Want to learn how to juggle the easy way? anyone can - learn heresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #juggling5 years ago (edited)

Learn how to juggle like a Steemit champ!

Have you ever stared in wonder at a juggler in the street and thought - how is that possible? I mean they only have two hands yet juggling 3 or more balls? ...Well here is a rare treat, in just a few short posts I will have any Steemian game enough to try juggling in no time - with my custom made tricks, it's actually not as difficult as you would think.

No need for expensive one-on-one lessons you can just teach yourself (...with just a few special tips from me each week - exclusive to Steemit of course!).

How you ask? First some quick background 

Well, I decided to teach myself one day and I remember the challenges and recall what it took to make it all work - in short I've written my own original guide. I didn't think it was possible, but with a few small tips from a Secret Master (name not to be revealed) I had all the ingredients. 

Now it's your turn to learn the secret(s) - it will take just 30mins, once a week for a few weeks. 

That's it and everyone can do it!

OK if your still reading then lets get started. Firstly lets cover safety, here is a list of the top 5 things not to juggle as a beginner;I'll provide special hidden insight as to the reasons why.

First - no you should never juggle 'Skye dog'. Even if it is tempting..reason? because she isn't the right shape or weight.

Second, do not attempt to juggle knives of any kind. That's right kids, even if you think your skilled enough, chances are you are not. Still if you are silly enough to try this at least wear steal capped boots :).

Third, do not try to juggle tennis balls or other light weight balls. The reason is you need a bit of weight to have a controlled throw. Yes later you will be able to juggle tennis balls, but a beginner should not try to learn with tennis balls.

Fourth, by now your thinking well what the heck can I juggle with that weighs something, maybe some batteries perhaps? NO you should not try to learn with any object which isn't round. You want something that sits in your hand nicely. 

And finally do not attempt to juggle banana's (not yet anyways). Again they are not round and therefore you would need to spin them a bit for solid grip and effect, this is not for a beginner and you could slip on them when they are on the floor.

OK so now we are through the safety guide it's time to start thinking about starting our lesson..But before we do lets cover the why juggling is so cool.

Weird Juggling Facts

Here's a few uncommonly known facts (but don't quote me):

1) Scientists have tested humans when they are learning to juggle and have recorded a increase in 'grey matter' in their brains. If you haven't heard of 'grey matter' it's what scientists use to describe parts of the brain they don't understand, they do know we don't use all our brains in every day life...but they get a bit confused when suddenly parts light up as active. Learning how to ride a bike shows a similar result it uses a part of the brain which would otherwise stay dormant.

2) Humans are the only creatures on this planet that can learn how to juggle. Think what you like about weirdo's who juggle, but just maybe they have access to more brain power then you.

OK on with the lesson

For this weeks lesson we are going to select 3 items to juggle with, here are two good examples of items you can learn to juggle with.

First is juggling balls - funny enough you can buy these at party shops or professional juggling shops (yes, they have them :)) 

Second is Apples...certainly a bit easier to get access to, Oranges are also pretty good they weigh about the right amount and should sit in the hand nicely. Best to juggle outside though when learning with fruit, also there will be plenty of dropping of the fruit so best to start and end the practice outside.

Ok so lets go, lesson one - the throw and catch.

So grab one of your three juggling pieces and get ready.  There is a particular way to stand and a particular way to throw, but before I give away the really good tips - lets just get you comfortable with throwing and catching your item. It's not hard...just for 30 mins today, walk around the house and practice throwing and catching your apple in the same hand. 15 mins in each hand. Watch below how I do it..

See how I catch the apple firmly (I'm not even looking...it's crazy) but blind folded juggling is for the pro's so don't try that yet, for now just practice a firm eye height type throw and catch in the same hand.

Trust me, we are unlocking parts of your brain and this is just the first step.

Well, I hope I got your attention and you enjoyed my first juggling lesson - if you liked it, like a busker in the Street please grace me a small token - a lovely Steemit upvote is my favourite. 

In the typical Steemit way, if my upvote is good I'll take it as a sign the post is good quality and prepare a lesson two post for approx the same time next week. If you have any question feel free to let me know

All the best and take care out there

Sort:  

but there is soo much stuff I want juggle....
And then lady problems. Am I right or am I right?!?

lol! ...errr If the ladies didn't interrupt so much, the good stuff wouldn't get broken in the kitchen.

I learned how to juggle with tennis balls because that’s what I had 😆 and also rocks (not recommended).

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nooo you did it the hard way with tennis balls - must be naturally talented and enjoy the extra challenge :)

I used to juggle 3 knives when I was a teenager. Lots of mysterious little cuts on the lino in my parents' kitchen from dropping them. Sorry guys.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71