Every Addiction Can Be Cured and So Is The Smartphone One

in #life5 years ago

Not just once have I found myself unlocking my smartphone and randomly opening apps, from twitter to internet browser, shopping apps and of course Steem with no purpose at all, just because... Sometimes that starts from a notification but sometimes is just something unconsciously. It's like my smartphone is in control of my mind and not vice versa.

I have acknowledged the addiction a smartphone can trigger for years but haven't really done anything about it. I have had my attempts over the years of loosing up a bit my connection with the phone but with no success at all. I was still using Instagram and Facebook and that was practically impossible because they're designed to "enslave one's mind" for hours. Now I'm "clean" of these so why not go further.

Being part of Steem is much more than blogging, commenting, upvoting and getting upvoted. Sometimes you get inspired to do much more than this and this inspiration may change something outside the platform as well. About a week ago @mariusfebruary wrote about his experience of living offline for a weekend, which is perfectly doable in my opinion, but not an option for me right now. However, reading his post and looking a bit at my smartphone that almost always is at a hand length away from me I created my own challenge. Something I should have done for years.

It's not really a challenge but more a change in behavior. I decided to transform my smartphone in just a communication and useful tool rather than a media oriented one dedicated to waste my time. Thus I simply rejected the instinct of opening all sort of apps and wasting time on them like I rejected the instinct to eat meat when I was vegetarian. You just have to decide for yourself and not let a piece of tech do that instead. Is that simple and totally in our control.

I am answering calls, whatsapp messages, Steem comments or replies, I am searching on google any piece of info that I need but I do that consciously. I don't become a smartphone zombie anymore when the screen is unlocked and it's not hard at all. I haven't used any app to "cure this" and probably never will, although I know they exist. It's just a strong will power to take back control over my time. Moreover my smartphone's battery benefits from this behavior as well.

Feel free and try it for yourself and you should see the difference, or at least try to witness how many hours you can waste in one day "doing nothing on a smartphone". Don't get me wrong, I am not denying tech and its use cases and neither I would give up on my smartphone. I love it. I just deny it controlling my hands, brain and attention. There are things much more worthy to give your attention in one day than your smartphone. As shinny and inviting as it may be.

chain-690088_1280.jpg
image source

Thanks for attention and have a great day!
Adrian

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I'm pretty happy I'm not as addicted to my phone. I mean I started to carry it around almost everywhere since I use actifit (something I didn't do before as much, and certainly I didn't miss it as much as others do). Partiko also has something to do with me using it more nowadays, because now I reply to comments from my phone. It helps that I like to use my laptop, haven't really caught the bug of staying online for hours on my phone.

Notifications don't bother me. Browsing with no reason, just to waste time, is what I consider harmful and an addiction. Something that now is under my control.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love it! Love your content man!
I’ve been social media free for almost a year now and never again would I want it back! But you’re exactly right! These apps were designed to trap us with these intermittent micro injections of dopamine:P

I’m reading a super amazing book on the topic of addiction right now and here’s a sentence that I liked that I wrote down: “Behaviors become addictions when they are used continuously to avoid something.”

There's always something to be avoided and in 99% of the cases we try to avoid pain by chasing pleasure. With some dopamine spikes social media manages to trick us that using it is pleasurable but after a while one can simply feel it as any other addiction. Not fulfilling anymore no matter the dosage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25