Nothing super spectacular, just some Pictures from Clam Gulch Beach Alaska

in #justbecause6 years ago

Clam Gulch and a Bonus Pic

          I thought I would share a few more pictures. It was not a real great morning on the opposite side of the inlet, but at Clam Gulch itself it was a pretty nice morning. A pretty early morning for us, the sun was behind us and shining onto the beach. Up first is what I call the grassy sighting rock.

8-7 clam gulch rock n grass.jpg

          Just behind the rock here is where the creek ends it journey to the sea. I am not sure of the name of the creek, and getting a good picture, well, lets just say I still need a lot of practice with my camera. Still overall it was not that bad of a shot and you can see the creek.

8 7 18 Clam Gulch creek.jpg

          It's not that big of a creek, nor is it very deep, the salmon however do use it to get to an inland lake or a spawning area. Surprisingly there were very few bugs when I went to get the picture. No mosquitoes, biting flies, or pesky gnats.

          This next picture is a shot of the bluff area just above the creek exit, a nice sloping field of green, the sun was at a nice angle to show the color, and the contrasting blue sky with just a few thin clouds I thought came out pretty nicely.

8-7 clam gulchgrass slope.jpg

          On the dead tree at the very top quite frequently you can see an eagle, not today though. My wife did get a few pictures of a couple of magpies playing and flying around, me, not so lucky.

          The fire weed is pretty much in full bloom right now, there was, as there is on most beaches, a little bit of a breeze, still most of the picture came out pretty good.

8-7 clam gulch fire weed a bit of a breeze.jpg

          Well that was pretty much the best shots I got on the 7th, but as promised here is a bonus picture this one was taken on Aug 4th, down on the road to the cannery. I really like how it came out, I thought the cloud was a great shape, and the golden foreground with the mountains in the background made for a nice picture.

Cool Cannery road Cloud.jpg

          I hope you enjoyed the picture show, and if there are any question feel free to ask. All pictures were taken by me with my Nikon D7500 camera. Minimal post processing, a little tilting on the water line, and a little bulging in a couple of spots, (it sort of minor fish eyed on that one for some reason), all of them were cropped, and resized so as to not overload my bandwidth allowance.

Sort:  

Nice shots! I'm curious, what's the temperature like? I think of Alaska as always being freezing, but your pics make it look quite pleasant outside!

Right now about 65 F-68 F 18-20 degrees celsius. We do get into the almost hot range at 75, and above that it is where is the air conditioner, where is the snow, why is it so hot. I know it seems odd to think of 75 as being hot, 3 years ago that would have been an almost chilly temperature in California. AT night we get down to the mid to upper 50's.

Ah, that's not bad at all! I mean, I'd personally be freezing, I'm so wussy with cold these days. Ha! I was raised in California and now live in the tropics, so my teeth would be chattering :) Nah, but not as cold I thought, definitely doable!

Just go take a picture lol love it!
Beautiful photos @bashadow! really
love the rock and basket grasses, such
a grand view! That was one looooong
cloud!! ☁⛅

Alaska seems such an exotic place to me! I have traveled a lot of places, but never there.I love see your photos!

We do have some beautiful places to visit. For small plane travel you can see a lot more of Alaska, but I just don't like to fly, prefer two feet or four or more wheels on the ground.

I can understand that. Flying for me is just a means to get there so that I can have 2 feet on the ground!

I am so envious of where you live Bash. Such a beautiful place and you do an amazing job of capturing that. As always up voted and resteemed. :)

We have a lot of natural beauty up here for sure, a little bit lacking on man made beauty, like castles and shrines and cool looking monasteries, and churches, but it is still a nice place. I figured out why my pictures look just a little off to me, and why I got some vignetting, I was using my macro lens, the flower came out great and the others pretty good which is surprising. but now I know why I had some fish eyeing and bulging.

Love these photos @bashadow! I've never been to Alaska, so it's nice to see something other than the regular snowy photos that I'm used to :)

Clam Gulch is one of our favorite spots, not a lot of tourist hit it up, due to the steep walk down from the camping area, and fear of getting stuck in the sand if they drive down to the beach.

That sounds even better now @bashadow!😅

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-nature" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

What a beautiful place bashadow. I love that photographof the grassy sighting rock with the mountains in the background.

The cloud in the bottom one looks a bit like it's smoke coming out of an invisible steam engine! 😂

I thought that was a cool cloud, we do get small low level thunderstorms that do anvil out pretty low sometimes,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70