Split Pea Soup Doesn’t Need Garnish

in #justbecause6 years ago

Cheers to another ::Just Because:: Wednesday! I’ve been a busy little bee buzzing around everywhere getting ready for our departure, while slightly under the weather, so thought “I know what I need 🤔 … I need to make some of my Nana’s Split Pea Soup”.

If you can’t tell by the name, Nana, that she is from England then rest assured she is from England. Naturally this made her a fantastic chef, especially when it came to soups and potatoes (thank God for potatoes). Although I prefer my Split Pea Soup without ham or any other animal product, my Nana taught me her recipe, which I modified making it my own from there.

F87F2807-8D6C-4247-B00F-3B75A3208952.jpeg

Split Pea Soup

This photo was actually taken to send to my Mom whom receives all the latest pictures of my cooking creations. Silly maybe but it’s a way for us to connect, even if only for a second, each day. Plus, I hope droplets of inspiration transcend through my photos into her kitchen and eventually her belly because my goal is always to help facilitate the maximum health of my loved ones (without being pushy or weird about it), but I digress…

594838E5-BDB1-43AD-92E1-C6F0F84F5064.jpeg

Ingredients

1 Pound Split Peas
1 Onion (Chopped)
3-5 Carrots (Chopped)
2 C. Red Potatoes (Chopped)
2-5 Garlic Cloves (Chopped)
2 Tbsp. Olive Oil
1 Tsp. Oregano
1-3 Bay Leaf
8 C. Vegetable Broth
Sea Salt & Pepper to taste

First, I chop my onions preparing to sauté them. The trick here is to sauté on a very low heat for about 15 minutes. This will give the soup some dimension and an extra layer of flavor.

215CF1F3-D92C-4571-875F-BEC9D7903B69.jpeg

Add a drizzle (2 Tbsp.) of olive oil to your pot along with the onion, garlic and all of the spices, except the bay leaf(s). Remember keep at a low heat for a longer time.

DDBCA8D7-F8EC-481C-A2B1-7E0D1B918F93.jpeg

While all of that is cooking to transluscence you can start chopping your carrots. I only had rainbow carrots, which I thought was a plus, so grabbed a few of those color sprinkling guys to chop up for the soup.

16D04509-515E-433B-B277-07F0E0F3ECE8.jpeg

Then I cut up my potatoes. I used red potatoes but any potato will do. In fact any carrot, any potato, you can change the amount of garlic and seasoning and I’m sure it’ll turn out just as delicious- pea soup can be so versatile that way.

4839F716-89C3-43FF-AC7D-003DBC5E6424.jpeg

Once the onions are nice and soft you’ll want to add everything else: carrots, potatoes, split peas, vegetable broth, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.

80EED945-FF73-4149-ADBF-743B3781B39E.jpeg

Some people rinse their peas before adding to the soup, I just poured them straight from the package like an outlaw 🤠- feel free to use whatever method you are more comfortable with.

C199CD7A-C569-490D-B351-F6E0409919C5.jpeg

I add a lot more pepper and 3 bay leaves then put a lid on and let it simmer for 50-55 minutes. All of this prep work woke up my hunger monster so I grabbed some almonds to avoid spoiling my appetite.

E1C358F5-79DE-41C4-A936-EC29A32537B8.jpeg

I can never just eat one serving but the snacking gave me the energy needed to fold the laundry.

90548993-956B-42DB-84E7-5039CFE61061.jpeg

Do you hear that? I can definitely smell it so makes sense that my alarm is alerting me that the soup is-ah-done.

B10A0FB6-1B19-4792-81F1-82834A94805B.jpeg

Now, this step is the most difficult task of the entire soup preparation… fishing out the ever elusive bay leaves. They always tend to play hide and seek with me.

It takes two spoon-y things and what seems like a couple minutes and viola…

4833FE72-D7E6-4234-98EF-19B3F6EDDB9C.jpeg

The third one was no match for my second spoon-y thingy. Haha

AC1F7E27-71E8-4F33-ABBB-703E4997C911.jpeg

Pour a few cups of the soup into your blender and liquify. I like some potato and carrot chunks in my soup so believe I blended about 3-4 cups of the soup. Then re-introduce the creaminess back into the pot like so…

03A21D78-C7B5-499F-9C74-73FFA2451AC6.jpeg

Out of 5 pictures this is the only one that didn’t look like poop, literally like fecal matter… but I suppose all split pea soup can easily go there 🤷🏼‍♀️

C9CBA043-104E-4727-B3B1-67B6DC05C877.jpeg

I mix everything real well and grab the bowls because we are about to get down on some Split Pea Soup, which doesn’t need any garnish. It’s perfect the way it is!

