Over/Under Photo Vs. Regular Above Water Shot (2 new photos compared)

Here are a couple more photos from my recent kayak photo adventure. While out there, I shot some photos of the same "mini bonsai rock" both with and without an underwater housing. The housing allowed me to get some fun over/under shots of the boulder, but the photo above the water, without the housing looks great too. I can't decide which one I like better...

The subject matter is sharp, in focus on both shots so the additional glass of the underwater housing did not affect that part of the image quality. However, if you look closely, you can see some water drops on the over/under shot that affected the sharpness of the boulder in a couple spots. The over/under shot is a bit more unique and challenging, but Lake Tahoe's water is so clear, the regular shot shows a very similar look.

Photography is a very subjective form of art. Please help me out... Which of the two photos do you like best?



click images to view large
_Q1A7676.jpg #1 Over/Under Shot

_Q1A7557.jpg#2 Regular Above the Water Shot



Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg


Click to view my Dynamic Steemians Discord channel. Feel free to ask me photo related questions there:

Sort:  

I prefer the overwater shot but I like both of them for different reasons. I think Overwater gives a better, more natural looking photo. I like that you can see a bit more of the hills in the background and more of the tree/shrub thats growing on or behind the rock.
The underwater shot would be cool if there was something under the water to show like fish or other cool flora/fauna and you do get some interesting background shots of that rock with the red in it and the snow capped hill/mountain on the left you couldn't see with the overwater shot.
In both shots I just have to say how AMAZING the blue sky looks. It really contrasts with the brown and green of the water below it and it pops out at you. I'm in Washington state so its fairly rare that its as blue sky as I'm seeing so maybe thats why I'm excited over it. I'd show a picture of my sky but it would look like I just took a photo of some drywall.

Haha! I understand the sky looking like drywall as I lived in Humboldt, CA for a while and it was almost always overcast there too. That's one of the great things about Tahoe, even though we get some extreme weather and snow storms, we usually have a nice blue sky most of the year.
Thank you for the great feedback on the photos! I appreciate hearing your reasons why you like them. Cheers!

Beautiful photos. They are very cool. I kinda like the one with the reflection on top of the water in the first one best :)

Thank you @simgirl! I'm glad some people like that one best as it is a trickier shot to take.

I love these!! Especially that tinsy little tree on top of the rock!

Cool, glad you love them @ogc! It is a pretty cute little tree. Hey, did you see the @ogc shout out in my last vid? I talk about photographer's fashion for a bit, haha!

I like the first one the best. My eye sees it all at once but in the second one, altho amazing, my eye isn't drawn to one thing but many. Make sense?

Makes total sense. Thank you, I appreciate the feed back!

On another note - you wrote a post (at least I think it was you) a while ago about shooting landscape while in a moving car. I can't find it and I tired it out and would like to give you credit for the suggestion. If you could give me the link, I'll include it in my post - thanks :)

I remember that post. It wasn't me though, it was @jarvie: https://steemit.com/phototips/@jarvie/how-to-driveby-shoot
Cheers!

Oh thank you so much @scottshots!!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

I would say the regular one. I think that the over - under one does not justify the extra fuss to take the shot.

Right @fotostef!? It is a lot of extra work and it wasn't too different looking. Thank you for your input!

I like the regular shot best

You're welcome :D

You got a 100.00% upvote from @steemcreators courtesy of @scottshots!

Steemcreators is a collaborative group of influential Steemians leveraging their expertise and resources to create a better platform for all. 75% of all revenue from this bot goes to those that have delegated their hard-earned Steempower to our cause. The rest of the revenue goes to fund new events, projects and development around the globe involving the Steem blockchain to continue revolutionize the way the world uses social media and cryptocurrency (minus a small management fee to run/update this service).

For more information or to get involved with Steemcreators contact Jacob Billett @entrepreneur916 or IJ Maha @steemcafe.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-09T18:47:51
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 682.13/800.00
Total Photos: 84
Total comments: 27
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88