Jose Canseco, Mene, and Me

in #josecanseco6 years ago (edited)

89FDF358-590E-4C41-BA58-5BC67BC3297B.jpeg

Jose Canseco, Menē, and Me

My hardcore followers will know that one of the first posts I ever wrote here on Steemit was about my childhood hero, Jose Canseco.

The blog was about my quest to get Jose Canseco to follow me on twitter.... and it worked!

577C5061-1086-44CD-B07F-431E19BA2E0F.jpeg

You can read this old blog here: https://steemit.com/story/@goldmatters/jose-canseco-and-me-and-my-quest-for-a-follow-back-on-twitter

Jose Canseco was a professional baseball player in the 80’s and 90’s , and was the first member of the 40 40 club, hitting over 40 home runs and stealing 40 bases in one season. This was in the glory days for the Oakland Athletics and they won the World Series back when the Bash Brothers were huge (Jose Canseco and Mark McGwire) in late 80’s.

Jose Canseco is also a colorful fellow, and he loves twitter, often tweeting some edgy opinions.

I started thinking about my old friend Jose after recently attending an A’s game:

53078881-202C-40C9-B4C5-20AFCE6A030A.jpeg

I remembered the good old days and when I went to Jose Canseco Baseball camp and took this photo:

E38A7AE2-2873-4C9A-AF73-F0FE9BADA123.jpeg

What most people might not know about Jose is that he is a huge gold bug and also is in to crypto. He proved that to me on twitter:

5BEEE1A5-2C60-4080-91D3-B00C93FFE1BF.jpeg

Later he predicted Bitcoin’s rise to $10,000:

https://www.coindesk.com/jose-canseco-twitter-bitcoin-satoshi/

We all know what happened next!

https://www.cnbc.com/2017/11/28/bitcoin-surpasses-10000-for-the-first-time.html

I got more advice from Jose ( I can call him that because we are friends) about Bitcoin:

2A4F19B3-8B4A-4D48-9880-920EAA18F839.jpeg

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@goldmatters/jose-canseco-advises-on-bitcoin

After going to the A’s game last week I started thinking that Jose might not know about Menē yet. He might not know about 24 karat gold jewelry like this:

DFD0CF98-7AD2-4FF6-8233-9DBBAAC0CDBD.jpeg

I would love to meet up with Jose and talk about old times, tell him about Menē, and maybe even re create that photo taken at Jose Canseco baseball camp. I was never very good at baseball, but I actually went to his camp hoping to meet him, and I did! Worth every penny of my parents fiat.

Jose if you are reading this, DM me on twitter.

I have some Menē 24 karat gold for you buddy.

Talk to you soon Jose!!

For $5 in Menē 24k investment jewelry credit sign up here in 30 seconds: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

4CE5C674-93A8-4A00-A50D-B0854A1C4759.jpeg

Menē crafts 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry™ that is transparently sold by gram weight. By combining innovative technology with timeless design, Menē restores the ancient tradition of jewelry as a store of enduring value.

To find out more about what Menē 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry is from your fellow Steemians :
https://steemit.com/steemit/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-is-mene24k-35-well-researched-blog-style-essays-contest-winners
Or
https://steemit.com/mene24k/@goldmatters/what-is-mene-24-karat-platinum-and-gold-jewelry-valentine-s-day-gift-winner

To find out more about what Goldmoney is from your fellow Steemians : https://steemit.com/contest/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-s-goldmoney-winners

To sign up for a Goldmoney Holding start here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

For Menē 24k investment jewelry here: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

I am on a personal mission to spread the word about Goldmoney and Menē through any means necessary. Goldmoney allows individuals to empower themselves by protecting their savings by owning small or large amounts gold previously inaccessible to regular people like you and me.

All images sourced from Menē and Goldmoney.

Read more about Goldmoney: https://steemit.com/@goldmatters

I will let famous Steemian @coruscate explain:

Sort:  

Can't miss a chance to show off my tribute to your hero!

YES! I wrote this post hoping you would link that song !

I loved watching Jose Canseco and Mark Mcgwire growing up. Bash Brothers. Jose is a smart man, loves gold too. Good luck, hopefully he gets to know Menē.

I hope so too!

Swing batter batter batter!!!

Great post GM. How awesome would it be to get a 2018 Steemround into Jose’s mitts?
😁😜🤣😎👍

I’ll work on it :)

When I was a kid my dream card was the 1986 Donruss Rookie of him. Thanks for bringing me back to 1986 man!

Yes!! I was a huge card collector too. Still have a ton of his cards. Its funny, we call them trading cards but I remember spending hours with friend contemplating trades but never actually executing. I coveted that Donruss rookie as well. I should buy just for old times sake....

I really hope he sees this so he can get some Menē!! I remember when you first showed me he tweeted at you lol so awesome

Let’s get his attention on twitter

Really cool post! Followed!

Thanks! Can you put me in touch with Jose?

"Worth every penny of my parents fiat" - Man I absolutely love how take these quite little digs. LOL!

Coming back to the discussion. If I remember correctly and I think I do, Jose Canseco also gave you some bitcoin advice, right? That was really cool of him :-)

Yes! I mention that in the post about bitcoin too :)

Sorry to have missed that bit. I mostly remember it from a few weeks ago when you shared that with me after I commented on of the posts

@goldmatters indeed you have captured a golden moment with your favorite star Jose Canseco and you look super cute in that childhood pic.
For some people Childhood favorites often change as we grow but true fans never give up on their stars

It is so true

Awww...a little @goldmatters! Just kiddin' sure I remember that post and chatting about my '86 Donruss rookie. I hope that he gets back with you. It would be great to see him sporting that Menē baseball pendant in a reunion photo!

Thanks for reminding me of a great year with the Bash Brothers. Me and my dad had a lot of fun searching for McGwire rookie cards...and later the coveted Ken Griffey Jr. rc's!

That brings back some excellent memories!

Now that is a very cool post. I have never heard of your sporting hero but it is fantastic that you showed enough drive to get him on your twitter. Nothing is out of your reach and should inspire others to push harder. Nice post.

Thank you :) Now my new objective is to get his attention, let’s get him on Steemit too!

Hi Goldmatters. That won't be a challenge for you. If we can help we will. Just shout. Team Goldmatters to the rescue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75