6C143E53-3A79-4833-9B68-80CA8AD2841C.jpeg

As I said earlier, my Nana was from England and her and my Dad came to the United States when he was only 12 years old. Making this soup reminds me of a time when my Dad would reach into the fridge and heat up a bowl of Split Pea for me and him as he raved about how good of a cook his Mum was… I always cherished these moments with my Dad. Fortunately for me I get to now share these beautiful memories of love and warmth with my almost perfect husband and best friend (Thanks Dad for sending me him 😇).

300AE7A0-7E19-41B2-804A-74BEC864D044.jpeg

I know it looks as if I didn’t prepare “him” a bowl but I promise there are two bowls appropriately utensiled and ready for the feast.

This dish of mine came from England and last weeks ::Just Because:: dish came from Costa Rica- what will next week bring? I’d love to see your rendition of an international cuisine or a memory tied to your Grandmothers soup recipe… Now that summer is over bring on that soup weather :)

As always thank you so much for reading and supporting my blog. I appreciate each and every one of you and look forward to hearing how your Split Pea Soup turns out.

Pura Vida ✌️

Sort:  

That looks so good. I'll have to try this recipe!

Please do! It’s super simple and very comforting. A friend of mine, @jasmink, just made these delicious looking Carrot Oat Bread Rolls that I think would pair perfectly with this soup. I think I’m going to make them with tomorrow nights green curry.

I’m glad you liked the recipe @faeryboots- let me know how your soup (and maybe oat rolls) turn out… thank you for stopping by friend!

“Luckiest guy I know.” Is it a clearer now ya’all?

Speaking of your mom, welcome to Steemit @tenaj! <— I heard you got your password, congratulations! and Congratulations! Activate your account when you get a chance so it doesn’t say “page doesn’t exist” when we click on your name. Great to have you aboard young lady!

thats my fave soup and thats a fact

Nice! I think my version would definitely give my Nana a run for her money but I could be bias. A double virtual serving coming your way, @briancourteau, glad you stopped by!

So much yes in this post!!

  1. Potatoes==🙌🙌🙌

  2. Legume outlaw--that got me giggling

  3. Fishing out the bay leaves--oh my gosh there have been times I swear my soup gobbled them up like the dryer does socks!

And of course a bowl of something hearty, healthy, and homey never goes astray in my opinion! Love the backstory, as well. My maternal grandmother was actually a terrible cook, but she could make a mean bowl of plain spaghetti or darn good pancakes from a box! I think my paternal grandmother may have been a little better, but she then again I also remember her serving me soggy, sad asparagus from a can. Luckily my mother and my sisters and I have risen above. Haha!

“No, really. I’m serious, I’m not trying to set a trend with these mismatched socks.”

Haha! I actually don't usually have too much of a problem now, but as a kid in a household of girls it was a constant struggle!

Haha… this comment had me giggling. Where do those damn dryer socks go anyway 🤦🏼‍♀️

I think all of us know about those soggy canned asparagus spears. They were paired with the boxed scallop pototoes (the only potate-no’s I’ve ever disliked) and a poor mans pork chop. Haha… man we’ve come a long way :)

You on the other hand are a fantastic chef and I bet your plates will go down in someone’s history just like your grandmas spaghetti or boxed pancakes.

Thank you for stopping by @plantstoplanks :)

Oh I am so with you on those potatoes! Coincidentally, I've got some real ones getting happy in the oven right now... ;)

Num num num 😋. Let me guess, farmers market find?

I can't imagine my life without potatoes and soups! Your grandmother is a genius! Yum!

When are you leaving?

I know, soups are so healing and soothing and potatoes are just all of the comfort wrapped up in a concise little potato. Haha… thank you @delishtreats, she was also the kind of woman who would say that herself. Haha

We still have about a month or two but work has picked up and who would of thought there would be so much to do before leaving the country 🤷🏼‍♀️

Speaking of, have you ever heard of getting a rabies and yellow fever vaccination before traveling? It’s been recommended to us and I wouldn’t mind other travelers take on it…

I'm sure she was a gem!

Two months will fly by.. you will be surprised how fast it will come and you'll be packing :)

Depends on what your plan is. When I went to Nigeria I had to get the vaccination because they could check it at the airport. If I wouldn't have done it, they would send me back or do the vaccination there. Well, I didn't want to do it Nigeria :) They didn't check me at the end but you never know. And safety comes first! You don't want to get sick and experience healthcare in developing countries I guess :)

I would go for the vaccination..

