ADSactly Personal - Have You Ever Been on a Magical Mystery Tour?

in #life6 years ago

balloon cover.jpg

Okay, today, I am going to talk about one of the most amazing memories I have, although I suppose giving birth to my children should be top, however, I’m not going to write about that, not today at least, or in an ADSactly post.

My most magical memory is definitely a balloon ride that was perhaps at the same time my biggest adventure and definitely could be described as a magical mystery tour...

balloon sep.png

The Start of the Magical Mystery Tour

We got the alarm call at 4 am, as we had to set off in the balloons at the crack of dawn, as that was the best time to get them up in the air.

We were all bustled into the boat in what felt like the middle of the night, that took us down the Nile somewhere...

balloon boat.jpg

Next, we got packed into a tiny minibus that perilously manoeuvred in and out of the traffic Egyptian style to get to this field, where the flowers were balloons. There were a lot of them, but there were a lot of us too.

So they fitted 20 of us in each balloon basket, it was a little crushed, but as soon as we got up in the air, we got lost in the amazement of it all and everyone else was superfluous. We had a perfect spot in the corner, that when we turned around and faced the outside, it may as well have been just us on there.

balloon sep.png

Up, Up and Away

Actually getting up into the air though, that took a few tries and our ‘pilot’ looked about 14, the magical mystery tour could have ended up being memorable for all the wrong reasons.

I think we had insurance for the trip and it was before all the political troubles in Egypt, so it would have been okay, unless we fell to our deaths of course, tragically on our honeymoon.

But we soon starting rising and we started whooping with the joys of the amazing sights and the beautiful sunrise.

Sunrise Over Luxor

balloon sunrise.jpg

balloon sep.png

Anyway the Wind Blows...

To our delight, and in fact it was rare occurrence, the wind took us in the direction of the Nile and not the Valley of the Kings, which although amazing, there is not much to see as the tombs are underground and once you get past Hatshepsut temple, there is not a lot to see from the air, but a lot of sand and desert. If that had happened, I'm sure we would have loved the balloon ride anyway.

Sand, Desert and Hatshepsut Temple is in There Somewhere

balloon desert.jpg

balloon sep.png

An Unexperienced Driver

Even though the views were amazing, there were several adventurous moments, where our hearts were left in the air and the balloon dropped suddenly

For example, there we were hovering above the Nile, when suddenly we dropped to a few feet above the Nile and the 14 year old was frantically trying to get the burner to run harder, while we were waving at the people in the riverboats. They were a bit larger than life then they should have been.

Our Almost Dip in The Nile

balloon nile.jpg

balloon riverboat.jpg

We didn’t need our swimsuits thankfully, so back up in the air, we still had our hearts in our mouths, as we drifted dangerously close to ringing bell towers and took in all the sites.

Please Don't Burst Our Balloon

balloon bell tower.jpg

balloon sep.png

We Can See The Whole World From Here

I had the camera tightly wrapped around my wrist, clicking every minutely interesting scene, which was them all, so we didn't/couldn't forget anything.

Luxor temple, half-finished houses, people just waking up on the rooftops, waving at us nosy parkers drifting by. Laughing as we dodge and almost crash into the bell towers. Sometimes it felt we could almost reach out and touch them. It was like we could see the whole of Luxor.

A Balloon Perspective of Luxor

balloon luxor.jpg

balloon sep.png

The View That Sticks Most in My Memory

But, the most beautiful and magical part was flying over Karnak Temple. We had visited there the day before and been totally floored by its magnitude and attention to detail. Even though it was just a semblance of its former glory. Faded and jaded, and all the gold had gone centuries before, but it was still absolutely amazing.

Up Close and Personal with the Hieroglyphics

balloon hieroglyphics.jpg

From the air, we could see Karnak temple all in one go. And we could see people already visiting it - they looked like little Lego people, experiencing the awe we did the day before, touching the lined up lions, or marvelling at the hieroglyphics on the columns and thinking about the filming done there for Agatha Christie’s “Death on the Nile”

But we were seeing the Karnak Temple from a viewpoint very few people would ever get to see it from. A privilege and a priceless memory.

The Memory Making Shot of Karnak Temple

balloon karnak temple.png

balloon sep.png

Even Landing Was an Adventure

After almost landing in the Nile and bumping into bell towers, you would have thought landing wouldn’t be too much of a problem.

The balloon did not want to land and when it finally did, they landed in a field of crops and the farmer would not let anyone come out the balloon basket, until some compensation was paid, so there was a bit of an unexpected whip around for funds, but none of us really minded, as we’d just experienced a moment of a lifetime.

The farmer’s children then took some photos of us and got a few more Egyptian pounds out of us too.

Nice Shot, Don't You Think?

balloon farmer pic.jpg

So that is my most magical amazing memory, what is yours?

Written by (and photos taken by) @hopehuggs <3 <3

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

These pix are very high thoughtful and informative. Expecting and influencing work.

Oh this is a very beautiful journey. I would call it an adventure.

You were woken very early and this added to this unusual adventure. I can imagine what feelings you felt. I dare to suggest this was anticipation and perhaps anxiety. But not a simple alarm, but one that pleasantly invigorates the body and mind.

