My Steemit Newbie Resteem Post - Week 31

in #justbecause6 years ago

What Will Happen?

          Things are changing, so I thought it was time I made a few changes myself to my standard Newbieresteemday post. On last week's post you can find the links to the start of newbieresteemday and links to the history. This is my 31st posting for the newbieresteemday Initiative. In future posting I will try to use the beginning section here as a quick what's below in the post. My requirements section will remain the same, I do not see that changing at all. I am however human, and none of the rules are carved in stone.

Today I will be giving my view of the upcoming HF20.


Requirements

Image created and provided by: @amariespeaks
          So, if you are new to steemit and meet the criteria below I will try to help at least one individual that responds:


• a steemit newbie, that has a rank of not more than 45
• has a good and quality blog
• has less than 90 days on steemit
• I will only resteem One post, and that is not a guarantee

          If you would like your blog to be resteemed, read, commented on, and voted on, leave a link to one of your blog post in the comments below and I will try to help. If you have a question I will try to answer it, or direct you to someone or a post that may be of help. Steemit can be overwhelming at times, but there are people that do try to take the time and help others.

HF20

          Steem is a little bit over two years old. There has been a lot of talk and chatter about the upcoming HF20. A lot of it is doomsday talk/FUD if you prefer that term. FUD=Fear, Uncertainty, and Doubt, it took me quite some time to learn and to remember that.

Fear


          "Oh my GOD!! have you heard they are going to actually go through with HF20, can you believe that? I mean what are those idiots thinking up at stinc, have they lost their minds, do they not care what we think, what we want, how can they do this to us"? Yeah it might be an exaggeration, but it is not far off the mark. "But they are messing with the voting system"?, yes they are trying to make some adjustments to the voting system. Here's a newsflash for you all - - - -They did it in the past - - - to make it more fair.

          I know there is a lot of concern about the change coming up, and especially to the voting system. The voting system gets changed every now and then. People being people find ways to game any system that people create, it is not new, and it will not go away, people will be people. There seems to be a lot of fear that the changes are only going to affect redfish and minnows, that is not so, plenty of smarter people than I have tried to explain it.

          We will just have to wait and see how the changes work. Most people are concerned with the wording of the vote changes, this post from @davemccoy: "HF 20 - Did A Vote Below 2 cents Just Get Permanently Ignored? (ANSWER SEEMS TO BE ALL VOTES OVER 1 SP SIZE ACCOUNTS ARE GOOD)", has a lot of answers to the question in the comments section, and an understanding can be had there a little bit.

Uncertainty


          One of the things I am having a hard time grasping and understanding is the RC=Resource Credits, that are going to be associated with every account. It was explained to me, but I still do not have a firm grasp of it. It is one of those things that I will need to see working to make a real informed decision. Informed that is what you need to fight off the fear of change. Become informed, if you are afraid of it, but change is going to happen, it is after all one of the very few eternal truths out there, Change Happens. There is no need to fear change.

          The uncertainty, sorry there is nothing that can be done about that, even the developers are uncertain of what will happen, and what will need to be tweaked when the new processes are implemented. There will be people watching evaluating and planning what needs to be fixed, altered, or scrapped as the HF change is taking place.

Doubt


Source my Nikon D7500, I thought a picture was needed, so since it is busy times I thought this bee would be a good choice

          Doubt, a lot of people at doubting the viability of steem and they fear that it is HF20's pending implementation that has steem and SBD prices falling. I joined steemit just about one year ago. The price of steem is the same now as it was when I joined. In August of 2016 the price of steem was not looking very good for people, a lot left. Then in November the price went up in both years, two years do not a cycle make, but the price does go up and go down and there are many reasons for it. HF20 only has the uninformed running scared and bailing out. Even at today's prices, it is more than any other social media system is paying you to play.


