Leathery Badass

in #leather5 years ago

It's roughly 20 C here, has been for the past few days. And I have to say, you wouldn't believe the change it makes on one's attitude. To be honest, this is my favorite weather, maybe a tad warmer, you know, early 20s. You don't die from the cold or the warmth, it's perfect.
And one of the things I particularly love about this kind of weather is that I get to wear my leather. I love leather and this is perfect weather for it because very probably next month it's already going to be too warm for it. Now, I'd wear leather through the winter, but then I'd probably freeze. So, this is what we're left with.
And you know why I love leather?


53921403_386065728884290_3729357417792667648_n.jpg

Well, because it's fucking badass. It's pretty simple, really. It's not ten fucking layers of clothing that make you look like a donut and it's very rock n roll. It can be elegant, yet naughty at the same time. It's fucking great.

And one thing that's been on my mind is what a huge difference our appearance makes on our general feeling. You know, everyone tells you that's not what matters. But I disagree. I mean, don't go overboard, don't become obsessed with how you look 'cause that's no good either, but you should give it some importance. Because it is, after all, important. We are programmed to want to attract, I don't know, man, it's a sex thing I guess. We want to look good, we want to be presentable. When you look like a black donut coming through the snow, well, maybeyou're happy, it's just not my thing.

I'm sure you've noticed this yourselves. I'm sure you have a favorite skirt/jacket/sunglasses/T-shirt/underwear that makes you feel you can rock this world. It's a good thing. It's a normal thing.

I hate it when these people say "how you look doesn't matter". Of course it does. Idiot. Because how you look influences how you feel. It's the same with doing your hair or wearing make-up or high heeled shoes (or whatever does it for you really). It's an accessory we associate with power, with strength and general badassery.
Me, I associate leather with power, with badass rock n roll. And I feel very comfortable in rock n roll, so it figures I feel comfortable in a leather jacket.

Stop buying into this whole "it doesn't matter how you look" thing. It does. And the trouble with this stupid concept is that it's not proactive at all. I mean, think about it. Clothes are easily changeable. If you feel good in high heel shoes, chances are you're probably going to tend towards wearing those anyways, so you're set. But his idea applies to all sorts of other appearance issues.
And you can change how you look. You can lose weight or gain weight, depending on how you feel good. You can dye your hair, you can change who you are, at least appearance-wise. And if that's how you feel good, you should. It doesn't matter how you look, what does matter is how you feel looking like that. Because the main difference between sweats and sexy lace is in your head anyways. It's in your attitude.

Well, maybe I digress. The point is leather is awesome. You can tell, because everyone turns to look after people in leather. Even I do. Hell, there's just something about it.

So, what's your garment of choice?


P.S. - This is what I associate with leather. Ya see what I mean?

Thanks for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

I have a couple of machine head tshirts that make me feel incredible when I'm wearing them. One is just the album cover of "The Blackening" which is a goya-esque wood carving of a skeleton holding a placard.

In mirror, on the placard is written "The mirror which flatters not". Its creepy catching a glimpse of yourself in a mirror when wearing it, as it reminds me not to be vain, and know that mirrors reflect the truth of their observable universes.

There's only a few garments I cherish, but that's probably the most important one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Mate...Don't avoid the issue...You'd look awesome in leather and you know it! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Just looked that up, man, that's one cool image. bet it makes an awesome T-shirt too ;)

I mentioned to Faith only last week that I may grab a leather jacket for this winter...You have declared leather badass and so it's settled...I will! Not sure what style yet...But something badass!

P.s. What tunes were you listening to when you took the pic?

Let me guess, in the harshest of Aussie winter, it gets a bit chilly? :P
Yes, you definitely must. It would go great with your glasses. Everyone should have at least one leather jacket in their closet, I believe.

Hmm, Halestorm, though I don't remember exactly which tune. This one, I think (a cover, but a good one). I've been listening to them non-stop for a few days now, they're great.

Yeah, I think leather is entering my life! Halestorm. Will check it out...

Posted using Partiko Android

You might like them ;)

Will give them a workout on Spotify in the morning.

Posted using Partiko Android

'A friend in need is a friend indeed, but a friend in leather's better!' ;)

True words :))

Leather jacket weather for the win! Me and my four jackets are eagerly waiting for their chance to go out, but I think it’ll be at least a few weeks before we get to that weather. Leather jackets are the best, they go pretty much with every outfit!