Vosshititelnye photos of the dawn. But the flight itself was unusual. It's hard for me to imagine what you felt when you fell sharply over the Nile. An inexperienced driver :) Nevertheless it was extreme and ended quickly. There are always unforeseen situations.

This is an excellent adventure in a honeymoon. The best honeymoon is the month that you will remember all your life. Excellent communication.

We were so excited. I would love to go in a hot air ballon again, with someone a little more experienced and definitely not Richard Branson.

That is truly a very magical adventure that you had on your honeymoon! I'm glad that everything turned out okay, it seems that the balloon dipped way too close to the water for comfort - so close you could potentially bend down and touch the water? (a bad idea but for illustration)

I hadn't thought much about going on a hot air balloon tour before, myself, but after seeing your amazing pictures of these great views of Egypt, I'm thinking about trying it some time, but after hearing about the caveats, I'm hesitant again... the pilot apparently being very young makes things a little awkward, I'd probably have serious second thoughts but decide whatever and go through with it.

That's a funny end to the story, I definitely never thought about the landing process but landing in a farmer's field is certainly unexpected. I guess it isn't too much of a stretch for him to want compensation in case crops got damaged but surely not too many got hurt...

As for a magical memory of mine, I'd probably go with a helicopter tour of the Grand Canyon. It's not the most magical but it's what came to mind; while the tour felt rather short, it was really cool to see the Grand Canyon from the air as well as the whole experience of being in a helicopter - I felt pretty small inside that cabin while looking outside! I'd think the hot air balloon would feel more magical as you're outside though with the wind in your hair and such.

The Grand Canyon is one of my dream destinations and by helicopter sounds perfect.

But yes, I would definitely recommend a hot air balloon trip. The 14 year did have someone with him guiding him, I forgot to include that in the post in the end. It felt like we could lean out an touch the water, but we were still a handful of metres above the Nile.

Just don't take the helicopter if it's too windy, I heard that there was an accident a few months back...

That inspires a lot more confidence if there was a guide haha

The Grand Canyon simply must be seen. All the pictures on earth can not prepare you for it. And if you come, I know a really good ice cream/coffee shop on the south rim. :)

I'm never going to give birth to my child because I am a male, but that means that I can plan for a tour like this hahaha You really had a wonderful trip considering this post. And, I know you can0t tell us all, how it feels and how it was, but I'm sure it was magnificent!

I would really love to go to Africa, but I never thought about Egypt, dunno why. Still, seeing this post, it really makes me wanna go there and enjoy my time. I love to read sometimes about some historical topics. And to be in Egypt, I'm sure it is a special kind of feeling that I would really love to experience. I just want to see what it feels standing in front of the pyramids or something else that old.

Haha I'm sure that was fun when you landed :D xD Anyway, thanks a lot for this journey, you really intrigued me and make me wanna go there! Have a great day and safe travels! Luka

I would love to go back to Egypt one day when it is safe to do so. The history is so amazing, I'm sure you can feel a little bit of it when you are there, but I am also convinced I was in ancient Egypt in a past life. A wierd feeling I get. Maybe I was a cat.

The giving birth part might make for a good tale, but there woudn't any pictures to go with it, that I would air on Steemit haha.

Haha, no pictures please xD

Let me be sure I got all this
1: It's your honeymoon
2: You honeymoon in EGYPT?
3: You take a Sunrise Balloon Tour-In Luxor
4: Your driver has a learner's permit
5: The wind blows the wrong way and you get the DELUX ride
6: You land in some poor farmer's field
7: You have a bazillion priceless photographs

And you want me to comment on my most magical tour? I just ride a boring old motorcycle compared to that.

I'd say that qualifies as magical. If it doesn't qualify, I've got nothing.

Thanks for a wonderful article. I really enjoyed it!

you got it right, @bigtom13, nice and enjoyable read it is!

It was definitely was the trip of a lifetime. We were very blessed by my generous Dad who paid for our honeymoon and had a multi destination trip in Egypt, with 5 Star hotels. Though the marriage didn't last, the memories do.

That is pretty scary especially to those afraid of the height, but seeing those views underneath is quite wonderful.

It looks like a great place
Just beautiful
Thanks for the pictures .. well done‏..

It looks like a great place
Just beautiful
Thanks for the pictures .. well done‏..

I really love to travel and explore the beautiful places in other land but unfortunately I am imprisoned in the four corners of our office. LOL

You can explore new places by imagine when you are in office.
If and only if your boss allow you to sleep for a while :-D

For that there is Google Earth.

When i was 15 years of old i had a quarrel with my parents. it made me so angry that i decide to leave the 🏠
Then at noon i went out without knowing the destination. i didn't have much money in my pocket. so i kept walking.

i went through an unknown road. i enjoyed the new places and nice scenery out there.

I walked about 2 hours+. Then i reached the end of the road. i did not get that why this road finished here.

i found the river

The place was so beautiful!
i kept looking and felt the beauty.

Then my mind calm
and i start walking to came back my 🏠 again :-)

This is my magical mystery tour

That is an equisite magical mystery tour @aaarif. Its sounds like the river helped heal your mind.

Hey @aaarif, Congratulations !!! We just upvoted your post with 8.64% power. Keep up the good work. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73