Steem Food Tours #34 Review of Lunchbox

in #letseat5 years ago

I am writing this post as part of the #steemfoodtours contest started by @jeffjagoe.

Several weeks ago I was able to take a trip to Bellaire Michigan for a conference that I was attending. The conference is always in the same location and I have been going for years, but I have never taken the time to actually explore the town.

I decided that was going to change this year and I did some research before attending about where I might want to get lunch the first day. For such a small town, there are actually quite a few places to eat. Based on the online reviews though, I immediately settled on Lunch Box.

I had just rolled into town and was looking for something great to fill my stomach. I actually drove right past Lunchbox when I got into town and I had to circle the block a couple of times to make sure I had the right place. I ended up parking at the hardware store that is behind the establishment and made the short walk to the front.

I was greeted right away and directed to a seat on the less crowded side of the restaurant. As you can see from the picture, it looks like they may have some kind of buffet during certain times or they host group gatherings in this area. Although not too crowded when I arrived, the place was packed by the time I left.

I was handed a menu and asked what I would like to drink. The waitress also let me know about the specials that they had that day. They serve breakfast and lunch here, so I had a difficult decision to make!

It was a kind of chilly day, so I decided to go with the House Special which is half a sandwich and a cup of soup for $9.00. I had settled on water to drink. It took a little longer for my food to come than I had expected, but when it arrived, I kind of understood why it took so long.

I was expecting a sandwich to be placed before me, but what I got instead ended up being a masterpiece. For my half sandwich I chose the Turkey Avacado Melt and for my cup of soup I picked the house made chili. After bringing me my plate she apologized because she forgot to ask if I wanted onions and cheese on my chili. I said yes and she quickly took my plate away to get that rectified.

Apparently, I didn't read the description of the sandwich as closely as I had though, because this was the farthest thing from what I had expected. I am not usually a fan of big tomatoes like this, but the heirloom tomato they used in this dish mixed perfectly with all of the other flavors. From the sour dough bread to the Dijon mustard and the shaved turkey and avacados, it was just perfect. I left wishing I had gotten a full sandwich, but really the chili and sandwich were more than enough.

I didn't even eat the bag of chips that they give you with your meal. The chili had a good flavor and was not spicy at all. It had a good deal of meat in it and the onions and cheese on top really brought it all together. It did have beans in it which some people will say is a no-no for chili, but I usually put beans in mine when I make it, so I didn't mind.

For just under $10 this meal was totally worth it and if you find yourself in Bellaire, MI and are looking for a great place to grab breakfast or lunch, I highly recommend Lunchbox. I had actually every intention of going back the next day to get breakfast, but I ended up sleeping in late and didn't have time.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Restaurant NameLunchbox
Address106 East Cayuga Street Bellaire, MI, USA
Location44.97522300000001, -85.2096401
Type of FoodCafe
OccasionLunch
Time of DayDaytime
Price RangeMedium
Rating5

Love food?
Check out the weekly #steemfoodtours Challenge on Steemit by @jeffjagoe



Get Let's Eat from the Play Store

Sort:  

Thanks for your entry to @STEEMFoodTours #34!

LOL! That's not a sandwich! Hahaha! Well, that has to have been the most bizarre looking meal that I've seen in a while....

Really? It might have looked crazy, but it was ever so tasty! The combination was perfect!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great to hear... the looks of the food doesn't really give away the taste! Luckily, or my cooking would be terrible! My wife always complains that I make absolutely no effort in how my food looks when I cook!

Awesome entry to @STEEMFoodTours @bozz!
Although the sandwich wasn't what you were expecting, it sure is making me hungry for lunch. Love the melted cheese.

I would be dippin' that bad boy in the chili!
Cheers @bozz and thanks for using @letseat for the post.
Have a great weekend

Thanks you too! Yeah I totally missed the part about it being a open faced style melt. I was expecting a half sandwich with two pieces of bread. Like I said, it was still amazing though. I had to stop in the middle of eating it and text my wife it was so good. She couldn't believe I was eating the tomato!

Looks delicious. That chili... hawt dayum :)

Thanks! Yeah, it was pretty tasty!

I'm just making lunch and that's a good thing or that pic would have made me crazy :)

I really like beans in my chili, that's the way mom made it. But since I am a low carb guy I'll be a 'con carne' guy this winter. I'm really looking forward to the first effort right now.

Thanks for a great review Bozz. Good looking food and a review to match.

Good luck with that! I love making a good chili in the winter. Thanks for the comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 0.43% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

not quite my take on a sandwich but it looks good
Have a great weekend

Not quite my take on
A sandwich but it looks good
Have a great weekend

                 - tattoodjay


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.456 which ranks you at #6627 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 53 places in the last three days (old rank 6680).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 234 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 301 (11/03/18)

Looks like you've had a really great meal and it wasn't that expensive either. That sandwich does look pretty great with all the cheese on it :)

Yeah, the price was a little more than what you would pay at a fast food place, but for the quantity of food you got and the quality, it was well worth it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99