The Reach

          A lot of people talk about the reach of steemit, that there are not that many active users, that there is only a small audience for the blogs, that there is not enough content. Lets examine the reach of steemit, I do not facebook or google hang out or twitter or reddit, or any other social media. My social media experience prior to last year, was 15 years in the past. It ended with the beginning of Facebook for me.

          So reach, lets see look around if you use facebook, how many of your friends and visitors to your page are from Australia, new Zealand, Canada, Or any of the other English speaking countries. How many non-english people visit and leave comments in their native language on your post, when was the last last time you read a post on facebook from someone in India written in their local language? How easy is it to translate facebook post? I don't know like I said I do not use facebook. I read stories from people in Kenya, in Nigeria, in Venezuela, and other area of the world. There is an artist whose work I find fantastic in Croatia I believe, how easy is it for me to find that on facebook? REACH for me the reach of steemit is the world.

          Some people talk about the censorship on steemit, that the downflag should go away. Look at FB, YT, and GH, do you think there is as much troll action on steemit as there is on those other platforms? Of people coming by your post and leaving nasty comments, rude comments, spam comments as on FB, YT or other social media. Do you need to put your FB or YT account in private mode and only share with your friends because someone is trolling you to death? On steemit you can ignore/mute people, you do not need to see those you see as asshat trolls. You can report abusive behavior to @steemcleaners and they will do something about it. When was the last time anyone at FB responded to a plea for help from you, or from anyone, they are quick to pull the trigger on your account and flag you because some asshat troll got his panties in a bunch.

          A greyed out post is just that greyed out. It is not hidden, it is visible for anyone to click on, for anyone to see. What happens to your account on YT when you get three complaints? Can I still go and click on your greyed out account, can I still see what you had posted that upset some pink panty pansy having a p p party?


Conclusion

          I know most of it seemed like a rant, but there really is nothing to Fear about HF20, there is always with any update a small measure of uncertainty, there should be no doubt about the integrity of HF20, it merely fixes some systems, and updates others. Like any other software update, sometimes things go wrong, or there are unintended consequences, rest assured there will be people watching and fixing or reverting if need be. Some of you may remember the issues with the Terms Of Service update, that issue was resolved pretty quickly. So no fear people, play, comment, engage, and post, steemit will still be working on the 28th of September.

Highlight's

          One of the communities that I belong to is @thehive. It is a support community to help each other with account growth. Currently I believe there is over 100 members. Most of them active members. It is pretty simple community, every day to support each other 3 post are highlighted. Members are asked to vote on the highlighted post and to try to vote on members post if they use the promotion box. The tiny auto vote bot that is manually used will vote on the three highlighted post after a 24 hour posting period has past. So you have 24 hours to get a curation vote in. Here is their weekly update post:
The Hive. Weekly Review. 07.08.2018 I think @jan23com has done an absolutely wonderful job on his "Hive", and the big bonus, we have some of the best banner graphics on steemit created by @charisma777. Here:

          @dpet, as a new user it is sometimes hard to think of a post, dpets has made that pretty easy for you. Take a picture of your pet, put a few words about your pet, (we all love to talk and hear about peoples pets), so you now have a post a few tags that people look at. I spoke of reach above, this is a dual language post, english and I believe chinese, here is their latest post: [EN/中文]DailyPetPhotography submissions | "每天寵物攝影" 圖片 Day 220 So if you are stuck in an apartment or living where you can not own a pet, or just love looking at the vast array of dogs, cats, birds, and other pets, drop by their post and say hi to pets like:

Source-@mermaid, her cat Minoes chilling on the couch and @dpet page


Let me know in the comments if you would like a return to the more formula version, or if you would like to see how this new format will work. Is there other information you would like presented.

Sort:  

I like the look of this post; change is good, if you ask me. In terms of changes here, I with you...it's a bit of a way and see kind of thing. I too can't fully grasp the changes, but am not afraid in any way because of it :)

After 30 pretty much same post, I thought it was time for a change. And since this was going to be about the upcoming change, good timing. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00