My Knives - #11 BBQ Set

in #kitchen6 years ago

Hello dear Steemians,

after a sale try, that I will put down as fail, I'm going back to showing you my builds. Apparently, neither I nor you are ready for that kind of transaction.

bbq.jpg
img source

Anywho, this build started out by the books; a client Bob (not his actual name) approached me, saying he would like a knife as a gift for his father. He doesn't know much about handmade knives so he's leaving most of the technical stuff to me, and all he wants is some nice stabilized wood for a handle and, after seeing one of my previous builds, a "crazy pattern" on the blade.

So I've selected a medium size design of a Gyuto and started the build.

The blade


2.jpg
blank cut out
3.jpg
after the HT
4.jpg
scribing the center line befor the grind
5.jpg
rough grind at 60 grit
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg
hand-sanding to 800 grit

The handle


In the meantime, I've ordered a nice block of stabilized and died Karelian Birch and started to think about the handle design.
I've decided to do a "Bowie-like handle" with some sand colour Corian and G10 spacers.
IMG_20180523_164240.jpg
IMG_20180523_164218.jpg
I've stuck a paper stencil on it so I have an idea what to grind off
IMG_20180523_180854.jpg
handle profiled on the grinder and ready for hand-sanding

The "crazy pattern"


For some reason, I don't like etching patterns into blade using acid. I don't know, either I'm not doing it right or something, but they always look kinda artifficial.
So, I've decided to force a pattern using cheap mustard. It's a bit of a work, but the pattern looks much more natural.
IMG_20180529_220048.jpg
IMG_20180529_221745.jpg
IMG_20180529_225952.jpg
11 different overlaping patterns, a tube of mustard and 4 hours later, a nice pattern emerged
IMG_20180530_200308.jpg

I've shown the pic to Bob, and he literaly lost it. I could hear him screaming over the text msgs.

How a knife build became a set build


Anywho, after he stopped screaming, he started opting for a fork.
Now, I haven't done that many forks, and I wasn't sure I could pull off a fork that matches the knife. I didn't even have enough materials to do a matching handle.
Well, after a while, I said to myself - fu*?#$ it - let's do it.

The fork


I went to the trash pile hoping I can find that little piece of Karelian birch I've cut off. I did find it and actually had a few pices of the same Corian.
So, I did a quick sketching on some steel saw and the fork build began.
IMG_20180524_131147.jpg
IMG_20180530_181507.jpg
profiling done on the fork and scales all glued up and cureing
IMG_20180531_133528.jpg
final profile of the fork
IMG_20180531_161523.jpg
IMG_20180601_125119.jpg
IMG_20180601_152547.jpg
fork handle from slapping the sclales on to post buffing

Set done


Sorry for the phone final gallery - I've managed to break my battery charger, so no DSLR pics for a while
IMG_20180602_180355.jpg
IMG_20180602_180412 (1).jpg


Thank you for stopping by, and if you have something on your mind, feel free to drop a comment down below.

P.S. If you would like to buy one of my knives or order something specific drop me a note on Discord - DocSmith #2734
P.S.S. If anyone knows why I'm getting so much blank space at the end of my post,and, more importantly how to fix it, I would appreciate a helping hand (comment)
















































Sort:  

That was a very cool walk through. No way would I have thought to use mustard for a pattern on a blade, though. Not that I would be interested in using acid, either, but at least that I've heard of. Must be something in the mustard that interacts with metal? Which also interacts with something in my stomach? Hmmmm. Do I have to rethink my love for mustard now?

I'm glad the set turned out. You didn't really say if the buyer was happy with the fork, too, but I would hope so, after all the effort.

Also, I'm sorry to hear that the knife sale you were trying to make on here didn't work out. Some day, though. Might take some maturing of the blockchain first, and probably some buyers, too. :)

By the way, I don't know why that happens. I've notice it a few times. Steemit has been been acting weird lately. Last week I think, or maybe the week before, it was turning photos upside or sideways when published. Edited photos worked like normal, though. So, who knows what the deal is.

The thing about simple carbon steel is that it's very active- it reacts to almost anything. And as you use it, it develops a patina that looks awesome. That's one of the reasons why so many chefs love them.
Aside from mustard, you can use horseradish, and I did once, the problem with it is that it's kindof lumpy so it's hard to get them clear lines.

I did forget the fork and Bob's reaction to it :) It wasn't as wild as to knife but that's to be expected because he's seen the knife already so he was expecting something similar. But he was thrilled.

Sale, well I wasn't really expecting much, but it was the first time I actually had a knife that was available so I was thinking why not. Got quite a number of positive reactions which is cool.

Yep, it is acting strange - I couldn't upload a picture at all the other day, it kept giving me some "object error". It's still in beta so a glitch or two is something to be expected.

Mustard and horseradish. Too condiments I really like. Okay, well, now I know. Carbon steel is active, mustard isn't lumpy like horseradish.

Well, good. I'm glad "Bob" was happy with the fork, too. They'll make great gifts for his father.

Steemit is in beta, but when it's a two year old beta in this day and age it wears a little thin. I think there's been work going on under the hood and they've been staving off or recovering from one attack after another, so one of those things is probably more of the culprit, I believe, than a hitch in the programming because it's in beta. But what do I know. I'm blogging, not coding. :)

Interesting a set of beautiful knives I think I would have them in my knives and would be happy to use it on a grill

Thank you Yessica

This knife is amazing! The pattern on the blade is so beautiful! I can't believe you did this with mustard! Incredible! I also love this handle. Such a unique shape! love it!

Thanks, Steve.
Mustard rules ;)
It was the first time I did that kind of a handle - kinda surprised myself with how well it turned out.

Beautiful work @docsmith! I surely learned a lot from your post! The process seems complicated but very interesting! Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

Thanks, yep it is a bit tricky, but it pays off in the end ;)

Hello @docsmith, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks guys - much appreciated :)

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Thank you - much appreciated.

Beautiful set of knives it is great collection

Thank you ;)

hopefully achieved

Congratulations @docsmith! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Mustard... wow. I never thought to do a pattern on a monosteel like that, but it makes sense. Nifty!

One question though: Wouldn't a simple mustard etch result in a pattern that will dilute and get messed up rather quickly over time as other foods interact with the metal and patina it? It's basically "just" a stain so working stains will overwrite it rather quickly, no?

Yep, there's no way it will stay this way if used.
It's is purely decorative, but if the owner doesn't use some kind of abrasive the original pattern will stay on, making a nice foundation for all the new patina that will form.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21