Tactics : Club Racing In The Salish Sea

in #knot6 years ago (edited)

tactics.jpg
CFSA club race in the Salish Sea - Olympic Peninsula in the background

I always admire racers. They are masters of perfection in sail trim and tactics. It is a different kind of sailing when compared to coastal cruising - which is most of what I do. Race boats tend to be light and snappy. They seem to dance on the water with a grace and elegance unsurpassed. For a smooth dance to occur skilled crew is essential. There is also the dynamic of personalities too. The teamwork and trust that happens aboard a boat is a bond born of adventure. There are innumerable challenges and triumphs. On deck you'll find both empowerment, and humility because everyone is literally on the same boat!

tactics2.jpg
A difference in tactics - three boats & two directions of travel

Three captains and two different tactical approaches - There's more than one way to sail a boat! I had the privilege of watching members of the Canadian Forces Sailing Association based out of Esquimalt carry out their club race event while I was out cruising on my own boat. It was definitely humbling to watch their boats dance, while my big ol gal plodded by at a snails pace. Either way - we were all out on the water on a beautiful day enjoying the journey.

tactics3.jpg
Downwinding on the leg home - let the spinnakers fly!

Do any steemians club race on a lake or ocean? Do you have any advice for sail trim?

All content is my own unless otherwise noted.
Thanks for the support steemians!

Sort:  

I enjoy surfing but i have never tried this before. Will try out some day when i have a chance. Thanks for sharing

Looks fabulous Halyes

Thanks Angie!!

Hi @hayles, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Paddling Nature Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Great pics! i think they are J70's ?

That first shot is epic. Love the framing with the mountains.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10