The pain of disappointment...

in #life6 years ago

This is my sorry excuse for an office space.

33865504_2082017398712009_6861738192740024320_n.jpg

It’s looked like this for over 9 months.

My vision board for 2018 is empty...

I told myself it was because we got a pup and he wouldn’t let me work if he was around so I had to work upstairs 🐶

He’s now a full grown dog and I’m still nowhere near working here.

I asked myself (and my husband) the question ‘why’ just a few days ago.

And just that question alone made everything crystal clear.

It’s not fun to realise it but it’s a step in the right direction!

Do you want to know why?

Because of DISAPPOINTMENT.

This desk symbolised to me what didn’t go right over the last year, where I feel like I failed, where I put myself out there and it didn’t work out.

It also represented the consequences of painful decisions where I invested in myself (and didn’t reap a return) and where I made mistakes that felt overwhelming.

It was a stark reminder of unmet potential, unrecognised dreams and painful relationships.

So once I realised that... yeah it made PERFECT sense why I was avoiding sitting there like the plague!

So here’s what I’m going to do:

  • Sage the hell out of the area to clear the old, stagnant, stuck energy

  • Do a new vision board of what feels real, good and true for me NOW

  • Get rid of any mess and clutter

  • Make the space feel pretty, supportive + empowering

And then I’m going to get to work on continuing to make my dreams a reality. I’m going to serve, I’m going to share and I’m going to step into more of who I truly am.

Sometimes the most powerful realisations can come just from asking the simplest question, WHY.

Sort:  

Visual boards helps us in visualization which athletes do, especially basketball players when they follow through on a shot. I've placed goals and lists and things I draw on the wall. Yeah, puppies can either stop us or remind us to take a break sometimes. Puppies test our resolve, our ability to make it through distractions. Laughter and smiling is medicine to the soul. Love your girly office. Go go power puff girl power time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09