Camas Wildflowers And The Milky Way At Sagehen Meadows - For #killerpix

in #killerpix6 years ago

I recently took a little trip out to Sagehen Meadows to shoot the wildflowers, however I was a bit early for the camas flowers so this photo is from last year. This is an entry for @killerwhale's #killerpix Flower contest.

When I was out at the meadow a few days ago, there were no camas but there was some buttercup wildflowers. While I was there I made a little how-to vlog about photographing flowers at the meadow. That video can be found HERE It was beautiful out there but the camas flowers are my favorite of the two types.

Milky Way Above Sagehen Meadows 3 (1).jpg

This photo was shot at 4:21 am on a Canon 5DSr with a 16-35mm lens set at 16mm. The ISO was 1600, a fairly light sensitive setting. The aperture was f 4.5, an almost wide open aperture that lets in a lot of light. The shutter speed was 30 seconds, long enough to let in a lot of light in order to pick up the Milky Way, but not long enough to get heavy streaking of the stars.

During the long exposure, I used a bright head lamp to light up the camas flowers in the foreground and the trees in the background. A tripod and shutter release cable were used in order to keep the camera as still as possible during the long exposure.

Hopefully I'll get out to the meadow again this year for some more camas flower photos. They should be blooming fairly soon...



Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks @scottshots for this great shot and the link to the contest and thanks to @dynamicgreentk for promoting you.
Best regards
Tom
zanonifooter.gif
resteemed

Glad you like the photo @zanoni! And no problem about the contest link, it's a fun one to participate in. Oh, and thank you for the resteem!

Thank you @dynamicgreentk for sending Tom my way!

OMG This is BEAUTIFUL. 😍
I totally love your work, you are a genius with a camera, but more importantly you have an eye and a mind that can see the potential of a photo before it is taken. 🧐
This photo is amazing I feel like I could just get lost into the magic of this photo and disappear down that Field of Dreams 🤩

Thank you @eventspeaker! Yeah, that's the head lamp technique I talked about at the conference. I appreciate the kind words. If you ever make it out to Tahoe in the spring, let me know and I'll take you to that field of dreams, it's a favorite spot of mine that doesn't get too busy with tourists. Oh, and thank you for the resteem!

We'll definitely take you up on that next time we are out that way. It would be awesome.
An absolute pleasure to resteem you, more people should see your work 😃
I figured it was your magic headlamp technique, but knowing what to do and doing it with such excellence, are not always the same LOL 😂 🤣😂 🤣

I'll have to get some video of the technique next time... That would be super cool to take you out there. Thanks again!

Sounds like a lot of gear to haul out, but it was well worth it. That is a beautiful shot.

Oh man, I only used a little bit of the gear that was in my backpack, haha! But fortunately I wasn't parked too far away from this spot so I didn't have to haul it far this time. Thank you, glad you like the shot!

Another gorgeous shot! I love light painted shots like this, and you do them extremely well.

When shooting stuff like this are you concerned about light leak? aka do you use that little rubber thing on your camera strap to block the viewfinder or does it not really matter? And do you worry about the color temperature of the light itself or do you adjust it in post?
I have many questions as I am jealous you get such perfectly exposed shots and I want to learn how to do it properly :) Thanks!

Thank you @nords!!!

When doing long exposures at night, I don't really worry about light leak. I just make sure not to shine the headlamp directly onto the back of the camera. If a full moon happened to be behind me in a shot like this, I might worry more about light leak but I rarely use the rubber viewfinder cover. I tend to just block bright light from the viewfinder with my body or hat, creating a shadow on the camera.

I pretty much always shoot in RAW with auto white balance, knowing that I will be correcting the color balance when processing the RAW file in Adobe Photoshop's Camera RAW feature. I will sometimes correct the foreground color temperature when it seems off but the headlamp I use has a decent color temp to it and it doesn't usually need too much fixing. I will also sometimes dodge and burn a little if I have certain areas in the foreground that got a little too much light or not enough, in order to balance things out a bit. But usually, I will look at the image on the back of the camera after I shoot it, then adjust where and how long I shine the headlamp in order to get the best looking shot in the field.

Hope that helps a bit @nords, have a great day!

Wow just wow that is a stunning photo!!! Thank you for sharing your skills :)

Thank you @andysantics! Glad you like the photo and the info.

Insane photo mate I love it! The highlights of the flowers seem to shine in the field just as the stars shine in the sky. Well done capturing it too, had to be out there nice and early and you scored a gem for your efforts. Earned yourself a follower from this shot, keep them coming :)

WooHoo! Thank you @harrynewman! Yes, sometimes the early bird does indeed get the worm. I'm glad you like that look with the stars and flowers kind of mirroring each other. Cheers!

Hi again @harrynewman. I quoted your comment in today's post and gave you a little shout out. I hope you don't mind. Check it out here: https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@scottshots/repeating-patterns-of-wildflowers-and-the-milky-way-2-photos Thank you for the post promt!

Hahah I don’t mind the photos in the second post are another great example of what I was describing. It’s a great effect, super eye catching!

Awesome, thank you again!

Hola @scottshots en una sola frase "Maravillosa fotografía" El alcance hacia la estrellas parece que fuera un regalo de Dios. Las flores formaron una hermosa alfombra. Felicitaciones
Buena energía. Éxitos.

¡Gracias! Sí, me encanta la forma en que las flores cubren el prado. ¡Que tengas un gran día!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-08T02:36:00
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 591.13/800.00
Total Photos: 70
Total comments: 27
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=scottshots
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=camas-wildflowers-and-the-milky-way-at-sagehen-meadows-for-killerpix


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25