Hit My Weight Loss Goal! FINALLY!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago


I've been chasing this goal weight for most of my adult life. When I graduated high school, my football career came to an end, but football appetite carried on. I rapidly gained 40lbs in less than 6 months and my metabolism slowed. The extra weight made exercising difficult, and I felt trapped in a bigger body than I wanted.

I'm 6'2" tall with a sturdy build. When I was playing ball I was right around 205lbs and I was ripped. I didn't have the time to devote to that level of fitness any longer, so I set my goal for an ideal weight at 220lbs. It was challenging. Life also got more and more stressful, and of course I picked up some emotional pain along the way.

I would have bursts of inspiration and dicipline—typically after hitting a new high weight milestone.

When I hit 250lbs, I tried to lose weight and did in the short term only to rebound and jump up to 265lbs, then a burst of weight loss and another repeat. Eventually I hit the 300lb mark and I was in pain. I was also constantly sick.

This was where I decided to become more dedicated to losing the weight once and for all. It took eight long and frustrating years!

Many a time I got close, but never arrived at my goal of 220. I have lost and re-gained the same 60-70 pounds dozens of times, but gave up for a short term satisfaction, or because the darkness was closing in...

About a month ago, I finally lassoed the unicorn. And RIGHT ON THE BUTTON!

I'm not quite done with my weight loss journey yet, but I am happy to say that I am done with most of the anger, grief, and stubbornness that made making this happen so so challenging.

I weighed in at 215lbs this morning and I feel 20 years younger!

Existence is a mental game, and unless we find the appropriate balance of all of the forces at work, our goals will be forever just outside our reach.

The harder we struggle, the farther away the goal feels. But when we surrender to our essential nature, and begin to understand and accept ourselves, the obstacles simply fall away.

As the nursery rhyme so elegantly puts it: "row, row, row, your boat, gently down the stream, merrily, merrily, merrily, life is but a dream..."

Make it a GREAT week!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations!

What you did was no easy task. I commend your will.

Thank you! It was a looooooong road for sure. Nice connecting with you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72