From 8000 to 16000 Feet! Trekking One Of the 10 Most Difficult Treks Of India <3 (Part IV)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Day 4 (27th June) : Bedni Bugyal to Bhagwabasa (BASECAMP)

Today was another crucial day as it was the basecamp that we had to reach. One thing that we heard most before this trek was how people had stopped their returned from the basecamp itself as it got extremely difficult for them. So, I for one was very keen on knowing how the upcoming events would unfold in front of us.

Anyway, I had a very restless sleep the night before maybe because of the rains adding to the cold. All of us were extra cautious about our breathing and clothing that morning because the temperatures were definitely around 3-4 degrees celsius with a hint of moisture in the air.

IMG_5124.JPG

Leaving camp. We shed extra weight here by leaving stuff that was not required.

IMG_4486.jpg

IMG_4506.jpg

IMG_4489.JPG

The winds got crazier by this point which was probably around 10:30 am. I really didn't want to wear an extra layer of clothing but had to wrap my down jacket after a while.

IMG_4511.jpg

Isn't he the best company to have?!

IMG_4521.jpg

IMG_4522.jpg

We stopped for a snack break at a local shop and I got some time to play around in the wet soil before running to pee. I was grateful that the toilet tent was still over my head in the process! :D

IMG_4530.jpg

IMG_4541.jpg

The next hour brought some serious changes around us. Low visibility, High wind pressures with some drizzling and slow pace. By 1 pm we neared some really steep climb and met some people who descending their way back to home. It was very kind of them to give us a heads up on what was coming next along with being hydrated along the way. We got tons of good wishes as we approached hill top.

IMG_4543.jpg

IMG_4552.jpg

At this point I was completely exhausted and drained out of energy. I still don't know how I made it to the very top but what I do know is wanting to b one with the clouds. Every single one of us used last drops of our energy to make this climb which hands down THE MOST DIFFICULT spot till this point. The steep in the woods seemed much easier now that we were doing this.

IMG_4556.jpg

I put a small video and of the moment (& my victory tea) when we crossed this nerve-racking of a climb before finally reaching bhagwabasa. I apologise it for being a little noisy and unstable as I was really struggling to save my phone from not falling apart.

IMG_4562.jpg

IMG_4564.jpg

After about half an hour of catching breath and relaxing we set off to cover the final 2 kms leading us to the basecamp. This trail was very easy to walk on and in about 15 minutes we saw Mr. Bhupendra who would stand their as a kung fu master watching his students pass the test!

IMG_4613.jpg

Put your hands up? Hell No! Put your feet up!

IMG_4601.jpg

IMG_4609.jpg

Okay, let me do justice to this picture. I am vegetarian and what you are seeing below is a bun omelette. Yes I am the one holding it and I am the who ate it. Actually 3 such omelettes. Because it was THAT tempting (I am a baked food fan). If you ever visit this place you HAVE to, HAVE to try this! I ended up sitting their with @komal and 2 more friends for about 3 hours! We had a fantastic conversation with the locals about the trek, their way of living and so much more. We had some hot tomato soup as well to ease the cold.

Untitled-1.jpg

IMG_4619.jpg

Here a couple of videos for you guys and I won't explain anything about them except that these were taken from the basecamp. :)

IMG_4632.jpg

@rovingman made sure each one of us took a Diamox after our meal as we had to wake up at 1 am for reaching the summit. The picture below is not an actual data, I took it just to show how it works. Fortunately, everybody was in perfect health to do the summit at night.

This was my data for the day. SpO2 % : 88 and Pr Bpm : 108

IMG_4635.jpg

IMG_4637.jpg

IMG_4638.PNG

IMG_5128.JPG

It was continuously drizzling but didn't seem to create any hassle in our work...or so we thought. All of us had slipped back into our tents by 7/8 pm already prepared to do the summit in a few hours and woke up right on time only to find out we were horribly stuck....

...Cont in Part V


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

What device is that? Mannn you were all prepared!

It's an oximeter :)
Yep, kinda :D

Superb blog post

this is a very exciting journey, I want to be like you go for a walk, have a nice day and always make your heart happy, thank you for sharing some photography of your journey, I like the picture result from your trip, a very great traveling, I'm amazed.

Aww, I am very happy that you like it :) It was indeed an experience!

Great post and pictures !

Thank you :)

This is heaven i must say.....
High above the ground.
Clouds flying above.
Amazing wonderful and lovely waaooou

Haha definitely!

I love the word you used for Mr Bhupinder "kung fu master" , such a detailed blog its like I am following a story and curious to know "then what"

Hehe he was a kung fu master for sure. Pro trekker :D
Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87