(100%) The Nightingale and the Rose (1)

in #kr5 years ago (edited)

본 글은 지적활동증명(Proof of Brain) 워크시트입니다. 참여를 위해서는 반드시 번역 가이드를 읽으세요.


[1E] ✔︎ “She said that she would dance with me if I brought her red roses,” cried the young Student; “but in all my garden there is no red rose.”

[2E] ✔︎ From her nest in the holm-oak tree the Nightingale heard him, and she looked out through the leaves, and wondered.

[3E] ✔︎ “No red rose in all my garden!” he cried, and his beautiful eyes filled with tears. “Ah, on what little things does happiness depend! I have read all that the wise men have written, and all the secrets of philosophy are mine, yet for want of a red rose is my life made wretched.”

[4E] ✔︎ “Here at last is a true lover,” said the Nightingale. “Night after night have I sung of him, though I knew him not: night after night have I told his story to the stars, and now I see him. His hair is dark as the hyacinth-blossom, and his lips are red as the rose of his desire; but passion has made his face like pale ivory, and sorrow has set her seal upon his brow.”

[5E] ✔︎ “The Prince gives a ball to-morrow night,” murmured the young Student, “and my love will be of the company. If I bring her a red rose she will dance with me till dawn. If I bring her a red rose, I shall hold her in my arms, and she will lean her head upon my shoulder, and her hand will be clasped in mine. But there is no red rose in my garden, so I shall sit lonely, and she will pass me by. She will have no heed of me, and my heart will break.”

[6E] ✔︎ “Here indeed is the true lover,” said the Nightingale. “What I sing of, he suffers: what is joy to me, to him is pain. Surely Love is a wonderful thing. It is more precious than emeralds, and dearer than fine opals. Pearls and pomegranates cannot buy it, nor is it set forth in the market-place. It may not be purchased of the merchants, nor can it be weighed out in the balance for gold.”

[7E] ✔︎ “The musicians will sit in their gallery,” said the young Student, “and play upon their stringed instruments, and my love will dance to the sound of the harp and the violin. She will dance so lightly that her feet will not touch the floor, and the courtiers in their gay dresses will throng round her. But with me she will not dance, for I have no red rose to give her;” and he flung himself down on the grass, and buried his face in his hands, and wept.

[8E] ✔︎ “Why is he weeping?” asked a little Green Lizard, as he ran past him with his tail in the air.

[9E] ✔︎ “Why, indeed?” said a Butterfly, who was fluttering about after a sunbeam.

[10E] ✔︎ “Why, indeed?” whispered a Daisy to his neighbour, in a soft, low voice.

[11E] ✔︎ “He is weeping for a red rose,” said the Nightingale.

[12E] ✔︎ “For a red rose!” they cried; “how very ridiculous!” and the little Lizard, who was something of a cynic, laughed outright.

[13E] ✔︎ But the Nightingale understood the secret of the Student’s sorrow, and she sat silent in the oak-tree, and thought about the mystery of Love.

[14E] ✔︎ Suddenly she spread her brown wings for flight, and soared into the air. She passed through the grove like a shadow, and like a shadow she sailed across the garden.

[15E] ✔︎ In the centre of the grass-plot was standing a beautiful Rose-tree, and when she saw it, she flew over to it, and lit upon a spray.

[16E] ✔︎ “Give me a red rose,” she cried, “and I will sing you my sweetest song.”

[17E] ✔︎ But the Tree shook its head.

[18E] ✔︎ “My roses are white,” it answered; “as white as the foam of the sea, and whiter than the snow upon the mountain. But go to my brother who grows round the old sun-dial, and perhaps he will give you what you want.”

[19E] ✔︎ So the Nightingale flew over to the Rose-tree that was growing round the old sun-dial.

[20E] ✔︎ “Give me a red rose,” she cried, “and I will sing you my sweetest song.”

[21E] ✔︎ But the Tree shook its head.

[22E] ✔︎ “My roses are yellow,” it answered; “as yellow as the hair of the mermaiden who sits upon an amber throne, and yellower than the daffodil that blooms in the meadow before the mower comes with his scythe. But go to my brother who grows beneath the Student’s window, and perhaps he will give you what you want.”

[23E] ✔︎ So the Nightingale flew over to the Rose-tree that was growing beneath the Student’s window.

[24E] ✔︎ “Give me a red rose,” she cried, “and I will sing you my sweetest song.”

[25E] ✔︎ But the Tree shook its head.

[26E] ✔︎ “My roses are red,” it answered, “as red as the feet of the dove, and redder than the great fans of coral that wave and wave in the ocean-cavern. But the winter has chilled my veins, and the frost has nipped my buds, and the storm has broken my branches, and I shall have no roses at all this year.”

[27E] ✔︎ “One red rose is all I want,” cried the Nightingale, “only one red rose! Is there no way by which I can get it?”

