Journal Day 18-20

in #journal6 years ago

Welcome to Day 18-20 of my journal. To learn about the motivation for my daily journal and how it got started, you can read the intro post here.


Welcome to Day 18-20

Diary entry

For the past year, since my daughter was born, my wife and I have struggled with getting enough sleep each night. Unlike my son who started sleeping over night from early on, my daughter has always woken up several times each night. So recently we’ve gotten to a point where we really need to do something about this. We visited the community nurse on Wednesday and she gave us some tips to train our daughter to soothe herself to sleep. The most difficult thing is to persevere with tough love. She said it would take three days for us to get any results, and we need to be persistent in patting her to sleep rather than letting her rely on being breast-fed to sleep. The difficult thing is she will keep crying but we need to persevere. The other difficult thing is to let our son sleep at grandma’s place or else the persistent crying will wake him too. So we will be starting this hopefully tonight.

Habits I want to develop

Here are the habits I want to develop and goals I want to work towards

  1. Go out for a walk each day and exercise
  2. Speak words of life - say more encouraging and thanks giving words each day, and reduce complaining, blame and negativity
  3. Catch up with friends on a regular basis
  4. Give to someone or some cause, or do something for someone

So here's how I did against these habits/goals

My wife and I have been very sleep deprived over the past few days and this has impacted on our mood and behaviors. I haven’t been as encouraging as I would have liked, and have struggled to remain calm and patient. I managed to get some exercise outside yesterday and felt much better as a result. We will be catching up with some family and friends over this weekend.


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

a very interesting post and touching a mother's heart to love her child

The letting your baby cry is a difficult one! It’s is like she has you trained to jump when she whimpers. I encountered here in the Philippines a young boy at age 5 that was still pulling that on his parents. I am not exaggerating, he would cry when getting a bath, while getting dressed, while being fed, all the way to town and back. It really was ashame as he was a beautiful boy.
Well his mom and dad went to Manila and left him in our house. This is back when we lived with 14 other people.
I decided to take him on as a project. Within a few weeks some tough love brought him around. They were told by the doctors that he was a special needs kid. Today he is 7 and on the honor roll at school! Happy, loves Jesus and he and I are great.
It is funny, he is back with his parents and whenever he gets out of control, his dad tells him he is going to call Daddy William. He settles down immediately. He is over this moment playing with my son.
God bless brother! Not easy!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I like your idea of the journal so nice and bless your family

I know that must be tough. And I can attest with two of my own. But it is great you did get some exercise and feeling better :) Thanks @nextgen622 for sharing

Sorry to hear about your lack of sleep. I am glad going for a walk helped. Exercise is great for endorphins!

I believe the exercise you are about to develop will definitely help you feel more relaxed and comfortable @nextgen622 it will be nice if you really follow up with it. Stay safe.
@master-minds Love you all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87