The Dubious Gift of Mental Illness

in #life7 years ago

Some days I wake up to a familiar weight on my bed next to me, yet when I turn to snuggle my lover in those first blissful comfy moments of being awake, instead I only find my limbs tangled in the weight of my mental illness. For no reason at all or perhaps every reason imaginable, I know it's going to be a rough one. It's likely I will cry for the next several hours, or maybe become manically hyper and goofy. You know, two equal and normal reactions to feeling sad. This is a part of me that I keep quiet about, I'm terrified that if I tell my friends about my mental illness that they will view me differently. I'm certain that they will in fact view me as unstable and toxic if I say "I have a Borderline Personality Disorder".

Phew, it felt good to tell you that! Having BPD is sudden feelings of emptiness, and incredible moments of joy that permeate ordinary situations. It can manifest as a grumpy Amy who needs a pot of coffee and silence to ready myself to human, or terrible panic attacks that leave my heart beating in my throat. Sometimes for whole days no one can convince me that there is any reason we are alive, because everything is cold and sterile. We are a speck in existence, and I am already gone. Unfortunately, knowing how dramatic and ridiculous I am being is just another layer in the muck- I unwillingly shift to a 3rd person view of my life, and watch on helplessly. On particularly hard days, I am invited to an assembly where every chemical has gathered in my brain to tell me that no one loves me, because I am unlovable. Other days, the sight of my boyfriend moves me to song, and I will serenade that beautiful bastard no matter how many witnesses are present. At times my illness is the color in my life, and everything else is actually the hard part.

As a teen I cycled through so many emotions in a day, that everything above could enter my mind and leave without a trace in a matter of hours. I fell in love sometimes several times a week, always with the full gusto of teenage angst. The days that I did not lash out either at myself or others, were few and far between. It is common in BPD to feel nothing, to be detached and uninvolved in your own life. This feeling can escalate into full dissociation, often to escape the stress of the other beasts BPD summons. Uncertain sense of self, intense anger or anxiety that is hard to manage, a strong impulse to sabotage your wellbeing, and sometimes all an all out path of self destruction. Statistically 70% percent of those with BPD will attempt suicide, and 8-10% will complete suicide, which is 50x the suicide rate of the general population. Self harm is extremely common in BPD, as most of us direct our anger at ourselves. When BPD first entered the psychology world it was considered a type of schizophrenia, and it's common treatment was shock therapy or life in an asylum. Since then Psychology has changed a lot, but BPD has remained a sentence- often leading to people being deemed unfit parents and in extreme cases even committed. However in the last decade the diagnoses has softened a great deal, with most experts saying it is entirely possible for someone to grow out of these criteria in a number of years. This has not been the case for me, it is my ability to deal with this disorder that has changed.

I'm 26 now, and the last time I told a friend that I have BPD they laughed at me. When I said no really I've struggled with it my whole life, they went on one of those rants you can't brake into- too many lightly diagnosed mental illnesses ect. This didn't bother me in the slightest, I was elated actually. I meet all nine criteria, and someone was telling me that the idea of me having such a debilitating disorder was outrageous. Clearly I was doing good at faking it, and maybe even making it!

My journey to a happier life started with a desire to stop terrorizing people, and grew in finding ways to counteract my emotions. I learned to breathe and ground myself when I started to get upset, and to walk away when I knew I was losing this fight. This was the first and hardest part, learning to listen to and face my feelings without letting them dictate reality. My mantra for a time was "What I feel is not who I am". I attempted meditation and yoga, but failed at committing myself to them. However I did learn a lot from their schools of thought, and being present began to be enough for me to hold myself accountable. Most people will find a way to look on their character flaws from a more positive perspective, for me it felt like I was talking about someone else when I addressed my flaws. That is why it was so important for me to listen to my feelings, and give them space to carry out in my mind. Most of the damage I've suffered has been at my own hands, and facing the parts of me that perpetuate this behavior was cathartic and vindicating. I had made really bad choices, I hurt other people and I was completely unreliable due to the war I was waging on myself, yet here I was rehashing it. The best way to move forward was to acknowledge my actions and forgive myself, which opened the door to healing. I had spent so much time in High School desperately wishing for deep friendship or romantic love- why I hadn't I recognized the value of loving myself?

