What Books Are You Reading Right Now? Here's My Summer Reading List

in #learning5 years ago (edited)

BC20484C-BB50-45C3-B716-B3947E8E1D09.JPG

I think you can tell a lot about someone's current headspace depending upon the books they are reading. Are they in a zone of learning a new skill, in the middle in a fantasy novel series, or going deep down the rabbit hole with a book like "The Creature from Jekyll Island" by G. Edward Griffin. (Who I think is attending Anarchadelphia? Would be incredible to meet him there)

Ps... use code LEA to get a discount for the event.

I definitely go in waves of reading for education and then reading fiction as an escape or a way to get into a more creative, dreamier space. For example, I love getting wrapped up in a good book series. Any other Wheel of Time, or Sword of Truth fans out there?

Right now I'm in one of those education modes. I've been diving deep into marketing, consumer trends, branding, copywriting and all sorts of things that are of interest to me. Here's a list of books I've read recently, and then some that are on the docket for my next books.

I should quickly note that in that even in the midst of a big learning phase - I still like to sprinkle in some fiction to balance things out. I'm currently reading the lovely @binkyprod's book as a fantasy escape from all the marketing materials! It's excellent and so captivating. I'd highly recommend checking it out if you are like me and love magic, lore and amazing storytelling. You can check out her book HERE.

WAIT! One more side note before I dive into my summer reading list. I'm not actually reading most of them. The way I'm able to fit in so many books in the last few months is by listening to them. I'm not a huge proponent of the subscription model because I think generally speaking it is something that drains people's monthly budgets without them realizing it - but I am a HUGE fan of Audible! I love that all my previous audiobook purchases are easily accessible for me to listen to again.


Recent Books I've Read


  • Purple Cow - Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable by Seth Godan
  • The 4 Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere and Join the New Rich. by Tim Ferriss (Yes I finally got around to reading this entrepreneur classic!)
  • The Thank You Economy by Gary Vaynerchuk
  • Money and the Law of Attraction: Learning to Attract Wealth, Health and Happiness by Abraham Hicks
  • Contagious: Why Things Catch On by Jonah Berger. (I'm in the middle of this one.

Have you guys read any of the books on this list? How did you like them?


Books Next On My List


  • Primal Branding: Create Zealots for Your Brand, Your Company and Your Future by Patrick Hanlon.
  • Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion by Robert B. Cialdini, Ph.D.
  • The Copywriter's Handbook by Robert W. Bly.
  • A top-secret book that I can't tell you or else it would give away my current project.... hehe 🤫

What Books Are You Reading?



I'd love to hear what books you are currently digging! If you have any recommendations for things I should add to my own summer reading list - be sure to let me know in the comments below. 🤗

Love you guys!

XO, Lea

Sort:  

You should subscribe to Seth godans blog if you liked his book. It’s a good short read each day in the inbox. Gary Vee is the the freaking man. He understands how to bring value and make money out of that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ooh good tip! Thanks @dkid14. I'm on Gary Vee's email list - but not Seth Godan's yet. I'll have to check that out. :)

That’s interesting that you mentioned Jekyll Island. My book club just read The Jekyll Island Millionnaires Club. But... I didn’t end up reading that one. I am in two book clubs and I rarely miss a book because I listen to them on Audible while I’m doing a million things. But that one wasn’t on Audible!

I’m listening to Homegoing, by Yasmin Guadiana. It’s very good.

oooh interesting! That book sounds interesting too. I might have to check that one out. Also, thanks for the recommendation on Homegoing! ☺️

I really enjoyed the Sword of Truth series through its “original” run, but haven’t kept up with the more current volumes that came after Goodkind wrote Law of Nines.

I’m currently reading The Quantum Guide to Life. It’s just okay. The author Kunal K. Das basically just creates analogies and parallels between principles of quantum physics and challenges and facets of our everyday lives. I enjoy books about Quantum physics because it’s more philosophy than science in my mind! There are better books in that regard though, like The Dancing Wu Li Masters.

Next I think I’m in the mood to re-read some Neil Gaiman stuff, like the novel Good Omens and the Sandman comic series. I enjoyed them both more than a decade ago. The former just had a successful Amazon series and the latter is in development at Netflix so it seems a good time to revisit them!

Awesome to find another Terry Goodkind fan! I've read a few more of his books (including Law of Nines) but have fallen behind on some of his newer titles as well.

Thanks for the recommendation on The Dancing Wu Li Masters. I find quantum physics to be super interesting and so I'm sure I'd enjoy it!

Sounds like you've got some great summer reading coming up with your next books! :)

I 100% agree with the value in knowing the current books people are reading to understand their headspace. I think going in waves is the best way to read. It could be easy to get in a trap reading the same types of books all the time- at some point, you aren't extracting the highest value. Thanks for taking the time to organize and curate your reading list, I think that is awesome.

Current Books I am reading: Changing the Subject by Sven Birkets
and Why We Sleep by Matthew Walker, PhD

Just finished: Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari (excellent)
and Going To Pieces Without Falling Apart by Mark Epstein

Keep up the reading (and in your case, listening)
Have a great Summer!

Wow all of those books sound great!! Thanks for your recomendations. I've heard Sapiens was really good - and so with your recommendation as well, I'll definitely be adding it to the list. :)

I'm currently reading Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari. Will write a review once I'm done reading it!
I have a long reading list but I think I will read Tribe of Mentors by Timothy Ferriss next!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow the second person on this post to recommend Sapiens! Definitely adding that to my list. I would love to read your review of the book once you are done.

That Tim Ferriss book sounds great too! He's a genius.

Ah yes! I'm sure you will like it too!

Posted using Partiko Android

The Bitcoin Standard by Saifedean Ammous is excellent. My next read will be Blockchain 2035 by Jared Tate and Andrew Knapp when it is released in August. For now I was sent chapter 8 for a preview, and intend on reading it soon.

Oooh those sound like great books! Thanks for the recommendation. :)

You gotta read The 10x rule 🤑

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ooh thanks for the recommendation my friend!!

I'm happy you're enjoying SD1 so far. I can't wait to hear your review later on once you've finished the book. Feel free to send me updates of where you're at. My mom was telling me last week she's at Chapter 11 already. What's fun for her is that some of the interactions between my main characters were inspired by some interactions between me and my mom, my bro, and my sister, so she's recognising this and the traits each of the Five have that are traits that I have. All five of them have a bit of me in them. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

aww that's amazing and so sweet that your mom noticed that in your writing! love it!

I just read "The Book of Enoch" free ebook.

It is an excellent read if you are interested in ancient mythology and the origins of our civilization. Someone wrote this more than 2000 years ago, was suppressed by the Catholic church, removed from the Bible and somehow it made its way to us.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69