A Frozen Lake Tahoe Tree For The #frozenphotocontest

Woohoo! @claudiaz is back at it with more photo contests too! This "frozen" photo is an entry for the latest contest. The frozen photo contest info post can be found HERE

This was one cool morning. Seriously, it was COLD out there. My good friend Tony and I decided to wake up super early to shoot the icy Lake Tahoe shoreline from my kayak, near Sand Harbor. We saw this awesome looking icicle covered tree and hopped off the kayak for some better, closer photos. The windy storm the night before had kicked up a lot of waves that splashed water all over the boulders and trees on the shoreline. It appeared that it was cold enough that the water immediately froze on everything it landed on. The ground and boulders we had to walk on were super slippery but it was worth it.

click to view large
_N2J5623.jpg

This was shot with a Canon 1DS Mark III and a 24-105mm lens set at 50mm. I usually prefer to use a tripod when shooting landscapes but since there were two of us on the tandem kayak and I wasn't originally planning on getting off the kayak, the tripod was left in the car and this was shot handheld. The shutter speed was 1/200 second, a fairly fast shutter speed so I could get everything tack sharp. The aperture was f10, a mid-range aperture that had enough depth of field to keep the background fairly sharp. And this led to an ISO of 125. A flash was used to light up the tree and ice more. The RAW image was edited in Adobe Photoshop's Camera RAW feature where the shadow and highlights were adjusted, the color was balanced, and the saturation was increased a touch.

As we were paddling on the lake, each drop of water that fell off the paddles and landed on our legs froze instantly. It made for an interesting photography experience and Tony and I were laughing about it. Fortunately, we were both dressed appropriately for the occasion with snow pants so it wasn't a big deal. Here are a couple "selfie" photos from the shoot. These are my ice covered pants and more ice on a boulder:

411720_10150637118905629_2104983908_o.jpg

Here's a little photo of me that Tony shot:

425315_253426791406114_1788743408_n.jpg

I just noticed I wasn't wearing gloves. Brrr! What was I thinking? These days I have a nice pair of neoprene gloves for kayaking in the winter and I'm sure I'd wear those gloves in these conditions now...



Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg


Click to view my Dynamic Steemians Discord channel. Feel free to ask me photo related questions there:

Sort:  

really awesome photos and looks even colder than where I went! thanks for entry into the contest.

Haha! It was cold indeed. No problem, happy to enter!

That tree is super cool ! Love that sort of weather where the frost just builds up.

Super cold too! ;) Yup, it's a great time of year if you dress appropriately. Cheers!

Wow, awesome pictures scott! And a great read as well, thanks for sharing the camera settings with us laymen, right down to what you did in edit!
I have voted, promoted, resteemed and followed!
Keep up the great work, I look forward to seeing more of your photography, and learning more...

Thank you @freewheeler!!! I truly appreciate it and I'm glad you liked the info. Many more photos to come...

How is this post not generating you 100s of $s?

Your comment is worth 100s to me haha! And it did make a few bucks... Thank you and have a great day!

That's what I said too when I saw it!

Yeah I bet!! Awesome, awesome find!!

Holy hell Scott no gloves you would have been freezing! Sick photos though, worth the sub zero temps haha

Haha! Yeah, there's a reason I ended up buying the neoprene gloves... Thank you!

What a cool tree! Never seen one frozen like that before 👍🏻

Pretty wild looking right!? It was quite the sight to see in person.

It looks like a tropic ice word

The picture of the scenes shows a beautiful view of photography. The picture that can be painted with color of human imagination seems to be more natural. The painting is no longer in color and color. Photography is also limited to camera frames. Like technology and rich imagination of human imagination.

I'd say thank you but you copy and pasted that as your last four comments. Careful, that will get you a downvote by some people. Cheers!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-07T00:02:42
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 669.13/800.00
Total Photos: 82
Total comments: 27
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has received a 2.58 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @scottshots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31