Not even THE FORCE can stop the DARK SIDE

in #lego5 years ago

The child was on the floor screaming; I could hear him even before I walked into the store and the cacophony only increased to near-fever-pitch once I stepped in. A scan of the room gave me all the information I needed. No, there was no torture in process, no one had trapped a hand in the door, slipped and bumped a head. No, there was no such drama. The source of the screaming, the catalyst for it, stood before me as large as life...Literally.

The child was red in the face, almost as red faced as the parent tying in vain to quiet the little terror the young chap, a little blonde boy of around 4 years old. As I walked in she looked around almost wild-eyed and our eyes locked for a moment. I readjusted my face into what I hoped was a sympathetic arrangement and I caught what I took for exasperation and a murderous intent great love and concern for her child in the tortured apologetic expression she flashed back at me, however I can't be sure.

And so began my visit to the toy store.

I manoeuvred around the debacle playing out on the floor over what I suspected was the kids desire to have the Storm Trooper, whilst, to my shame, thinking "better you than me," about the parent trying to gather up the babbling mess on the floor.

I spared a glance at the Lego Storm Trooper and for a moment thought how nice it would be if he could blast the little shit into oblivion with his blaster kneel down and offer the child some solace and a few kind words of encouragement. But alas he was just Lego, and that blaster surely wouldn't melt that kid into a greasy puddle on the floor.

I remember as a young child on one or two occasions when my mother had to give me a little motivation to clean up my act, and by act I mean cease the tantrum I had entered into with the hope of receiving the chocolate bar or toy I was tantruming over. What was the motivation? Well, a clip around the ears of course! Not a beating MMA-style, but a little clip, slap on the legs or some such motivational reminder involving physical contact.

Whilst walking through the toy shop listening to the screaming boy I wondered what result some of my mother's motivation may have on the boy. These days of course a parent is likely to get locked up, or at least denigrated on Facebook, should they administer the same shut-the-hell-up-motivation as did my mum many years ago.

As I pondered that and perused the shelves of toys looking for the gift I was after the screaming subsided somewhat and became a more mournful wail. It was marginally less annoying although I still wanted to rush over there and administer some of my-mother's-style of anti-tantrum technique placate the boy with some soothing words, however how could I possibly interject between the mother and the lad? Of course I would never presume to do so.

Several minutes later I was ready to leave the store and as I gathered the small bag containing the toy I had purchased I realised the woeful wailing had ceased. I walked towards the door and saw the little shit boy holding a very large box of Lego with a huge grin on his face. Chalk up one for consumerism and the society that rewards bad behaviour and mediocrity.

I didn't look at the parent as I walked by for fear that my face may wear a disapproving look. It wasn't my place to do so as people all parent differently however I admit that I felt annoyed that the annoying little bastard young child had gotten his way...A habit that will probably become ingrained moving forward.

...If only that Storm Trooper could spring to life and blast that kid, I thought guiltily as I left the store...

Sort:  

He'll pay for it down the track, unfortunately. She's raising a kid with no self-discipline.

I agree completely. A parent (probably) with no self-discipline perpetuating that behaviour.

Congratulations @allover! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I see those kids often these days, I am glad mine isn't like that, at least so far. I also think it is because she has no idea about the characters and brands themselves. People sit their kids in front of shows that emotionally attach them and also sell merchandise - and then wonder why their kids want them so much and throw tantrums.

Yes, the brain washing starts early these days. Long live the clip around the ears I say, but as someone without children it's easy for me to say. In reality it might be different I suppose.

It's so weird that a slap is nowadays considered abuse. I mean for literally everyone I know, that was normal. No one considers themselves abused over the fact their dad used to spank them ever so often. There's a huge difference between abuse and a check, like you say, and it's worrying, because in a way, it takes away from actual abuse. And it shouldn't.

Interesting post :) I enjoyed it.

Thanks @honeydue, I'm always happy to see your comments as they are measured and intelligent, and to be honest I don't get many so I love the ones I get!

Yes, the world is sanitised in this way, protected, and yet in other ways it's a free-for-all! It's a strange world we live in these days.

As both a parent and Lego fan, I can relate to this tale on many levels. Thankyou for sharing. Now can you buy me that Stormtrooper?

Now can you buy me that Stormtrooper?

Haha, I asked when I was there...Was not for sale...Even if you throw a tantrum! :)

You got a 1.55% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @allover! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28