When Not Giving A Shit Majorly Changed My Life

in #life-steemit5 years ago

The most significant changes in my life happened when I grew enough balls to stop giving a shit what people thought of me. Here are some of the those times and the bigger lessons I learned.

Sobriety

This is at the top of my list because it's easily the single most important change in my life. As much as I talk about discipline and the power of being decisive, I took my sweet time putting down the bottle. The main reason is because I didn’t want to be perceived as a boring guy with no social life.

I actually realized that I had a harmful relationship with alcohol 3 years prior to getting sober, but I made the stupid mistake of talking to my friends about whether or not I was an alcoholic. They may have meant well by me, but they were my drinking partners and weren’t about to be hypocritical and ruin the fun.

Eventually, I stopped worrying about looking cool and started to focus on becoming a person of substance. There were many issues that contributed to my alcoholism, but perhaps the most serious one was being worried about my image. I cared more about what other people think who don’t have to live my life,than about what I thought of myself.

Writing About My Life

When I started writing about my life, I made the deliberate decision to never exaggerate, understate, or misrepresent it--for better or worse. I’m not world famous. I’m not even nationally famous. But I do have all of the “receipts” for what I’ve said and talked about.

It wouldn’t take much digging for people to know that I’m speaking the truth about my alcoholism, where I grew up, how I technically didn’t graduate high school, my relationship with my family, or how I’ve worked on overcoming all of that.

Once I realized that I'm blessed to be in the position to offer real advice on what a life change looks like and the work it takes to overcome the odds, I realized that it would be a terrible disservice to the world to not talk about it. I don’t care about how certain things make me look or seem--all that matters is that I’m able to show people what is possible.

Forgiveness and Arguing

Forgiveness is so important to me that my third full-production book is about forgiveness. There are MANY reasons why people have trouble forgiving, but a big one is because we're afraid of appearing weak. Some of this self-preservation. Some of this is pride. But much of this good ol’ fashioned vanity.

Once I felt the feeling of forgiveness over the feeling of being right, choosing to forgive became easy. I don’t really care if people think my argument is the best one (though I personally care about presenting a rationally, well thought out argument). I care more about my internal feelings than external validation.

Selling and Marketing

The problem many people face with selling and marketing anything--themselves or another product--is that they’re fundamentally worried about being rejected. They view this rejection as a rejection of self rather than of their offer. As a result, they don’t try to offer the world anything in the first place.

I have struggled with this problem more than most people would guess. Ultimately, not caring about rejection is how i made such significant strides in my income. This change in income snowballed into what allowed me to make money to change my life

Online Dating

I met my girlfriend via online dating. The same one that’s been around some 6 odd years at this point. While everyone today is doing online dating--so much so that there is now a vocal counter-movement to it--it was not a big thing when we met.

That’s not to say a decent amount of people weren’t doing it, but to put this in perspective, I never had a Tinder account. That’s not because I was ever against online dating. It’s only because I’ve been dating my girlfriend for so long.

When everyone else is worried about how a certain action is going to be perceived, be bold and you can take whatever you please.

The rest is up to you.

ritho.PNG

Sort:  

This post has received a free upvote by @OnePageX
This bot is sponsored by OnePageX.com! To use it, simply reply to your post with @onepagex and you will get an upvote!
OnePageX.com is the simplest cryptocurrency conversion tool online!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hustlehacker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76