Thank you for your input. We are looking into them now and any others we might need. Did you get both vaccinations to travel to Nigeria? And are they horrible? I’m not a big fan of needles but suppose no one really is.

Sure, two months will fly by once it’s flown by… right now it’s as if we can feel every second, like a child fighting sleep in anticipation of catching a glimpse of Santa Clause on Christmas morning. It’s very nice to be able to ask someone such as yourself travel advice and tips. Gotta love Steemit!

Thanks @delishtreats

I did both of them.. well, I don't mind vaccinations :) I was feeling a bit unwell for a couple of days but it was not that bad..no worries, it won't be that bad :)

I'm so jealous that you're gonna pack your belongings and go on road! I'm going to be more less stuck for a couple of months with just a few short trips here and there..

YES! Steemit is the most inspirational place where you can find help with anything :)

You seem like you are constantly traveling about. Sometimes we all need a period where everything settles for a bit.…

I feel a little better about the vaccinations knowing that other people have done the same thing. Thank you!

Well, I would prefer to travel :) I'm kind of grounded because of some health complications so it's not that I need to settle.. I have to..

Don't forget to do everything to stay healthy during your travels. It will save you lots of time and money at the end..

I wish you a speedy return of good health. It’s amazing how quickly something regarding our healthy can put the brakes on everything. I am always trying to keep us rip roaring and ready to go even if the research does get annoying for my other half. Motto: spend it on food and knowledge so you don’t have to on doctors and medication. Hopefully it works out. I’m glad we met and I look forward to swapping stories/experiences with you in the future :)

🤤Lentils and beans are my absolute favorites. When made correctly, they are so tasty. Loved your recipe, will try it soon.

I, too, love lentils. I often use a mix of lentils and quinoa to make a taco stuffing 😋. Let me know how the soup turns out @abhijung… and thank you for stopping by, I’m glad you liked my recipe.

It's so nice that you send pictures of your cooking creations to your mom, I should start doing that as well. I don't see her that often, and sometimes we can go weeks without talking since we both are quite busy with our lives. It would be a lovely way to connect!

Normally when we make split pea soup in Finland, we don't add potato in it, so next time I'll have to try this version! I mean, who doesn't love potatoes? 😋

I probably send her pictures of my dinner at nauseam :) but it is a good way to make me feel like we’ve connected each day.

Oh @jasmink you have to try potatoes in your Split Pea- potatoes make everything yummy 😋. Thanks for stopping by my friend.

I can imagine my mom answering to me such things as "where's my plate" and "when will you come to cook for me too", haha. Does your mom also send you pictures of her dinners? :)

Haha… yes, I get those responses sometimes :). No, she doesn’t send me her food but she’ll now ask what we are having for dinner… I see that as progress to being interested in a healthier diet. Not that I need her, or anyone else, to eat like me but I’d like to see her partake in the joy of creating food and nourishment for herself. It brings me so much peace and warmth that it would be nice to see cooking healthy do the same for her.

That's just amazing to hear, and I understand exactly what you mean. This is a bit extreme example, but when I met my boyfriend five years ago, he would eat 5 eggs and 300 grams of ground beef for dinner... As the time has passed, he's changed a lot in his diet. Not that I've been pushing him to eat completely vegan or anything, but seeing me cook my meals, he's become a lot more interested in healthy eating, and now he mostly eats well-balanced meals, usually even vegan or vegetarian ones. It feels rewarding to see your loved ones getting more interested in treating their bodies well through nourishment. :)

Yes!!! I love hearing this- it’s so rewarding watching people close to you become interested in treating themselves better through the example of how you treat yourself. The best part is most of the time they don’t even realize they are eating so healthy when I place plates of food in front of them. The most loving and caring thing one can do for themselves is in eating their nourishment. I’m really glad to hear your boyfriend find a more balanced diet suitable to him. We can heal so many ailments through our diet.

Even my neighbors are often beneficiaries of my sweet treat creations. They also know they are all made dairy free, gluten free and refined sugar free. Haha… I love when they find these treats just as delicious as any with all of the above mentioned ingredients. Anyway, I’m rambling… always nice talking with you @jasmink - enjoy your Sunday :)

Ramble as much as you want, I love having these conversations with you! There are so many things I agree with you, but still you make me see things in new light. You're such a genuine and positive person, it's always a pleasure talking with you @puravidaville! :)

Ahhh thank you @jasmink! 🤫🤫🤫 don’t tell anyone but you’re one of my favorite Steemit accounts… thanks for being you.

Congratulations @puravidaville! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks @foodfightfriday ! Highly appreciated :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84