Review of QDOBA Mexican Eats - An adventure in choosing your own ingredients!

in #letseat6 years ago (edited)

When I found out about this new Let's Eat app, I just had to try it. We used it to pick out a restaurant to grab lunch, since it includes a very comprehensive geographical list of nearby eateries.

1outside.jpg
Outside the location

We ended up at Qdoba, and adventure ensued. Not accustomed to customers beligerently taking photos of every conceiveable angle and topping available, we proceeded to order 3 of the most convoluded and complicated orders imagineable, and one quesadilla.

2interior.jpg
Interior

3service.jpg
Pulling up to the counter

4prep.jpg
Build a burrito (or quesadilla or taco dip!)

The great joy of Qdoba is adding your own selections from among the myriad of fresh toppings available. I asked about which animal the brisket came from and only got the answer later from google (it's a cow!), but in terms of the most common questions the employees seemed sufficiently knowledgeable.

5prep.jpg
Generous portion sizes!

6checkout.jpg
Friendly staff allows pictures of the experience

By the end of the trip all the employees were in a great mood and quite a line had developed behind us. We took our food to go, back to our consortium of food critics at home.

7letseat.jpg
Big bag of eats!

We used the smile test for our final ranking, 3 out of 4 stars!

Qdoba-reactions+text.jpg

While my original review looks fine from the mobile app, I was a bit aghast viewing the results from my desktop computer. This is my attenpt to show and tell my suggested improvements for the posting of reviews.

-Dev short list - I want to:

  1. Add title tagline
  2. Center images
  3. Increase image quality to 960x720 (DVGA)
  4. Add subtext to photos
  5. Switch between photos and text (add text between photos)

@letseat I have my next restaurant review almost ready to go! ;p

Love and Light to All!


Restaurant NameQDOBA Mexican Eats
AddressN95 W18181 Appleton Avenue, Menomonee Falls
Location43.1906146, -88.1352586
Type of FoodLocal
OccasionLunch
Time of DayDaytime
Price RangeMedium
Rating4

Eat with us on the blockchain

Sort:  

@ecoinstant thanks for the suggestions. This is really helpful.

I know the beta is not ideal but there will be some work implementing those changes. In the meantime you can edit the post on Steemit to modify any of these items that you do not like (after posting from the app).

Some items may not subsequently appear in the app if the structure has changed but you will be able to center the images, and resize them by editing the markdown, or include a completely different picture.
If you add captions, they wont appear in the app I agree they do look really good on your post.

Just to note any text after the first --- line will not appear in the app yet, but of course we want a fully featured editor for ease of use. This is in the plans.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Thank you for that reply, of course I did it this way as my way to try and help, some of my suggestions would be easier to implememt, than others. A full editor would be great,but I suspect that it will be more work and take a bit longer.

I use the following code on every image, whether or not I want subtext:
<center></center><center><sub></sub></center>

Nothing shows if I dont put anything, maybe that can be implemented somehow, though other than a subtext popup (or button to a pop up/open), Im not exactly sure where the subtext would be entered.

The one that surprised me the most was the resized images! Very smart, since phones nowadays take ginormous pics. I had already resized them (with reduce photo size app) which maybe not everyone does, so was surprised to see them re-re-sized. That could probably be a drop down menu, selecting final image size from some options (check out the reducephotosize app I mentioned).

Adding a title tagline could just be another form entry if you dont want to make the main title editable.

The only way I can think of to order the text and images would be to give a marker !1 or something, that the editor would replace with each photo before posting.

I know how to edit in steemit but am stubborn and don't want to. Cheers mate I love this app it has such great potential!

Ooh cool, I didn't know about @letseat! I want to try it too but I so rarely eat out.
I love your star rating photos. 😃

Haha... I esp love your 3 out of 4 stars technique. :) Apps are not all that useful here in Asia (North Thailand) - we tend to follow the queues - if a shop has no one in it, probably there is a good reason. :) Busy almost always equals awesome. :) Nice post and I have a sudden craving for Mexican. :)

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 43.84% upvote!
I was summoned by @ecoinstant. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82