What Are You Learning? Contributed by @Olawalium

in #learning6 years ago

pexels-photo-247819.jpg


Learning is wonderful. We should all strive to learn. I am all for those that are open to learning. The desire to learn is as important as what we are learning.

It is good to learn, but what we need to know and ask is, ”What are we learning?” For anyone who is learning how to scam, of course, he is learning, but the effect and the benefits of that learning are as important too. What are you learning? How are you applying the things you are learning or you have learned?

Apart from the fact that we should have a desire to learn, and be sure of what we are learning. Another thing to be conscious of is to know how, when and where to apply those things. These things are so important.

Not all that we have learned should be applicable too, and if we must apply it, wisdom is profitable.


startup-photos.jpg


I watched a Hollywood movie several years ago. Way too long. In that movie, a boy was accused of something which he didn’t do, and I think others thought he did too. He felt his parents would stick by him but he got home only to see confrontations with his parents. To stand his ground, he said “Having others doubt me is bad, but having my parents doubting and not trusting me is worse. I will be fine”, then he stormed into his room. The father felt so bad and from his reaction, you would know he felt so guilty.

Few years after, I was in my second or third year I think. My late dad sent me some money but I used it back then to get some materials needed for a course. So after few days, I requested another and he questioned why I still need more. I explained to him again but he felt I must have dashed the money out or used a big chunk of it to get recharge cards for calls.

I felt bad he didn’t believe me, so after the call, I sent a text to him, in the words of that boy that I watched in that movie. Hahaha. Ouch. I seem to have forgotten in am from Africa, Nigeria to be precise hahaha. I got a whole load down of lectures on how not to be disrespectful and it takes me going home to see him before he could smile and ask me not to leave school permanently. Hahaha.


pexels-photo-269481.jpg


He was a very funny and jovial man, he would have taken that joke, but he was in pain. He was sick which I didn’t know (which led to his death), and they kept it away from me so I could focus. Going home made me know. So, I pulled the wrong time to showcase what I learned.

Okay, let me stop right here, I am getting a little bit emotional. I will look for the right time to share my story about him and my late mum too.

So, what we learn matters, as much as how we apply the things we learn. We should all be deliberate and sensitive to the application of the things we learn.

Let me stop right here.

Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn’t bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love’s chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor’s order.


If you enjoyed this post, follow @Olawalium

Sort:  

Learning is a never ending process. It starts right from the childhood and continues throughout the life of an individual. Whether it is learning the way to speak or be it learning the school lessons or learning the ways of life, we continue to learn new things at every point of our life.

Learning is boundless. It helps us to explore the facets of life. Domains like facts, concepts, money do not bound learning. A person who is illiterate at books may be literate at behaviour and actions. A person who is not good at reading may be good at understanding and helping. A person may be poor in context of money but may be rich and righteous at heart.

So, Learning is not defined by any materialistic domain. It is a realistic practice.For an individual, learning comes to its real form when he starts going to school. There he learns not only on academic grounds but also on social grounds. Apart from the customized syllabus, he also learns the way to behave, to act, to cooperate and most importantly to be with his classmates. What we learn becomes our identity. Hence, we should be careful with the things we learn.

What we learn becomes our identity. That is deep!.

Thank you so much for your amazing comment. This is good. Well done brother.

THIS LIFE MUST ALWAYS LEARN. We Must learn that life is not forever beautiful. Sometimes God allows us to suffer.

Sometimes we are given Happiness, but we know that HE never leaves us. Therefore learn to enjoy life especially by doing JESUS ​​and Gratitude.

We Must learn that not everything that we hope will be smooth becomes a reality. Sometimes our plans can turn directions. But we must know. If that's God's plan, it could be better than what we originally planned. Therefore we must learn to accept all that with JOY and without COMPLETE

We must learn that once the temptation must come in life. We can not say, "No ... GOD". Because we know that it will not surpass our strength. Therefore learn to deal with it with SABAR.

We must learn that there is no incident to be regretted for life let alone cry. Because all of His designs will be beautiful in time for us. Then learn PLEASE, BEHOLD and WELCOME in every case.

Because with Patience, Gratitude and Rejoice. All of that will nourish our soul and will refresh our life.

Learn to Accept the State although it sometimes feels bitter and not in accordance with our plan. Because Life is Not always filled with a sweet one.

claps good one. Thank you for your beautiful comment as usual. I always appreciate it.

Learning is a gradual and continuous process. How much you subject yourself to learning will determine the knowledge and the experience you got.

There is no how you can be successful or make it in life if you fail to acquire some basic skills and that's learning.