I know, right? I feel the same way :))) I think I've got about 4 leather jackets as well, and is it just me but there are all these subtle differences between them? Each has its own sort of event where it's appropriate. but yeah, they go with anything.
Man, I was reading Taraz's post earlier, the weather there...not nice at all. Hope it warms up soon ;) It's a crime not to be able to go out like that :D

I wore a full length leather trench coat for over fifteen years. Even after I became a vegan. But, given my past, it now hangs in solitude. To much negativity attached is to it. Like drinking it had to go. Still I can't part with it all together and might never toss it out. Even bad memories deserves a home sometimes.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love that last line, you know? Very poetic. And I agree with it completely. Because just throwing it away won't get rid of what's in your head. Only you can do that.

Wow I am so jealous of the weather. here is has been below freezing like 11 F or -12 C ! We are supposed to get to just above freezing today, but not sure if it will happen. I am so longing for Spring.

Jesus, that is rough. When is it supposed to warm up over there?

I've never owned any leather clothes, probably why I never feel badass :P

I do like the look of leather jackets though, not so much of a fan of tight leather trousers though. Shit's got to breath!

Urgh tell me about it. I was just out and I saw some people in those leathery pants that are so fashionable lately and it's like what the fuck, they're kinda baggy and it just looks gross. Like a badly skinned cow or something.
:D
I got leather trousers a couple years ago 'cause I just had to and I can't even wear them, they're way too tight and for some reason the zipper keeps slipping (no, I am not fat. don't even think it.) and it's super weird trying to jump around at some gig while also constantly zipping up :))

probably why I never feel badass :P

Don't be so hard on yourself. I'm sure you have some item of clothing you at least tolerate :P

lol @ badly skinned cow :)

Definitely not good to have a zipper with a mind of it's own - people could get the wrong impression!

Don't be so hard on yourself. I'm sure you have some item of clothing you at least tolerate :P

Well I do have a Steemfest 3 scarf I quite like, although I've not yet worn it like @eveuncoved has :D

people could get the wrong impression!

Tell me about it. And I do hate it when people talk to me whenever I'm listening to music so that would be no good.

Well I do have a Steemfest 3 scarf I quite like, although I've not yet worn it like @eveuncoved has :D

Ah well, let's not kid ourselves, no one could wear it quite as well as that :P I love that scarf too. Pity it doesn't go with black.

Leather shmeather—how’bout a big round of applause for the Shirt she’s rockin! Even shirts are a bit much for me in this lovely 32-37 C weather.

Haha thank you :D I get it, trust me. One of my biggest issues with summer is I can't wear my band shirts (most of them go down to the elbow almost), but I cut some up last year and they're perfect summer wear ;)
Thankfully, there are plenty of Motorhead shorts, bikinis and tank tops. ;)

Leather is the real deal. Although I can't yet take mine, because it's still around 0 degrees. Shouldn't take no more than a week though. But 20c for me would be a t-shirt weather already, lol. Not like being Finnish has anything to do with it...

Yeah, I remember you and Taraz being like 'no, this is not cold' when everyone else had their teeth chattering :)))
Oh cool then, I was just talking about that with @eveuncovered. Sounds good :D

Yeah, I remember you and Taraz being like 'no, this is not cold' when everyone else had their teeth chattering :)))

Yeah, he makes for a good honorary Finn, especially coming from Australia :D

I'm a bad Finn @celestal, I'm always cold, even in the summer when the sun goes behind the cloud cover 😅

Well, you are a woman (women produce less ambient heat on average) and skinny, so you're excused.

Yeah, we're still pretty much in inflated-donut wardrobe weather here. Long underpants, shirt, tie, cardigan, sweater, heavy wool coat, hat, gloves, and scarf. There's another month of this at least before things get comfortable.

I'm always impressed by the women who can pull off a good look in this weather. There's something about a fitted jacket with a fur lined hood pulled around a rosy-cheeked face. Pretty much the opposite of leather-jacketed badassery, but both have their place.

I agree about appearances, though. I always insist on wearing a tie when I go to work, even though it's not required. The customers always assume I'm the boss, and better looking women always sit next to me on the train.

I love the look with the overalls and the jacket over the tee-shirt. But you left your face out of the picture and that's a shame.

Haha thank you, I like the look too :D Didn't want to stop to take a proper selfie 'cause I was on the side of the road and idiots start honking and shouting at you if you give them half a chance. Will show my face soon ;)

Man, that must suck. I hate that kinda weather. But I do agree, the whole image of the rosy cheeked face you described is lovely. I love that look, too, just never pull it off. I am the donut usually, even when I try not to be the donut. I do have a fancy coat but it's not good at keeping warm through actual winter, so it's either elegant and frozen or donut and warm.

better looking women always sit next to me on the train.

Well, at least you're honest :P Yeah, I usually trust guys with ties too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81