[28E] ✔︎ “There is a way,” answered the Tree; “but it is so terrible that I dare not tell it to you.”

[29E] ✔︎ “Tell it to me,” said the Nightingale, “I am not afraid.”

[30E] ✔︎ “If you want a red rose,” said the Tree, “you must build it out of music by moonlight, and stain it with your own heart’s-blood. You must sing to me with your breast against a thorn. All night long you must sing to me, and the thorn must pierce your heart, and your life-blood must flow into my veins, and become mine.”

[31E] ✔︎ “Death is a great price to pay for a red rose,” cried the Nightingale, “and Life is very dear to all. It is pleasant to sit in the green wood, and to watch the Sun in his chariot of gold, and the Moon in her chariot of pearl. Sweet is the scent of the hawthorn, and sweet are the bluebells that hide in the valley, and the heather that blows on the hill. Yet Love is better than Life, and what is the heart of a bird compared to the heart of a man?”

Sort:  

[5E] “왕자는 내일 밤 무도회를 열거야.” 그 청년은 중얼거렸다. “그러면 내가 사랑하는 그녀도 그 모임에 가겠지. 빨간 장미를 그녀에게 주면 그녀는 새벽이 될 때까지 나와 함께 춤을 추겠지. 빨간 장미를 그녀에게 주면 나는 그녀를 내품에 안을 수 있겠지. 그리고 그녀는 작은 그녀의 머리를 내 어깨에 기대겠지. 그리고 그녀의 손은 내손에 잡혀 있을거야. 그런데 우리 정원에는 빨간 장미가 없네. 그래서 나는 혼자 앉아있겠지. 그녀는 그냥 내 옆을 스쳐 지나갈꺼야. 그녀는 내게 관심도 없을거야. 그리고 내 심장은 찢어지겠지.”

"The Prince"는 그냥 왕자입니다. 처음 등장한 인물에게 "그"는 불필요합니다. "우리 정원"은 부적절합니다.

어린-젊은으로 일괄 수정합니다.

어린 학생보다는 나은 선택으로 생각합니다. 고맙습니다.

[7E] “악사들은 연주석에 앉겠지.” 청년은 말했다. “그리고 그들이 갖고 온 현악기를 연주하겠지. 내 사랑은 하프와 바이올린 소리에 맞춰 춤을 출거고. 그녀는 발이 바닥에서 떠있는 듯 경쾌하게, 그리고 궁전사람들은 하늘하늘한 옷을 입고 그녀의 주위를 둘러쌀거야. 하지만 그녀는 나와 함께 춤을 추려고 하지는 않을거야. 내겐 그녀에게 줄 빨간장미가 없으니까.” 그리고 그는 풀밭에 털석 주저앉아 손으로 얼굴을 감싸고 울었다.

[4E] “마침내 진정한 사랑이 나타났어.” 나이팅게일은 말했다. “밤이면 밤마다 나는 사랑하는 남자를 위한 노래를 불렀어. 그 남자가 누구인지는 몰랐지만. 밤이면 밤마다 그 남자의 이야기를 별들에게 들려주었어. 그리고 이제 그남자를 만났지. 그 남자의 머리칼은 활짝 핀 히아신스 꽃처럼 짙고, 그 남자의 입술은 그 남자가 찾고 있는 장미만큼이나 붉어. 하지만 사랑이 그의 얼굴을 창백한 상아처럼 만들고, 슬픔은 그 남자의 눈썹에 그녀의 잔상을 찍어버렸어.”

여기서 "brow"는 문맥상 이마로 보입니다. 그리고 "잔상"은 어울리지 않아 보입니다. 번역시 "make", "have" 등은 어지간해서는 만들다, 갖다 등으로 번역하기 보다 다른 자연스러운 표현을 고민해야 합니다. 예) 열정으로 그의 얼굴은 상아처럼 창백했고, ...

[6E] “실로 진짜 사랑이 여기있어.” 나이팅게일은 말했다. “나의 노래 때문에 그는 괴로워하고 있어. 내 기쁨의 노래가 그 남자에겐 고통이라니. 정말 사랑이란 대단한 거야. 사랑은 에메랄드보다 귀하고, 멋진 오팔(opals)보다도 소중해. 사랑은 진주나 석류로도 살 수 없고, 시장에서 파는 것도 아니야. 사랑은 상인들에게서 살 수도 없고, 금으로 가격을 정할 수도 없을거야.”

[31E] 나이팅게일은 소리쳤다. “빨간 장미 한 송이를 얻기 위해 죽음이라는 비싼 대가를 치뤄야 하는군. 목숨은 누구에게나 소중하긴 하지. 푸른 숲에 앉아 있는 일, 황금 전차를 타고 있는 햇님을 보는 일, 진주 전차를 타고 있는 달님을 보는 일은 즐거워. 산사나무 향기는 달콤하고 계곡에 숨어있는 초롱꽃도, 언덕에서 불어오는 히스꽃 향기도 달콤하지. 하지만 사랑이 생명보다 소중해. 게다가 사람의 심장에 비하면 그깟 새 심장 하나쯤이 대수겠어?”