Learning can be in positive or negative form.

The one you learn from the h ollywood movie is a negative learning especially in our country here. You have no right to tell your parents what they do is wrong or bad

If you didn't watch that movie, I knew you should have reacted in a more polite way.

When I was a kid, that time I'm still at primary school. We used to eat before we go to school every morning,and after that, r we don't usually collect any money for after break.

One day, I have decided to fight it tooth and nails so as to come and collect money.
But that day, I regret doing so.

Note : learning don't usually come as easy as you think.
Thanks to @communitycoin and @olawalium

Learning is good but what are we learning? Are those things applicable? It's a big line to thread on and we should be deliberate about what we learn.

Thanks as always brother.

You are very right sir @olawalium
There suppose to be a direction we are learning from and what exactly are we learning about.

It's always good to have general knowledge, but at the same time finding your special area you really good at is important.
There are several good things to learn in this world, what you choose to learn out of it is determines. If we didn't have direct path to knowledge, we will just be jack of all trades, master of none.

Thank you sir

Absolutely. We need to be deliberate about what we need to learn and how to apply them, because there are somethings we learn that are not really applicable. They don't always have to be applicable to us, we might learn some things just to be a blessing to another.

Thanks as always brother.

I will start by this popular saying that “If you think education is expensive, try ignorance!” here I want to say learning does not take place in four way of the classroom alone since I make mentioned of education. Learning has been the only thing we needed to sustain and grow in the life that is why I will always recommend, listening over other communication skills. When will listen the desire to learn new things will always pose in. Just like you have said learning a new thing is good but the application of it to our personal self and endeavors is really important, ability to coin and shaped what we have learnt must be given more priority since not all we have learnt could be useful positive.

Important of learning: You can grow as a person, develop your knowledge base and improve yourself for the better.

Learning something new gets us access to new and different opportunities and the chance to try new experiences that might be the best ones you have ever tried!.

The story you shared on here is really emotional and I felt with you through the course of this story by putting myself in your shoe, I'm happy you could be bold enough to mentioned this, it shows that you are getting over it. It is good to learn, we all learn new things everyday whether consciously or unconsciously. Application of it to our new life is imperative.

Thank you for your amazing comment as always. Really appreciate it.

As a kid my mentor gave me an example. she told me that there were two stages of being that can be depicted on the heart monitor.

One is the wave that represent life and it shows that the heart is beating. Other is the straight line that shows that the heart has stopped beating. The one that is wavy and represents life is because heart is learning and the other is uniform and dead because the heart gas stopped learning.

What an analysis. Love the way you started out with this. You are right. Well done. Thanks a lot.

Life itself is a teacher, consciously or unconsciously we learn everyday. Some are positive while some others are negative, but we are learning.

When you desire something in other and you tried to imbibe it into your behavior or character, my friend, you just completed a learning process.

Just look at the story you shared, movies at times can make one go astray if you are not wise enough, just look at you implementing what you learnt forgetting the cultural bound, thank God you don't end up saying f**k you dad like some of the white dudes would do...... I won't like to go deeper than this, I'm becoming too emotional about him too

Our surroundings are filled up with lessons, pick up the best you can, and ensure you use wisdom in applying them.

Life itself is a teacher, consciously or unconsciously we learn everyday. Some are positive while some others are negative, but we are learning.

Pick up the best and ensure you apply it with wisdom. Love this. Thanks a lot brother. Always appreciate you.

Pick up the best and ensure you apply it with wisdom

That's the best way you grow in value...

Thanks bro, you are awesome

Education is the fundamental right of the people. Therefore, we must take all the education from birth till death. We should not accept all the teachings because there are two aspects of education and good badances. Understanding who we are, we will accept the good part and apply it in practice. After we receive education, if there is any work on that education, then if we can not use education, then that education is of no value. So we have to learn the practical application of learning as well as learning. Then life will become beautiful.

Absolutely. Good one buddy. Thanks a lot.

welcome friend..

The day we stop learning, we start dying!

Learning is an ever unending process. Thanks a lot cupcake. Hahaha

:) Thank you too popsicles

The benign nature provides so that anywhere you find something to learn. Always listen to that phrase of It is better to learn useless things than not to learn anything. The wonderful thing about learning is that no one can take it from us.

Personally, I am always willing to learn, although I do not always like to be taught.

Nice one, We must learn to earn a living.

As a human being, it is very important to learn new things.

Life is changing everyday, new discoveries are through the willingness to learn.

Life is fast changing, Learn today and be updated to the current life.

Beautiful. Good one. Thank you for this.

You're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04