Change Maker: The Inspiring Young Leader of Naga Mark Joseph Euste

in #leadership6 years ago (edited)

I believe every individual has a story to tell. Every individual is capable of creating change whether it is big or small. Every individual is able to influence a small or a large group.

It may seem only applicable to aspiring leaders only, but remember there is so much that we can do to make the world a better place for this generation and generations to come. We can share our experiences, wisdom, lessons, and knowledge. We can share a portion of our lives to foster people and create people who would surpass our achievements.

I also believe that words are powerful and if we use the positive words, we are enabling others. We are capacitating those who are under the sphere of our influence.

I am sharing these principles of mine because from this moment onward I would like to create blog entries for aspiring people from different communities. Featured people were able to touch lives in their respective fields more than one could ever imagine. These are just ordinary people who are doing extraordinary things.


Mark Joseph or MJ is an inspiring leader from Naga City. He is currently working under Teach for the Philippines who aims to build the nation by providing excellent young leaders in the classrooms. | Image taken from MJ's social media account.

The first person I would like to introduce used to be an aspiring young leader who has now turned into an inspiring young teacher .

I was able to meet Mark Joseph Euste or MJ during the 2017 second cycle of training of Teach for the Philippines in Quezon City.

At first he was this quite reserved person inside the room. I was the one trying to come up with an idea for a short presentation (which I would not ellaborate what it was about), he just looked straight to my eyes and listened intently.


Image from pixabay.com
I asked for my teammates suggestions and they came up with brilliant insights. I was so amazed that I was in a room filled of advocates who already did big things in life at young age.

The moment MJ spoke, he really caught my attention. I told myself, this one is not just a pretentious young leader but an authentic one who I know someday will become a successful person. Throughout our different discourses during the training, I knew he is a brilliant person. He never even bragged of the successes he bragged during his undergraduate years.


Photo taken from MJ's social media account
Before being part of Teach for the Philippines, MJ graduated with Bachelor of Arts in Political Science as a cum laude. He was also a recipient of Archbishop Pedro P. Santos Gold Medallion, and a recipient of Achievement Award from Ateneo de Naga in 2017.


To get to know more about MJ, I gave him a set of questions few days ago as a form of interview. I know he has been and will always be busy so I am very thankful that he shared his insights to me which I know would inspire others as well.

Can you tell me a brief background of your leadership experience?

I have been an active student leader and volunteer when I was a student in Ateneo de Naga University. I have actively engaged myself in various socio-civic, volunteer, and leadership organizations, as well as in the student government. I have also participated as a youth official in the city government of Naga and has co-founded an organization which focuses on senior high school graduates.

His answer then made me want to know what he wanted to be when he was little. Was he able to foresee what he would be today.

When you were little, what do wanted to be?

When I was little, I wanted to become almost anyone. I wanted to become a doctor, a musician, a teacher, a chef, an artist, and even a president someday.


Through nurture and care, a child's dream would be within his reach. | Image from pixabay.com

What made you think of wanting (your push factor) to take part in nation building?

The concept of nation-building has been deeply instilled to me as early as my childhood years. While excelling in the core curriculum subjects, I equally find my MAKABAYAN subjects very interesting. Growing up with my mother who happened to be an Araling Panlipunan teacher also made me appreciate nation-building even more.

Through my immersive experiences in various communities from the grassroots all the way up, my eyes have been systematically opened to the social realities of our country. After having been aware of these, I cannot help it but reflect on my personal responsibility as a member of this society.

In the words of an anonymous protester I saw online, “Kapag namulat ka na, kasalanan na ang pumikit.” This has driven me contribute to build this nation in the best way that I can.

Who is your role model or inspiration into becoming what you are right now?

The role models who inspired me to become the person that I am right now are those who left a significant mark in my life. First off are my parents , whose unwavering support guided me all the way through my most difficult times. Second are my teachers, advisers and mentors who challenged me to become the person that I choose to be. And finally, my friends who stood with me when no one else did.

How do you see yourself five years from now? Ten years from now?

Five to ten years from now, I see myself fulfilling my personal prophecy as an ambassador of education in the development sector. I am not particularly sure yet where would I be at that point in time but one thing is for sure – that I would be a passionate advocate of education #ParaSaBata #ParaSaBayan

If you could take part in any nation-building (aside to where you are right now), what would it be right now?

In an alternate universe, I see myself working as a researcher in the government or in a think-tank like ADB or PIDS.


With a teachable heart, and a mind that is set on excellency in service, no doubt MJ will reach his goals.
| Image from pixabay.com

How does it feel to be immersed with youth and take part of different youth organizations?

Being immersed with the youth feels empowering. To me, being surrounded by like-minded individuals who share a relatively same reality boosts my spirits.

As a young leader, how do you want to influence others?

I want to influence others by being a youth role model who has the desire to lead and serve their communities.

What is your message to aspiring young leaders?

My message to my fellow young leaders is to never lose their sense of idealism. No matter how far they have accomplished, no matter how difficult their situation may be, never ever surrender to the deceptions of the “real world” because at the end of the day, hope lives within us.


Thank you MJ for putting yourself in an uncomfortable zone so that you may be able to comfort others. You do not just exhibit a true leader, you also proved to us your golden and kind heart that is willing to serve those who are in need. Thank you for being a young and influential teacher. AMDJ!


@gailbelga or Johanna Gail is a free-spirited freelance artist. She took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in one of the Ateneo universities in the Philippines. She is currently a candidate for Masters in Public Administrations. She volunteers in various non-profit/nongovernmental organization which aims for human rights through political education. She draws and writes about the country to provide awareness and promote the Philippines to foreign tourists.
Sort:  

Hello madam @gailbelga. This is an awe-inspiring story madam about leadership. With the right knowledge, discipline, positive energy and attitude, we will be brilliant leaders.

I believe the true leaders never give up. And they create leaders themselves as well. So influencing others and helping them to get them at the top is the true mission of leaders.
MJ is indeed a living proof of a young leader out there. Thank you for sharing his story madam @gailbelga. Very nice post!

Enjoy your day!

thank you and you are welcome ma'am mech. we should replicate ourselves so that we could influence more people. para sa bayan!

I agree with you madam gail. We should practice what we preach and sharing best practices always work.

Para sa kinabukasan mam @gailbelga
Have a nice day po mam. Take care. See you around po. Thank you for upvoting my comments madam..

magandang simulain to gail.. magiging masaya yung taong binabahagi mu ang storya ng kanilang buhay.. tsaka nakaka inspire siya gaya ni mark joseph.

salamat kuya. ako man ay naiinspire sa mga taong kagaya ni mj 😊

Nice postings

A very nice share madam and very well said, thank you for posting this.

serves as an inspiration to the youth. thanks for sharing us about MJ. Such a good read. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76