Korean words with translation

in #kr5 years ago (edited)

Hello, guys, I am back after 11 months break. In these 11 months, many things are changed for example I take an admission university for my further studies. I also start seeing Korean dramas and become a fan of Korea.
Now as I am also a K-drama fan! We know how fun it is to be able to watch Korean dramas and understand what’s going on without subtitles, so I am going to help make that happen.

I am going to cover some of the most common Korean phrases that are used in dramas.I’ll give you the phrase and the meanings every day. If the phrase has multiple parts, I’ll break them down for you. Then, as you watch your favourite Korean dramas, you’ll start to notice these phrases appear. If you keep doing this, soon you’ll be watching dramas without subtitles!

Every day I will post three words, by which we all can understand.

If you can’t read the Korean Alphabet yet (highly recommended!), there’s a free guide below that will teach you in about one hour.

Let’s get to it, shall we?

1. 장난해 – Are you kidding me?

Pronunciation in Korean: jangnanhae

This expression could be a statement or a sarcastic question. This is often used among friends of the same age or to someone younger. This means ‘are you kidding or ‘are you kidding me?’ In Korean dramas, you’ll never hear this being said to someone older or someone holding a higher position than the speaker unless the person means to be rude.

2. 혹시 – By any chance

Pronunciation in Korean: hoksi

This word is used at the beginning of a statement or a question where a person is having doubts about a particular thing. The word 혹시 means ‘by any chance’ or ‘maybe.’

3. 콜 – Call/Deal

Pronunciation in Korean: kol

This is an expression Koreans consider as Konglish. This means ‘call’ or ‘deal’ and is used when you are up for the challenge or when you are agreeing on something.

dba9bc3d-16f8-46f6-bc9a-a7ca0596fc04.jpg
source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29