Rain Shadow Deserts: My Entry Into LMAC Contest #11

in #letsmakeacollage5 years ago (edited)

My entry into @shaka's LMAC #11 contest shows a desert landscape in the shadow of a mountain range. The camels are just for fun!

camel gif3.gif


@shaka's original photo, from which he challenged us to make a collage:

shaka #11 high res.jpg


I first thought of pyramids, and the sphinx, but then I saw an entry by @dauerossi that used this idea, so I went back to the drawing board. The desert was still on my mind, and that's how my current picture came into being. I had read once about the Atacama dessert, so the idea of rain shadow desserts followed naturally.



The Atacama, the Mojave, and the Karoo, all owe their arid characters at least in part to a phenomenon known as a rain shadow.

Each region lies beneath the influence of one or more significant mountain ranges that block rainfall. In each case moisture rises from the sea and endows the coastal region with lush, fertile land. But as the moisture, carried by winds, hits the mountains, it condenses, forms clouds and never makes it to the other side. Whatever moisture does make it to the other side, often evaporates in the warm air before rain hits the ground.




The Atacama Dessert in Chile is one of the driest places on earth. It lies in the shadow of two ranges, the Andes and the Chilean Coastal Range. The picture below shows Tebinquinche lagoon, a highly saline lake that receives its water from melting snow in the Andes. Travelers report that the water is so salty it's possible to float without trying.

Atacama

rain shadow Atacama Diego Delso, delso.photo, License CC BY SA.jpg





The Karoo, in South Africa, lies in the shadow of the Cape Fold Mountains. The Upper Karoo receives about 7 inches of rain a year, but this mostly falls in the summer. Winters see very little rain. Other parts of the Karoo may receive as much as 15 inches a year, but once again this is seasonal and winter sees very little precipitation.

Karoo

rain shadow karoo Winfried Bruenken (Amrum)2.5 generic.JPG




Saline Valley is part of the Mojave Dessert, which lies under the influence of the Sierra Nevadas in California. Precipitation ranges from 2.23 to 2.5 inches annually.

Mojave, Saline Valley

rain shadow Saline Valley Palm Spring Gedstrom 3.0.jpg

accent accent.jpg

My Collage


My collage was developed from two pictures. From @shaka's photo I made a mirror image to create the illusion of a mountain chain. Then I downloaded the picture of a camel caravan from Pixabay:(credit Nikola Belopitov)

camels-2013708_1280.jpg

The lower part of this picture became my foreground. I added the camels and oasis from Paint 3D. With GIMP I added a little sunshine, and made a GIF.

As usual, it is challenging for me to create anything that looks like art, and always great fun. I recommend this contest to anyone, no matter your skill level. There's no downside to entering. Please check out the other collages at @shaka's blog.

Sort:  

The camel caravan and sun make it look like a very hot desert. I heard about the excessive salty lakes that make you float and you need to take a shower the second you get out. I really enjoy your creative collages. : )

Thank you! I'm looking at a really big birthday coming up--it should give the young encouragement to know that joy and imagination do not wane with age. I appreciate your stopping by!

I will be looking forward to your big birthday post. There is always something that can be taught by us old timers. You go girl! LOL!

Congratulations on the Upvote. I'm glad that your passion for collage has found such a beautiful resonance.

How you have changed Shaka's picture is fantastic. As always accompanied by a story and your associations around it.

That the mountains hold the valleys captive is quite an unpleasant sight, isn't it? To keep off the rain and not let the clouds rain down creates such glowing ovens and I am full of sadness that so seldom rain falls there. But who knows, the larger plan for it may look completely different and like it would be, if the mountains did not border the valleys, I also cannot say.

I had interpreted the photo of Nikola Belopitov first as a caravan, but when I pulled it bigger, I realized that there was no luggage to be seen on the backs of the camels, but that they had strapped on two-seaters. It seems to be a tourist thing? This brings me to the question whether there are still caravans at all. I do not suspect or only to a very small extent.

Anyway, here you have created an illusion of a bygone time, of human and animal effort to cross the pitfalls of a desert and achieve the impossible. A feeling of a thousand and one nights resonates and a nostalgia, which I also associate with films from my childhood.

Loosened up by the funny camels that quickly push their way through the picture. A good combination.

You may be right about that desert photo...perhaps a tourist even took that picture.

It's so much fun playing with the images for me. I did warn you that my imagination is quite free. There is never a problem coming up with ideas. I don't worry someone will "steal" my idea because others are eager to be expressed :)

Thank you for enjoying the GIF. I'm still working controlling this technique, but not more than a month ago I had no idea how it worked, so I'm quite pleased with myself (ego, ego). If it weren't for this contest I never would have tried to make one of these.

I also thought of the suffering, and beauty, of the desert. There is so much life there. Even in the Atacama certain forms of life manage to exist.

I'm off to a quiet Sunday, and story writing. Finish the story this week has a great beginning. I think it would suit you fine, if you take a look. Have a great Sunday.

Yeah, sometimes we're the pushers, other times we get pushed. That you have learned a new skill is a really good thing. The brain stays fit, mind and heart are inspired. To learn things you couldn't do before, to have curiosity and patience when something doesn't work right away, to look at the end result and be satisfied with a wink: we should really treat ourselves to that, shouldn't we?

I am very happy when I see your joy.

I think all the places on this earth show the one or other curiosities and amazement. You only have to look closely ;-)

Oh wise, gentlebot!
Yes, I think, look closely indeed. Take the time. This sort of fits in with your recent posts. Don't live a distracted life. Live a thoughtful life. More fun. More rewards.
Hope you are inspired to join in the collage creativity next time. Your 'kissing' creature was quite original a couple of weeks back.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you! I'm honored to be recognized by the community!

I didn't realize you were a witness. I recognize some of the very capable names and I appreciate your ethics. So yeah, you've got my vote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89