I Got Me a New Mower

in #life6 years ago

So while my parents were down here, my father did me a solid and bought me a new mower. And this thing is amazing.

First, a big shoutout to @alexbeyman for his article on his own Kobalt electric mower. It's what convinced me to pick this one out, and it was a great choice. Thanks, man!

The particular mower I picked out was the 20-inch, 40-watt. As far as features go, it's a pretty standard mower, with the option of a mulch bag or a side port to eject the cuttings and a number of height settings. Where this thing really shines is its electric motor. It's a variable output motor, adjusting the amount of torque applied to the blade head depending on how difficult the terrain is. Moreover, this thing doesn't back down at all.

As you can tell, I let my lawn go. Hard. It grew into a straight-up wild meadow. Despite that, and the massive growth of grass and weeds, my mower had no problem chopping it down. Cut through it without any difficult and without getting bogged down. Granted, I had to adjust the height on the mower a couple of times to compensate for some small dips, but the end result? Magnificent.

So there's that. This thing is a beast, and it's the best gift I could have received for my birthday.


If you want to vote for me as a witness, cast your vote here! Scroll down until you see this text box and type in my name.
Like what you read? Follow me, @anarcho-andrei! You can also find me on PALnet, Steem Romania, and the Fiction Workshop on the Writer's Block.
Sort:  

Hello--that is a yard "let go?" Your "before" shot looks better than my "after" shots. Good grief.

I've never used an electric mower. I might look into them next time I need a new mower.

I would recommend them. Aside from the ease of not dealing with gas at all, electric motors have a ton of torque for their size.

I actually returned mine because it wouldn't do the entire lawn on two batteries. I've gotten a corded one to replace it, rather than buying more batteries.

The problem was never the power, but the endurance. What's been your experience with that aspect?

I can mow my entire lawn with a single battery charge. I'm using the 5Ah battery it comes with, which is the highest capacity cell they make for these things. Supposedly they last long enough to cut 1/4 acre of lawn, though I dunno about that figure in particular.

Oh, glad to hear it. Mine's just too big then. I gave it a chance when there was much less growth but it just couldn't do more than about half of the job on the 5ah battery it came with and the 2.5ah battery my trimmer came with.

Agree with @rhondak, I think you can aptly call my backyard a meadow now. Looks like a nice machine. Use it well.

I've heard about those mower things, but I've never met one....

It might be electric but beer is still required to operate it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09