he can walk around with it.

It's not going to be as good as a setup with Roland pads and a dedicated midi module but if he shows that he's going to get serious about it I'll think about that type of setup for his birthday or Christmas.

Thanks Matt

True that - the wise way to go. That's almost always my mindset. In the case of this stupid bet I created and a mustache for my friends to grill me on soon, it'll be easier to call it experience if they don't post pics of me on Facebook. I've only been clean shaven once in the last 5 years, so it'll be a rough week fixing the situation.

If only! For some reason, I have a feeling that you might know how to do this. Maybe the cane is actually a magic staff hiding in plain sight. If so, DM me on discord!! I need to restock on some tokens too.

Use of my magical cane will cost one punishment picture, non-negotiatble.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, I just got OWNED at my own game. Hilarious. If you have more lines like this, you're doing us all a favor by sharing more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75