Pretty much all done - My Steem World - start page

in #justbecause5 years ago

7-9-19

Not easy but Done

It was not an easy thing to do, but I am satisfied and happy with the results. I present to you my very own, completely 100 percent personalized, starting home page for the Steem Block Chain.

Larger View

Page break Down:

The Menu bar

This was a very difficult thing for me to figure out. I wanted a fixed at the top of the page menu bar. I have always hated the disappearing menu bars because of page scrolling. It is fixed in place and I am one hundred percent happy with it.

As you can see this is a drop down menu. With two accounts and so far five communities I needed an easy way to keep up with them all. This method I think will work best for me for now. I have grown pretty used to having the wallet choice on the right side of the menu from steemit, so I have my wallets listed to the right also. This was a pretty good sized headache to accomplish. There are so many little typo's that can be made and so many different ways to accomplish the same thing. I am surprised my menu works.


The Header

Now this was a supersized headache to get over. Days and days, of trying to figure out why part of it was hidden behind the menu bar. It just would not sit at the bottom of the menu bar. I almost gave up, but I did keep looking. I moved on to a few other things like the cool text effect in my header, and then boom, I found why. I needed to reset the margin for the header so it would ignore the part that the Menu Bar was using. A simple one line fix. Along with the text effect I found another nice header effect the twin lines at the bottom of the header border. For now I think my header will remain pictureless. I do know how to add a picture if I want to.

The Main Body

The main body consist of three columns with the center column being the largest. in the left column I have my feeds. Sometimes one account or the other just can not find enough to vote and comment on or content to consume, so now it is easy for me to support people that I follow in one account and not the other. I will be adding to this list for content hunting in the future based on the communities I follow.

Since deciding to go with a three column set up I have been unsure of what to use the larger middle column for. Then I remembered a conversation I had about wanting a coin book to show off all the tokens I own, well I stepped that down a little bit and decided to highlight these ones for now. Obligatory source quote: All token images came from the respective token issuers pages. I hope that is enough, I did alter slightly the sports talk one so it had a transparent background.

The right column I am planning on using it for bookmarks that I sometimes have a hard time finding, My bookmarks are pretty much a mess on my computer, and I do not have that great of a filing system developed, never have. So for now these are the two most important.

The Footer


I decided to forgo the footer for now. But I did find how to make all kinds of cool changes to the <hr>. That thick blue bar at the bottom is a fancied up <hr>.


Well that is it for this learning journey. I am happy and satisfied, and I now have a nice start page and the ability to keep it updated as things and links change. The Steem Block Chain is growing, and the social aspect of it is really beginning to take off. I am liking all the new communities as a consumer it is and will continue to be easier to find the type content I like and enjoy, and as an occasional poster a few more tags to use.

Sort:  

that's awesome

Thanks, it was fun trying to re-learn/learn some of this. I am happy with how it all came out.

I'm impressed! That should keep you quite organized!

I enjoyed the process. Some of the headache stuff was so easy to fix, it was just finding the answers. I think things are going to be a bit busy in the steem block chain world, so I do hope this will help me. And I do have a link to the html school if I get in html trouble in the future.

I am hoping the devs come up with some tools that will make managing it all easier for those of us who aren't as clever as you!

That's really cool. It looks good and I like how the page turned out. Well done!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, it is already helping a little bit. I like having a one page base of operations.

That seems a huge task; great job you did there!

Posted using Partiko Android

HTML and the CSS are pretty finicky when it comes to periods here, quotation marks here, angle bracket here, but titty bracket here, and who cares about the square bracket. And then like american English there are exceptions to the rules. But it was a fun learning experience.

And you did all that self-taught?

Yes, took a couple of weeks, but figured some of the basic stuff out. It seemed as if figuring out how to stop from having a bottom scroll bar was one of the hard parts, but I got that issue resolved, and a few others that I was having.

I only reached the point of learning basic html to be able to format my posts. Well done!! :)

Hi @bashadow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.319 which ranks you at #2720 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 342 places in the last three days (old rank 2378).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 152 contributions, your post is ranked at #87.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86