[31E] “빨간장미 한송이를 사기 위해 죽음으로 값을 지불해야 하다니.” 나이팅게일은 소리쳤다. “삶은 모두에게 소중한 거야. 살아서 푸른 숲에 앉아 있는 것은 기쁜 일이야. 황금마차를 타고 있는 햇님을 보는 것도 기쁜 일이지. 진주마차를 타고 있는 달님을 보는 것도 기쁜 일이야. 산사나무의 향기는 달콤해. 계곡에 숨어있는 블루벨꽃의 향기도 달콤해. 언덕에서 불어오는 헤더꽃의 향기도 달콤해. 삶은 그렇게 소중하지만 사랑은 그보다 소중해. 무엇보다 작은 새의 심장 하나를 사람의 큰 사랑에 비할 수 있을까?”

[-]soosoo (66) · 6분 전
https://band.us/band/61473595/post/60436 산사나무의 3종 / 블루벨, 해어벨 Bluebell, Harebell, Hyacinth등의 이름이 있는, 역시 종류가 많은 보라색 꽃이네요. 히아신스는 4번에도 나오는 꽃이죠. 여기서는 블루벨이란 다른 이름으로 되어있기 때문에 그대로 블루벨로 번역합니다. http://blog.daum.net/dawnchorus/5718561 여기서는 블루벨과 해어벨이 어떻게 다른지 설명하고 있고 블루벨이 Spanish, Hybrid, English의 차이점을 쓰고 있습니다. / 마지막 문단은 heart를 나이팅게일의 '심장'과 젊은 학생의 '사랑'으로 다른 표현으로 쓴 것 같습니다. 이에따라 심장과 사랑으로 따로 번역했습니다.

[5E] 청년은 중얼거렸다. “왕자는 내일 밤 무도회를 열거야. 그러면 나의 사랑하는 그녀도 오겠지. 빨간 장미 한 송이를 가져다주면 그녀는 새벽이 될 때까지 나와 춤을 출텐데. 빨간 장미 한 송이를 가져다주면 그녀를 내품에 안을 수 있을텐데. 그녀는 머리를 내 어깨에 기대고 내 손을 꼭 쥐겠지. 그런데 내 정원에는 빨간 장미가 없어. 결국 난 혼자 앉아 있을 거고 그녀는 내 곁을 스쳐 지나가겠지. 내게 아무런 눈길도 주지 않을 거고 내 심장은 찢어지겠지.”

[3E] “우리 정원 어디에도 빨간 장미는 없어!” 그는 울먹였다. 그의 아름다운 눈에는 눈물이 가득 고였다. “아, 행복이란 얼마나 사소한 것에 달린 것인가! 난 현자들의 책을 모두 읽었고, 모든 철학의 비밀도 알고 있는데, 빨간 장미 한 송이가 없어서 내 인생이 이렇게 비참해지다니.”

붉은은 빨간으로 통일했습니다. '붉은'이 더 적절하면 모두 찾아서 일괄수정을 권장합니다.

"우리 정원 어디에도" 가 아니라 "나의 정원 어디에도" 입니다.

여기서 all 은 "모두" 보다는 "온갖"이 적절해 보입니다. 학생이 "모든" 책이나 "모든" 비밀을 벌써 알리가 없고, 소설 말미에 다시 공부하는 모습을 고려하면 그렇습니다.

[7E] 청년은 말했다. “악사들이 연주석에 앉아 현악기를 연주하겠지. 나의 사랑하는 그녀는 하프와 바이올린에 맞춰 춤을 출거야. 어찌나 가볍게 추는지 발은 바닥에 닫지도 않을 거고 화려한 옷을 입은 궁전 사람들이 그녀의 주위로 몰려와 둘러싸겠지. 하지만 그녀는 나와 함께 춤을 추려고 하지 않을거야. 내겐 그녀에게 줄 빨간 장미가 없으니까.” 그리고 그는 풀밭에 털석 주저앉아 손으로 얼굴을 감싸고 울었다.

[4E] 나이팅게일은 말했다. “마침내 진정한 연인이 나타났구나. 밤이면 밤마다 나는 진정한 연인을 위한 노래를 불렀지. 그가 누구인지도 모르고. 밤이면 밤마다 진정한 연인의 이야기를 별들에게 들려주었는데 이제 그를 만나게 되었어. 청년의 머리칼은 히아신스 꽃처럼 짙고, 입술은 찾고 있는 장미만큼이나 붉어. 하지만 열정때문에 창백한 얼굴은 상아같고, 슬픔에 이마는 주름졌네.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94