Krispy Kreme - Krispy Skremes!

in #krispykreme6 years ago

Happy Halloween Steemit!

Today for you I have some delicious halloween Krispy Kreme donuts! It’s been a while since I last wrote a post on donuts. I’ve really missed them! I hope you enjoy reading this spooktacular post as much as I enjoyed devouring these scary treats!

Krispy Skremes

There are four donuts to choose from out of the halloween edition. We have Monster Mummy, Creepy Cobweb, Evil Eyeball and Spooky Sprinkles.

Monster Mummy

A donut wrapped in green icing with white iced bandages and is filled with brownie batter

I love the look of this monster donut. It definitely looks mummified. I don’t know why, but I do find this donut looks more cute than scary. I’m looking forward to tuck in.

This donut looks like a monster and feels like a monster. It’s quite weighty. Must mean there is lots of filling!! There is a decent amount of brownie batter in this one. It tastes really chocolatey and has a bitter after taste. The icing goes well with the brownie batter as the sweetness cuts through the bitterness. There is a good amount of icing on this one too. The icing doesn’t have any flavour. Just tastes like plain icing. It’s a good thing though as I don’t think you would want too much going on what with the strong taste of the brownie batter.

Creepy Cobweb

Filled with Kreme and dipped in chocolate icing with an iced orange web and topped off with a spider

Another filled donut here. Now I thought the Monster Mummy was cute, this one is even cuter! I love the little black spider sat in its web.

Yep, this donut has a good feel to it too. The chocolate icing is very smooth and the orange web is nice and tidy. The web again, is a plain flavoured icing. The chocolate icing is nice. It tastes the same as the one you get on top of a Chocolate Custard. The filling is Krispy Kremes Signature Kreme. Light and fluffy and works well with the whole donut. There is a very good amount of filling in this one. There is nothing worse than opening up a donut only to find ’naff all’ in it. The spider is thick black icing, almost like a fondant icing. Yum! He was delicious!

Evil Eyeball

Original glazed donut topped with white icing and decorated with red iced veins and a coloured eye

This donut does look like a massive eyeball. I had 3 colours to choose from… red, pink or green. I do love an Original Glazed donut, so let’s see if this one is as eye-poppingly good.

A very delicious donut. The white icing gives good coverage on this original glazed. The red veins taste of raspberry. I wasn’t expecting the raspberry flavour, I’m glad it had it though or this donut probably would have ended up being too sweet. The donut itself is fluffy and airy. The thin fondant eye in the middle did slip into the hole. Would have looked a lot nicer if it had stayed put. Nevertheless I have to say this one was better than expected.

Spooky Sprinkles

Original glazed donut, dipped in chocolate icing and topped with spooky sprinkles

Hmm, I have seen better donuts. I get the fact it has green, yellow and brown sprinkles to give it the Halloween feel, but this one doesn’t sing to me. I feel like it was a bit of an afterthought. Maybe it tastes better than it looks.

Ok, not too bad. It has the same chocolate icing as the Creepy Cobweb. The sprinkles are just 100’s and 1000’s. They are pretty crunchy. It is a nice donut. You still get that Original Glazed flavour and there is just enough chocolate icing. I don’t think you would want the icing to be thick as it would definitely be too sweet. What with that and the sprinkles, you’re bound to be bouncing off the walls! Still a nice donut and definitely a lot better than expected.

Overall

I have to say my favourite was definitely the Creepy Cobweb. The way it looked, tasted and looked very much the part of halloween. A close second was the Evil Eyeball. You can’t beat an Original Glazed but this one did have something about it, especially with the raspberry veins and it wasn’t too sickly.

I hope you enjoyed my review of the Krispy Skremes! I would definitely recommend to go out and get some

If you liked this, why not read my other reviews on the delicious Krispy Kreme donuts!

Krispy Kreme - My Choices
Krispy Kreme - Superstar Collection
Krispy Kreme - American Daydream
Krispy Kreme - Exclusive to Selfridges London - Part 2
Krispy Kreme - Exclusive to Selfridges London - Part 1

Sort:  

Congratulations @platinum-blue! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @platinum-blue, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 875 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4574.39. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77