I'm Thankful

in #life6 years ago

Snapseed.jpg

This photo I took at around 8am and BW version here if you are curious


I just had my first ( official) day fasting yesterday. In other post, I mentioned that there is a meal before people fast called “Suhoor” and I supposed to have it around 4am, but I couldn’t because…it’s 4am. But my wife explained I can just have it before I slept and not necessarily at 4am.

So I started my day at work with a empty stomach, it was a little dizzy, and I had headache but it’s totally normal. After sometimes I will be ok and 30 days fasting will be really fast as I was told.
It’s a day that I felt extremely thankful to all people surrounding me. A little tough to work while I am not allowed to eat or drink anything. My colleagues kept asking me to take a rest, and help to do tasks. Manager was always reminding me how many hours left to go home, probably he will shift me to evening shift which around breaking the fast time.

Parents in Morocco knew it’s my first time ( it’s not the first time because I gave it a try last years ) so they encourage me a lot to be strong and everything will be fine.

To break the fast, there is a meal called Iftar this is the time people allowed to eat. And every families cook special Ramadan meal for members, so did my wife. She prepared a proper Moroccan style Iftar with juice, egg ( with special spices from her country), a dish called something in Moroccan that I can’t even understand but it means “oven-baked chicken” lol and a-must harira soup, of course with some dates.

The Iftar usually start with eating the dates, you can only eat 1,3 or 5 dates not 2,4 because as explained that’s their thousands-year tradition with some mysterious benefits. Then the course next to juice, and special eggs, the chicken ( with bread) and last but not least, the harira soup.

IMG_0139.jpg

It’s so so so so….delicous! We ate until we couldn’t move and imagine that whenever I opened my mouth to talk there is food still in my mouth. Because I’m stuffed. What left in my mind was what my wife told me “ So imagine people living without food, especially they are fasting too, so we should feel blessed for this”

Also, I am really thankful to @dynamicgreentk and @gimba for your spiritual encouragements. Especially @dynamicgreentk broungt my story to Pimp your post Thursday so my story can be heard and supported.

By the way, it was my first time I’ve attent the talkshow and even I kept silience but it’s really amazing opportunity to get a chance to show your stories to people on Steemit and listen to other’s stories too, to know why they are interested in something specifically. I’m kinda speechless to talk about it because my limited English, but it would be great if you also would like to check it out by joining Steemit Ramble Discord: https://discord.gg/mCRaWg Thank you for having me Steemit Ramble !

That’s how my day went thought, a little tough, but full of rewards at the end of the day. I’m thankful to be surrounded by amazing people, not only from family but also from work-mates to Steemates.

Thanks for reading down here, I give you harira soup as a reward:


Source


I would like to invite you to join the Dynamic Steemians Discord. There are great loads of tutorials to learn and grow on Steemit. My invitation link: https://discord.gg/TKqEpuy Footer credit to @baa.steemit



Credit to @andynguyen

Sort:  

Great post :) have a nice day :) voteup :)

Great post! The picture at the top is beautiful. That is what really drew me in to the post. Good information about fasting. I have fasted in the past and I know how hard it can be. I guess that is the point. If it was easy, it wouldn't be worth it right? Good luck as you continue and the meal looks amazing!

Yeah you are right about fasting :) I love showing gratitude to everyone who deserve it. And thank you too for being here and dropping nice comments. Have a great Friday!

Thanks! You too!

The picture is amazing. The way the clouds breaks apart for the rays to touch the earth is surreal.

Interesting. In the post, you sound as if you are not Moroccan. Are you not?

The food looks inviting and that first picture with the sun rays piercing the clouds is amazing. I am going to save it and write something on it later; maybe fiction, maybe poetry. I will definitely credit you.

Lovely post, lovely pictures, great food. Peace

Thanks for your thoughtful words. Sounds inspiring to me :) Thanks for passing by and yeah I’m not Moroccan, but I’m sharing my life with a girl from different place, culture and race...it’s an interesting life experience to be honest.
About the photo, yeah, you can freely use it and I’m glad it help you to be more creative. I took it with my iphone and edited on Snapseed :) Im waiting for your post about it :)

That is beautiful. To share not just love but also culture and experiences is what makes this world worth living in. I am glad for you having such an opportunity to learn within the ambience of love's tenderness.

I will definitely use it as a prompt for my post either today or tomorrow. Guaranteed.

Is snapseed a phone app on only iPhone or can I get it on Android?

Since its a google’s app so I think yes. Btw i wish your love life would be the same happiness and blessings

Thanks man. My love life is completely quiet right now. Just steemit and me all day, everyday.

Oh that’s lovely too :) on Steemit we will find amazing people and hopefully a soulmate for you too!

I believe that soup taste great and the picture is good

It tastes really amazing! You should try it too :) its name is Harira

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Adam.Tran from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I don't see a reason for this or any similar custom, if for a greater good, a human being should do things for others, but than again it is just my opinion how to appeal a higher force.

Really appreciate your time reading my post and giving me your opinion :)

Thank you @tashidelek Have a great weekends !

I would love to have the Harira soup as a reward in real life. LOL. How does it taste @adam.tran? My brother is in Saudi Arabia but I have never asked him about this practice in the middle part of the world.

It tastes yummy and complicated to cook lol. You have to put the beans in water for over 24hrs to make it really soft. Btw the practice in KSA probably “ same same but different” as they are more religious than here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98