Sphere, plain-flat, geo-shape, oblate, pear-shape? What difference does it make?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Can a human be right and happy? Can love be utilized when vanity is in place. Are we afraid, that we might be wrong, or that our figures of authority are wrong?

Scroll down to the bottom for my original photos. All the photos are my property, I made them using Canon camera.

What is your perception, your knowledge, your belief, and your 100% proof for or against any of these Earth shape theories?

A. Earth is flat (plain).


Idea known from the beginning until some past time ago. recently very popular.


For:

a. Commercial airplanes flights go > V < moving on two wings of a triangle on a map or a globe. Taking flat earth model (map)

these lines are straight. Same with under-oceanic cables.

For me it is one of biggest pointers towards this theory's truthfulness, as I don't imagine that capitalistic companies earning money on business, would risk the fuel charges to be higher, rather than lower, or cabels to be longer instead of shorter.

There was a popular example in near past - an airplane flying from Malysia (as I remember) to L.A. had to go to Alaska, because a female started to give birth. Look it up online: the airplane goes longer way on a globe model, on a flat model, it is just on it's way to L.A. and Alaska is near.

b. Private helium stratospheric balloons show on the attached cameras with no fish-eye lens or other distorting lenses, that the view from the heights of over 110 000 feet don't show any Earth's curvature and the horizon is straight 360 degrees.

c. Observations and videos of objects (ships, skyscrapers, mountains, long bridges, etc.) made with a naked eye and than with use of a zoom, binoculars or telescope show, that there is no expected curvature.

d. Airplanes leaving a condensation trail make them straight not curved, like the one they would following the curve of Earth.

e. Admiral Byrd supposedly traveled around south pole - check how long the journey was.

f. Why is there The Antarctic Treaty signed in 1959 in place. Do you know what happens if you want to go to South Pole?

g. North Pole has polar day and polar night, but South Pole has a night and day (look at South Pole fixed online camera (it shows only a piece of 24 hours).

There is a lot more - check the net, maybe do some experiments on your own.

B. Sphere (planet) Earth.

All you know from schools and from TV, cinemas etc.

Is it important?

Only to keep a dispute and argument going on, unless you want to know for sure if you are kept on some flat disc by some aliens, trying to suck us from resources, water, energy, or whatever.

Can you be right and happy?

I don't know. I am always happy regardless of if I am right or wrong, or it seems that I am.
Love is the first and only true meaning to my life.
Should any of people of artificially supported authority keep my or anyone else's vanity satisfied when we claim we know something for sure. How smart do we look saying that something is for sure.
Are you familiar with a List of Cognitive Biases on Wikipedia - there are so many of potential mistakes that our brains can make, and which are used by manipulators, that everything we perceive might be wrong, false, lied, biased.

Give me some answers if yo know them.

I keep myself modest, and I say like Socrates allegedly did once: "I know, that I know nothing"... - or something like this :)

Thank you :)

A little bonus to the post (my original photos, which I made few days ago using my Nikon Coolpix)
Right click on a photo, open in new tab, enlarge and enjoy :)


A 1,2B 1,2
Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My sources say no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74