Jordan Peterson Series #2 - Clean Up Your Room

jordan.jpg

Lately, I have been watching and listening to a lot by Dr. Jordan Peterson. I, therefore, decided to start this series, where I try to put into words what he is saying in short clips on youtube. I will also try to share my own thoughts and ideas on the topic.

The second clip of the series I would like to introduce you to, and to myself, is Jordan talking about the importance of cleaning up your room. As written in my first post of this series, I try to watch the clip, close it, and then write what I can remember about it. It helps me train my memory. If my notes about the clip are not satisfying enough for you, I recommend watching the clip.


In this clip Jordan Peterson strongly adviced us to clean up our room. He explains that your room is the part of cosmos that you can come to grips with. He draws a reference to Jung and explains that not only do you clean up the material world, but it's an inner cleaning as well that's happening. Only depending on how open your eyes are, do you understand the infinity that lies in front you. He explains that a room is a place for you to sleep, so when your room is cleaned you can figure out how to sleep. When you know how to sleep you know how to get up. When that is sorted out you figure out what clothes to wear, as you're clothes also has to be organized. When you know what clothes to wear you now have to figure out what you want to do. A clean room is, therefore, a place for you, to take you from a to b. If your room is not cleaned, your room acts as an obstacle in this process. If your room acts as an obstacle rather than a help, you will most likely find yourself unhappy spending time in your room. A clean room is a great thing to achieve, but other people around you might see it as an attempt to escape. When your room is cleaned you might be confronted with the devils within your house or family. As a clean room is an indicator that you have removed the first obstacle for your path, the rest of the household might work against you, try to pull you back into having a messy room. As soon as they see you're moving, that you're progressing, they will start pulling you back into the darkness instead of embracing you have conquered chaos, and use that as a motivator. In the beginning as well at the end of the clip he teaches us about beauty. That your room needs beauty, as beauty is important, and for you to create beauty you would have to know what you like. So you need taste. It's possible to create beauty with a lot of money as well with no money, but either way, you need beauty. He explains that it's quite a godly action by creating something out of nothing, and how do you do that? By being creative. Set your room up as the stage for what you should do, and how.

My Thoughts

I find this topic extremely interesting, as I am nowhere near having a clean room. I might clean my room once a week, but not a day pass by and it's a mess again. A few days a year I have kept my room clean for a few days, and my mind is at a lot more peace than if it's messy. It's like it's a burden, that continues to bother me, and only god knows why I don't clean it up. I feel such a change in my mood when my room is clean, and it feels like how Jordan describes it to be. A stage for me to move on. Motivation is better. I feel more happy, as I have removed the bit of chaos in my life that I could change. From there I can move on. I might consider cleaning up my room a bit more frequently now.

What are your thoughts on the importance of having a clean room? Do you have a clean room?


Image Source: Look 1st post of this series


Sort:  

By their nature, human constructs require continual maintenance, as they fall into decay as soon as we have constructed them. The discipline of maintaining a human construct applies at the micro level of our room, through to the macro level of our society. They are all in continual decay and need to be revivified on a regular basis. To do this we need to develop a disciplined way of living.

Cleanliness is one of the top priority of my wife. We are required to wash our feet each time we return home and shower immediately if we have gone to too many places. No sitting on our house chair if we have not changed. I guess I do have a clean room.

That sounds more like OCD than just the need of having a clean room.

Congratulations @anonymousmind! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11