Where The Eye Meets Tradition

in #life6 years ago

A week ago, I revisited "Chokhi Dhani" here at Jaipur with my family and some relatives (for whom it was their very first time) Now this place is a must if you ever want to experience the Rajasthani culture. This a major tourist spot in Jaipur along with Hawa Mahal, Jal Mahal, Jantar Mantar, Nahargarh Fort and many others. I have been here a few times in the past with my friends as well and each time has been fun for me!

The interesting part this time was discovering that it has now been opened in London too! I am really excited to see how they would have designed the whole thing there. Maybe someday, eh? ;)

Anyway it started raining midway and I was really lost in the rains....So lost that I completely forgot the fact that the entire space had sand as it's flooring. DUN-DUN-DUNNNN! There was a MASSIVE puddle at the entrance and I kinda knew what was to come of our expectations! We bought our tickets and started the night with some colorful deco and a puppet show whilst in the rain :P

The Main Entrance.

IMG_6389.JPG

IMG_6390.JPG

The rains destroying my hair in the first 5 minutes of starting the tour but gotta smile for the camera, no? :P

IMG_1706.JPG

A very helpful listing of things that you can check out before you begin.

IMG_6396.JPG

IMG_6394.jpg

First things first, wherever you are seeing water you should know that it is not supposed to be there! On normal days, it is the cool sand that you get to walk on which adds to the feeling of experiencing a rural life :) It was fun to watch people cross the knee-deep puddles to watch artists, dancers and other talented individuals. I was all about photographing so had no plans to do so.

IMG_6398.JPG

It really felt like a small village because of the rains to be honest. People struggling to find a path and collectively watching acts like puppet shows, with the entire view of twinkling fire torches! I put a small clip below to show a glimpse of how beautiful it was <3

IMG_6411.JPG

Next was a small museum showcasing some really cool stuff like kitchen tools, locks, objects of cultural importance, etc. There were some pretty fascinating stories behind some of them!

IMG_6433.jpg

IMG_6436.jpg

Block printing is another famous attribute of Rajasthan especially the Bagru and Sanganeri prints. It's pretty self-explanatory, take a block - coat it with paint/dye and print!

IMG_6490.JPG

IMG_6492.JPG

What you are seeing below is no oridnary ish! The decoration is 100% to lure you in that tiny room. Let's see why!

IMG_6459.JPG

I had the most delicious besan roti ( gram flour tortillas ) of my life, all credits to the sweet lady! And I won't say I have a sweet tooth but my oh my, the melted jaggery paired with those tortillas were so heavenly that I just don't have the words to describe the feeling! And the funny part is that I had somehow missed this part of the area during my previous visits :D

IMG_6473.JPG

The rest of the night was spent on playing some games, exploring the shopping zone with my relatives and watching some magic shows like this one! My brother @sauravrungta had coins falling out of his jeans while being picked as a vounteer! :D

IMG_6445.JPG

IMG_6446.JPG

IMG_6454.JPG

IMG_6487.JPG

IMG_6494.JPG

IMG_6502.JPG

Ta da da da! Here comes the highlight (and the most awaited part) of the night! The Rajasthani cuisine! I will talk about the details of the cuisine someday as it is too long haha! But after waiting for you turn, this hall is where the magic happens. You sit on the floor and just eat limitlessly. There are so many varieties that it almost impossible to finish everything in one sitting! The food is just mind boggling and too delicious to give up. Check out the last picture of this blog to see the first serve of the dinner.

IMG_6512.JPG

You sit on the floor and just eat limitlessly. There are so many varieties that it almost impossible to finish everything in one sitting! The food is just mind boggling and too delicious to give up. I also love the seating arrangements and the mirror work on the walls. Check out the last picture of this blog to see the first serve of the dinner. ( I couldn't capture the additional serves as I love my food more than anything.. so sorry but not sorry! :P)

IMG_6513.JPG

IMG_6531.JPG

Hope you guys enjoyed the pictures and do tell me if you have or are planning to visit this place! Have a great day ahead <3


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

Wow! 😯 Hello! @aishwarya Its an amazing beautiful place and pictures... I have never visited Jaipur but i always want to, and if someday i go there i will surely visit "Chokhi Dhani".

Thanks a lot! And you definitely should visit. It certainly is beautiful.

Keep-on sharing, Eagerly waiting for your next post.

Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85