ARGHHHHH, Schwiitsertuutsch!!

in #language6 years ago

My goodness this week was one that pulled my energy.

Because apart from having a new environment, a new workplace and new colleagues I also have an extra difficulty stepping in and draining me. Everybody knows that new countries bring new languages, but this is a very special one!

The Swiss langage

Yessss, everybody who has ever been here, or knows somebody from Switzerland will be familiar with this phenomenon


ETHZ

As you see, all sorts of ways you can be greeted in in Switzerland





And that is where it starts. Every region has there own language


Wikipedia

Switzerland has 4 basic languages, SwissGermen, French, Italian, and Romanisch. Remember that I went to Berlin for a couple of weeks to improve my German skills? Well, it sometimes feels totally useless. Sometimes,....let me rephrase..it feels totally useless!! I knew this from start. And I went to this language school to express myself better, which does work really well. I can communicate fine with people, but it is a problem when they communicate back ;)

And what about English you say?? Also totally useless!





Schwiitsertuutsch it is!!

And I really have to get used to it. I like the singy sound to it, but I really am trouble recognizing stuff that I know. So I am working hard on it! But more than once a minute I am damn confused.


Pixabay, RobinHiggings

Check out this funny video about differences between German speech and Swissgerman

And a next once that shows the differences damn well





What have I gotten myself into!!!!

Yeah, sometimes I wonder that as well, but it is as always a beautiful adventure! Learning stuff is nice, it keeps the brain young. One thing I do know for sure:

Sleeping wont give me any issues the next couples of weeks ;))






Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase


Sort:  

😂😂😂😂😂😂

There goes my well trained effort :D

I think that is normal because we do not speak in our mother language and you are at the country which has different dialect, accent even language at each region. That'll make us confused for minutes, but that is wonderful that you can speak German. Even here in my country exactly east Java, sometimes I confused because there are many local languages and dialects. That is the beauty of language, it also make us learn a new culture.

Exactly.. Also in Holland we have totally different accents but a whole different language is really new for me. It will take time but will be all fine in the end!

Switzerland is the country with the most interesting languages I'd say!

Super interesting but also totally different :)

You just arrived you’ll get there

For sure I will!! Totally not worried on it, just needs some time to get it rolling :)

Does it make you feel any better that my eyes glazed over as they were talking?!? 🤣
Totally understand why you were like 🤯🤯🤯

Hahahahah, it is really something else right! :D

It will be fine in the end, but totally breaking my head here and there over the simpelest things every now and then

So I am working hard on it! But more than once a minute I am damn confused.

i was literally on the same position when i started to hear the discord radios of the steemit communities hahaha but as i got better at it, you will too!! we tend to adapt fast

Yes its true. I am not worried about not making it, because I will for sure. It just needs time and effort and then in the end it will work out and then I will speak like this as well hehehehe

That's absolutely me when I hear someone speaking Korean with a dialect...

hahah I believe ya! Korean would also seem super difficult to me.

But do you speak Korean then??

When I see it written it already looks so confusing!

Well I'm learning... so when I hear a different dialect my brain shuts down XD

Isn't that cool, learning multiple languages in one country :P

Yeah dude, if I master all the languages here in the country then you can officially call me multilingual hahaha

Wow.. I had no idea until I pressed play on the videos haha! I admire anyone who is multi-lingual, it's such a challenge to me personally. You got this Karin! 👍

Working on it dude!

Hahaha, yeah the videos tell the real story on how different everything is, that is so cool.

I consider myself quite good in understanding multiple languages but this is a next level challenge. Work in process!

One of my big missions in life is to learn the correct tone and flow of my birth mother's language. Thai is such a musical conversation compared to mono-toned English.. the struggle is real lol 😫

It can be a bear to learn a new language. My problem is even now when I am tired I will mix them up! But it does become second nature after a while. The tendancy is always to be stronger in your first language.

Hahahha, this sounds so familiar. Indeed, when I am tired or when I just wake up I really have some issues blending all of the right words into the right country

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69