Some reasons why I am in Canada

in #language5 years ago (edited)

Hi from Toronto Dear Steemit community,

Today I am not talking about any museum, any park, any part of the city, building etc. The topic in this post would be different not a specific destination but one of the reasons why I am here in Toronto.
To combine English language, working also on translations, and obviously visit as much as possible North America.

To learn to this language required hard works, time and fortunately travel but I am still not happy with that. Yes, we never stopped to learn. But why here if I lived already two years in Australia? Of course simple-minded answer: because North America is not Australia. What do I mean?

Let's go deeply through the topic and focus on the language. Many Stemmians are English native speakers here and they travelled much more than me. I am sure they know what I mean when I simply say: the English spoken in Canada is not exactly the same spoken in Australia or in India, or in Ireland or in Britain or any other English countries. It is a global language, of course (everybody knows about that). "There is some difference but still the same language". ( This is a short part of a conversation occurred between me an English teacher here in Toronto).

The standardised one is the same I agree. Well, what I mean for standardised one? A codified form of a language accepted by and serving as a model to a larger speech community. I would say also neutral speech.

In other words, a standard form which standard form of a language is that dialect which is most often associated with specific groups (usually educated people or people having high status and authority within the society). The power of a standard variety derives from historical accident and convention.

Different cultures with different spoken form of a language are not uniform entities but may vary according to (respectively) the area any people have his origin. Language varies systematically is one of the central concerns of sociolinguistics. According to the context time an individual.

Toronto like probably the rest of Canada (which I have not visited yet) and Australia are just some an example of this theory which is not mine but from who more than me studied Sociolinguistics. A subject which I discovered through my studies at my university. One of the reasons why I am here

Sociolinguistics is nothing but a combination of sociology and linguistics. Sociology which basically studies the society in terms of class, ethnicity or regional or economic characteristics and linguistics. The “community” intended as shared knowledge, possession and behaviours. Linguistics draw attention to another dimension of social organization by using the term speech community That language practices may be equally diagnostic of the social coherence of a group and maybe a more natural boundary for sociolinguistic study than, say geographical cohesion alone.

My learning experience from my studies of this language and living in English countries is not only from the theory to the practice but consists of have different ears and have different eyes.

I should share this story occurred in my hometown before my stay in any English countries(I think is funny and unforgettable) I met two people in a pub having a hard discussion about the pronunciation of the word “Herb” for at least 5 minutes and about the H pronunciation. (Me and a friend of mine we were in two tables between them). Until one of them asked me how I pronounce that word. Once I pronounced it One of them said listen to him I was right. The other one got from the pocket a British dictionary. Me: Ok now could I just ask you where are you from? One was from North Carolina USA and one from Australia. Through this situation I realize that there are some evident differences in speech.

After such a short time it is too early for any comparison. We should take for granted that the climate is completely different. But surprisingly Toronto has the same latitude as northern Italy but it has also lower average temperature and some brutal snowstorms during the January and February. I am here also to experience that I do not mind. We travel also to see differences I never stop to say that.

If anything is clear please feel free to ask or also if you have any opinion, or idea or further information about it feel free to comment.

Thanks for your attention

Best Regards

20190120_115043.jpg

Sources
Introduction Sociolinguistic Rajend Mesthrie, Joan Swann

Sort:  

Enjoy Toronto my friend. I’ve lived in Toronto for many years and people from all over the world live here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks a lot @newcastle I definitely like this city

Nicely written! I'm glad you are visiting our beautiful country. As you travel along, you will notice how the dialect varies from province to province as well. English is my second language and I never started to speak it until closer to my twenties (I am french, Canada's other official language) and my English self taught by reading and writing, it helps a great deal as I'm sure you are already aware. With that being said, I can certainly feel your pain in the complexity in learning this language but you are doing well, it's already better than many native speakers!

I wish you safe travels and a good time visiting my country. Hopefully I hope you get to see the beauty of my backyard, the Canadian Rockies if that is on your agenda. xox

Oh, thanks for your very nice comment I want to visit your country as much as possible. In Canada, you have great landscapes and it is a very large country. Hope to visit also Canadian Rockies. I am here through a six-month visa (work permit) and see if I will have enough money and visit it. About languages, I am interested also in Quebecois as I studied also French language from secondary school to the university.

Whoa Quebecois!! Non!!! Anti- Alberta and they siffon all our money! lol French is still a nice language tho. The Rockies are expensive because it's a high tourist area except if you find camping gear and stay out of the National parks. Provincial parks are better and then drive in to visit the National Park (like 20 min). If you have a chance to go, let me know if you need pointers.

I did not know Quebec was Anti -Alberta. I said that just because I am curious to visit also that part. Thanks for your information I keep on my mind before going to the Rockies.

It's still a beautiful place (I am from there, I now moved west 13 yrs ago)but their politics are messed up and they are not part of the Canadian Confederation/refuses to be and also the only territory in Canada to do so yet Alberta has to pay them a bunch of money (20 billion$/year)to them while they sabotage our economy and publicly insult us. Also where a lot of government corruption happens. New-Brunswick , Nova-Scotia and PEI are cheaper than western Canada and also beautiful.

I think it is still better than other countries including the one I was born. Otherwise, I do not know what I say about Canadian politics. Good to know about those provinces. Thanks for your comment

Congratulations @philfreetotravel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies. Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79