When I say that mental illness is a gift, I mean it. Underneath the pain I've sorted through in the last decade, I've found empowerment. Like cleaning out a house you've always occupied before moving out, small forgotten treasures surface in the most unexpected places. My sense of humor is rooted deeply in my discomfort, and I don't think I'm alone in feeling this way. A melancholy outlook can be the perfect company, inspiring me to squeeze out every drop of it into art. Gut twisting awareness came from my illness over the years, I became less self interested as I found the source of my drama in it. When I no longer needed to be apathetic defensively, what I was left with was peace. I'm not saying I don't suffer from BPD these days, I've just chosen to rework it's duality into something that benefits my life. I honestly would not vanquish BPD if I could, because to do so would be to change who I am.

Thanks for reading, and being part of a community that I can be honest with (It was only a bit scary to write this)! Most people are struggling with mental illness, or love someone who is. This can be lonely because of the stigma surrounding chemical imbalances, so if you are feeling alone- please know you are not :) Here I type, sitting with you.

Sort:  

I have OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder). At 53, I have gradually come to the conclusion that this mental illness is part of me but it is not me.

Absolutely! Thank you for sharing @simivalleyjeff53!

Of course and I hope to continue to do so into the future!!

It's great you look at it as a gift. I think we can look at all of our struggles this way. My personal struggles with my mental illnesses have driven me to gain a greater understanding of myself and others, to always improve. So in that way, the pain has been a gift. I appreciate times in life, like the ones I'm currently experiencing, because I know what it is to feel completely awful about everything, to hate everything including (and most of all) myself, and to feel like I'll never feel any better no matter what.... Times like these remind me that I do feel better, so my bouts of depression and anxiety have become shorter and more manageable. Thanks for sharing, it's given me a better understanding of BPD.

The way you've turned your struggle into a gift is beautiful, and relatable! I try to remember that without hardship, happiness means nothing. I'm glad you are able to kick back at these feelings with such exceptional experiences! I like to think of you handling this assault like a 2am text from a toxic ex "Oh hey, I'm in Asia... being awesome JS. Thank you for stopping by and sharing your fight with me :)

Amy,
Very nice and courageous of you to share this with the world. I would suggest that it is possible that what you attribute to being "good at faking it" is really your ability to master coping skills for your situation.
Of course I don't know what the hell I'm talking about, half the people I know think I'm crazy, and the other half are sure.
Take care and God bless,
@sultnpapper

Haha Thank you very much @sultnpapper! It's always nice to hear from you- crazy or not :)

We have a different look for a person suffering from psychological illness from that person who is suffering from other structural body organs disease. we laugh at a mentally ill patient, bully him/her and make fun of them. But we should keep in our mind that it is noting but same as other similar illness. We should try to cure him/her in the same intention of treating a patient suffering from abdominal aches.

We should change our mentality toward mentally ill patient.

@amfy hope that you will get rid of this illness

Thank you for your comment @hafiz34 :)

I am glad that I am gifted with a fuller range of emotions that most of my peers. I am a 40-something father of three who forgot how to even cry for 15 years. I am not disabled or even ill by my own recognition. I actually feel sad for the majority of people who do not have a broad range of feelings or mental states. I could not imagine what life would be like if I were not occasionally debilitated by sorrow, numb to the point of leaving my body, of so happy I felt like I ate a bunch of mushrooms. I like people like that! My wife laughs in her sleep, but rarely in conversation. It is unique. Thanx for writing, I am usually not so open but seeing someone else spill out makes me feel that way, even if only a little....

Congratulations @amyf, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1440 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2230.23. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

fantastic piece . Must've been really hard to write. Hats off to you!!

Thank you so much @p-sycophant!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @amyf to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Don't forget to check out the sponsored writing contest! 125 SBD in prizes!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Simply beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28