Rocky Mountain Camping - the photo essaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)


Recently I had the great pleasure of going camping with the Rocky Mountain Steemians. Just eight people showed up, but there are memories galore from that trip to last a while. You can check out some of the posts from other campers!


@sunravelme - Rocky Mountain Steemit Camping Roles

@rebele93 - STEEMIT Camping trip with my Colorado Crew

@intuitivejakob - Dog Hero of my Weekend!


We went to a small park in the White River National Forest above Siverthorne. I chuckled when I wrote forest, because while there were plenty of trees (and snow!) to be seen in the mountains, there was not one in our campsite. Lesson of modern camping. Don't wait til last minute to make your reservations - especially on a holiday weekend.


Some of my favorite recollections from the trip:

~ color-blind guys setting up their complex brand new color coded tents in the dark by flashlight, with vague directions and too many poles.


how do you say, "your tent has been drinking again" in spanish?

~ freezing my ass off the first night on my saggy air mattress because I let my feet get too cold. I revisited the charlie horses of my youth.


the compound with canopy

~ birch benders pancakes the next morning.


cooking perfection..

We all brought wayyy too much food.


the beer cooler

~ @intuitivejakob's morning face as he brushed his teeth...


gangsta life

@rebele93 never sitting still.... unlike some others.


steemians on holiday

@sunravelme always smiling...


canopy life

~ @rebele93 lending me his awesome camera lenses!!!


i still want to try the macro..

I would have possibly been bored otherwise, as the lake was too cold to swim in, there were not many trees to admire, and no one seemed horribly motivated to do anything.


hangin out wif mah fuzzy friend

One day I hope to pin @rebele93 down so i can feast on his brain for photo know how.


i thought i was getting a good photo. those fluttery motheras are fast

~ exploring the flowers, rocks, driftwood and tide pools by the lake.


@twenty23three, @sunravelme and charlie at the lake

what seems to be an barren shoreline can often be teeming with life if you look...


plant life

~ coming back to find that @intuitivejakob tried to play dorothy in 'the wizard of oz', with jolie as toto.


shopping for the red shoes

the afternoon wind gusts had nearly kited the dining canopy and tarp, resulting in snapped poles and a deeper appreciation for the forces of nature.


post canopy life...

95 percent of the campers brought RVs larger than my apartment. we were in the 5 percent who had tents. people stared as they drove past.

~ learning how funny RV names sound when you put the word "anal" in front of them


look at all the pretty clouds!

~ relearning that cooking over a fire is a lost skill that takes hours to do properly.


fajitas are awesome!

~ documenting how to make peach cobbler in a dutch oven over the fire.


peaches, cake mix, butter..

I've been trying this at home. without the fire.


peach cobbler... nomnomnom

~ trying to build a fire in a metal pit filled with what seemed like a years debris.


prepping the cook fire

I spent the next morning emptying it out, about two dozen buckets worth of ash, broken glass, bottle caps and coal.


cooking in the dutch oven

~ remembering what blisters and bad knees feel like, but being too stupid and or lazy to change into proper shoes or put on sunscreen before going for a hike.


forest first aid, tree forts and hanging hammocks

~ finding out how trees look upside down...


change your perspective

~ water is a precious commodity. don't waste it


gratuitous scenic photo

~wishing i could stay forever, but finding out I've been spoiled by technology, hot showers and warm beds.


snow in May

I'm glad to be home. Let's do it again! but next time, trees ... !!!

all photos taken and edited by torico

Sort:  

Great post @torico. We had so much fun. Thanks for sharing your Memorial Day with us. I'm happy to offer photography instructions whenever you would like.

We went home and unpacked, only to realize that I still had enough supplies to make more cobbler, so we made one in the oven also. (Blueberry this time instead of peach)

For anyone who has never tried cobbler, you are missing out. It's so easy to make, and is absolutely delicious.

I wholeheartedly agree that we need to go again, but somewhere with trees this time.

Cheers, @rebele93

My four favorite things; nature, food, puppies and beer. Felt a surge of joy when I saw those mountains and then that cooler...hehe. Thank you for sharing; this is my favorite kind of post. Lots of photos of great living:)

perhaps a song?

This post has been featured in the @offgrid-online Weekly Curation. Thank you for sharing your camping experience :)

thanks for the mention! I appreciate being included with such worthy posts!

That first picture hooked me right in, I haven't seen a place like that in a long time! Great scenery!
It looks like you had a good camping weekend and some good people to share it with.

next time im bringing a proper tent. i'm too old to crawl into something i cant turn around in..

I certainly understand that! I share that problem these days...

Looks like a fun camping trip - nice to get away from the regular routine and spend some quality time with friends.

it was a time :)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by torico from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

~ learning how funny RV names sound when you put the word "anal" in front of them - Hahahahaha this is great. So true when you think about it.

Great idea, looks like a blast. I've camped the Rockies and loved it. I hike and camp in New Hampshire now, but hope as I grow on Steemit I can find some NH hikers and do something similar. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86