Making a new laser head holder for my laser cutter

in #lasercutting6 years ago (edited)

I bought a new laser head for my laser cutter, and rather than installing it on what I already had, I decided I could make a new one from 3mm acrylic.

IMG_1628.JPG

IMG_1629.JPG

IMG_1630.JPG

Sort:  

Have you already had a chance to test it? I don't have much experience with laser cutters, but I think this thin acrylic part may warp because of the heat...especially if this laser head is heavy.

Not as yet, as I have found that since the hole that the laser goes into is higher than the stock head, I will have to raise the tube and first mirror mount. I plan to do that this weekend.

That said, I don't think with the new assembly that the heat will be close enough to warp the acrylic.. I could be wrong.. but worst comes to worst, I can use this laser cut template and use it to make one out of aluminium in the future

Congratulations @rativiv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rativiv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16